Old 03-01-2005, 09:33 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 41
The N Word

Who uses the N word and who is offended by it?
Old 03-01-2005, 09:35 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 29,964
Don't use it in general speech and I'm offended when I hear it being used. But I'm getting kinda used to it being said since I've been here in America. Everything is "nigga this and nigga that", and it's Black people using the term amongst themselves. Never heard a white person say it as yet.
Old 03-01-2005, 09:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
"Always In Season"

Credits: 134
I dont use it.. and it is offensive... I don't want people use it in when having a conversation with me....
Old 03-01-2005, 09:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mixed Breed

Credits: 425
Great topic...been meaning to post this topic for a while now...

I CAN'T STAND to hear it used..i mean i am so embarassed on the train when guys or girls come in there shouting and talking at the top of their lungs in a car of many races of people and every other word is NIGGA this and NIGGA that...it sounds so disgusting and ignorant..

i just completed extensive research on slavery and resistance and i mean...this word nigger...please people understand where it is coming from and the extremely negative connotations it holds...

now i have used the word before and sometimes it still slips out but the good thing is that when i do slip up...i immediately regret it and eventually i will stop saying it period.

saying it amongst each other is still not ok but saying it among other races oh gosh...its just embarassing..please stop
Old 03-01-2005, 09:55 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 21,830
This is ACCEPTABLE LANGUAGE in America Today:

HERE's Proof:

You got the Son of Retired Bush Family House Negro Colin Powell who has been running the FCC for the last FOUR Years--------and he HAS NOT Outlawed the use of the N-Word over the Airwaves.........however he will bust your AZZ like an Imix Moderator if you use those 7 Dirty Words.
Old 03-01-2005, 09:56 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by CocaColaBockle
Great topic...been meaning to post this topic for a while now...

I CAN'T STAND to hear it used..i mean i am so embarassed on the train when guys or girls come in there shouting and talking at the top of their lungs in a car of many races of people and every other word is NIGGA this and NIGGA that...it sounds so disgusting and ignorant..

i just completed extensive research on slavery and resistance and i mean...this word nigger...please people understand where it is coming from and the extremely negative connotations it holds...

now i have used the word before and sometimes it still slips out but the good thing is that when i do slip up...i immediately regret it and eventually i will stop saying it period.

saying it amongst each other is still not ok but saying it among other races oh gosh...its just embarassing..please stop
Have you read Nigger The Strange Career of a Troublesome Word by Randall Kennedy? In gives an in-depth view of the various reasons why the word is so often used within the black community. What I found interesting was Kennedy's assertion that many blacks feel that by using it, they are ridding the word of its destructive history by making it their own.
Old 03-01-2005, 09:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 24,266
Originally Posted by vipeaches
I dont use it.. and it is offensive... I don't want people use it in when having a conversation with me....
Same here.
Old 03-01-2005, 10:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Fowl cock run backyard

Credits: 133
I use the N word. No see I used it. Seriously I do use N word doh. As well as de C word de F word, de P word and all manner of not so nice words.
Old 03-01-2005, 10:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mixed Breed

Credits: 425
Originally Posted by DCtrini07
Have you read Nigger The Strange Career of a Troublesome Word by Randall Kennedy? In gives an in-depth view of the various reasons why the word is so often used within the black community. What I found interesting was Kennedy's assertion that many blacks feel that by using it, they are ridding the word of its destructive history by making it their own.

hmmm...thats an interesting way to look at it and i dont even know how to argue against that right now but it is such a sensitive area that i still think it is unacceptable...

follow me here...i mean say your momma was shot with the sounds "boom boom" and then 20 years later people start calling you and other people "boom boom" and claiming that it is a compliment or something...i mean isnt that rediculous!
Old 03-01-2005, 11:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,424
From an old thread:

The N-Word
continues to be a plague that is
painfully erasing the memories of my Ancestors legacy,
It's Offensive to their struggles,
Destructive to their goals, dreams, and accomplishments,
Disrespectful to their sacrifices,
It desecrates a whole race of people, who, before they died,
had erected a strong, firm, solid foundation for us,
their descendants, to stand on.

