Old 06-14-2008, 08:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
President Barack Obama!!!

Nah man this have to be discussed: Are Big Ups Unnecessary

So Bajanfuhlife was proud to see that an American with Bajan roots was assisting the Obama campaign to choose a Vice President. I say Big Up Bajans. I even say large up yuhself Bajans.

I always feel proud when a Trinibagonian accomplish something. Whether at home or abroad.

Now, the best to take from this whole thing with Obama is that he is making strides, he is doing something momentous, etc etc. Le Femme Chaude blaze him fuh getting on dotish with some of his comments and fuh missing that point in the last sentence above since he did not make his view heard about Obama before a Bajan get involved.

Someone in that very thread was irked. That person wanted to know what Obama is doing for Bajans and why we should big anyone up. If I can be so bold to say I get the point that: Many of us take the bone given to us and forget to ask for the whole chicken to improve our lives. Also we make big deals out of small thing when we should be making more deals about the issues affecting us negatively.
If ah wrong well sorry.

Now Bajanfuhlife posted that thread for bigups or possibly other reasons. So I bigup the Bajans. Now no big deal to do so. Many of us don't really give other islands any thought that yes they doing big things despite they size or standing in the Caribbean. These things are good for little reminders and to learn about History.
Questions:
  • Should we big up our nation's son and daughters in threads and offline?

• Are we making a big deal out of nothing? Or a lil positivity needs celebrating?

• Is it a mistake to think about what someone will do for us without knowing his or her stance on the issues and plan for countries in the Caribbean? For all we know some publication interviewed him and asked questions pertinent to improving the region. (I will post Obama's letter concerning Caribbean Heritage Month.)

• Are too many of us living life wondering what why should I care they aint doing nothing for me? Basically: the what's in it for me attitude. (yes I know it rhetorical)
Old 06-14-2008, 08:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
President Barack Obama!!!

Letter from Obama

To the Editor:
“During this Caribbean Heritage Month, we celebrate the many ways that people of Caribbean descent have strengthened this country we love – from serving brilliantly and bravely in Iraq and Afghanistan to helping grow our economy to enriching our culture.
What has drawn so many Caribbean men and women to America is the same idea that drew my own father to America many years ago – that America is a place where our dreams for ourselves and our families can come true. But too often today, those dreams are slipping out of reach.

So let’s rededicate ourselves to putting them back within reach for people of Caribbean descent and all Americans. That means fixing our economy so it works for everyone, making universal health care a reality, and giving every child a world-class education so they can compete in our global economy.

But it also means supporting a robust partnership between the United States and Caribbean nations – a partnership that helps strengthen democracy in the region, ensure the security of America’s Third Border, and foster economic development to narrow the gap between rich and poor.

Caribbean Heritage month isn’t only about celebrating the common past between the United States and Caribbean nations; it’s about securing our common future.”

Sen. Barack Obama
Presidential Candidate
(Letter can be found on page A20 within the pull out pages titled: Caribbean-American Heritage in the June 11th Caribbean Life newspaper)
Old 06-14-2008, 04:29 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by TriniTrini View Post
[*]Is it a mistake to think about what someone will do for us without knowing his or her stance on the issues and plan for countries in the Caribbean?
Amsterdam News - Article - opinions