Please understand that whenever knowledge is gained
and its recipients fail to apply the lessons
that have been learned,
history will always repeat itself when

ignorance is Self-blinding."
- author/source unknown
Old 03-02-2005, 01:16 AM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Mystic Xtremist
From an old thread:

The N-Word
continues to be a plague that is
painfully erasing the memories of my Ancestors legacy,
It's Offensive to their struggles,
Destructive to their goals, dreams, and accomplishments,
Disrespectful to their sacrifices,
It desecrates a whole race of people, who, before they died,
had erected a strong, firm, solid foundation for us,
their descendants, to stand on.

Please understand that whenever knowledge is gained
and its recipients fail to apply the lessons
that have been learned,
history will always repeat itself when

ignorance is Self-blinding."
- author/source unknown
:)
Old 03-02-2005, 01:26 AM   #12 (permalink)
SAME SH!T DIFFERNT TOILET

Credits: 522
used to use the word as regular speech when i was younger..
now i make a concious effort not to use it but it slips out ever now and again... black people need rid our vocabulary of that word... and trust me, nobody is ridding the word of its destructive history by making it their own.. they just using it out of habbit....
What makes me mad is when White people who feel they are a part of hiphop culture feel they could use it and the black people who allow it..
Old 03-02-2005, 02:03 AM   #13 (permalink)
Steel City Man

Credits: 519
PEEP WHAT PAUL MOONEY FOR CHAPPELLE SHOW SAID ABOUT IT.

thaFormula.com - An argument that many whites and blacks have had for years is, why is it okay for blacks to use the word cracka, but not okay for whites to use the word nigga?

Paul Mooney - Because we have never lynched them, that's why! We have never terrorized them. They have been terrorist in our lives for 500 years, that's why. We use the word nigga to defuse it. The same way it's okay for a whore to call a whore a whore. You call one a whore and they will run across they street and knock you in your head, because you don't live their life. I say nigga every time I want to because I was called it enough. I was called nigga enough so I can say it any time I feel like it. When it meant something nobody gave a *@$% and now that it don't mean #$%@, everybody has something to say about it. It gets on my &%*#ing nerves. I been a nigga to long. I got to go to Japan and get the operation because I been a nigga to damn long.

thaFormula.com - There seems to be a split in the black community over the word nigga and it being used or not being used. Where do you stand on that?

Paul Mooney - Imma say nigga until I die. I'm gonna always say it. I say it a hundred times every morning, it makes my teeth white. Nigga, nigga, nigga, nigga, nigga, nigga, nigga. I'm gonna always say it. A nigga is the one that wouldn't work and wouldn't do what the master wanted him to do. So I love a nigga. I nigga fought back. I nigga was like that mule, okay. Stubborn. Saying nigga is like saying Africa, you'll get a room real quiet. That's why I don't like black people or Afro-Americans. I like Negroes, color people and stolen Africans. Because black people and Afro-Americans kill each other. Negroes and color people didn't do that. If you don't believe me ask your mom and your grandmother. They didn't do that shit. They didn't walk up on no other color person or Negro and shoot them in their head. When they ran into a color or Negro neighborhood, they felt safe. It ain't like that now. They feel safe in the white neighborhood. So you know it's all twisted.

thaFormula.com - It's the same also within the Latin community. You got Hispanics, Latins, Chicanos, etc...

Paul Mooney - Puerto Ricans and Cubans ain't nothing but niggaz that can swim. Let's get real ya'll. I come from Louisiana. The white folks made the rule. You got one drop of nigga in you, that's what you are. I don't give a $*%# where you from. I'm telling you what the reality is. They took slaves everywhere. You got a drop of black blood in you that makes you a nigga. I don't care what language you speak. This is a foreign language to me. This is not my native language. You got that nigga in you, you got that Africa in you and that's what they all fear and all don't want to bring up. Everybody wants to talk about their Indian Grandmother & their Swedish cousins. Everybody is all %@#%ed up. Them got damn Jews too wanna be white folks. That's all nothing but niggaz. All of them. We were at war with Germany, they dropped the bomb on Japan. They ain't gonna drop the bomb on Germany because they could have blew up their cousin or their brother. They have the complexion for the protection. Their white skin protects them and niggaz had better wake up, because they are getting their wake up call. All Niggaz!

Last edited by LastDragon55; 03-02-2005 at 02:08 AM..
Old 03-02-2005, 02:07 AM   #14 (permalink)
Dis Girl is POISON!

Credits: 345
Originally Posted by HornaMan4Hire
used to use the word as regular speech when i was younger..
now i make a concious effort not to use it but it slips out ever now and again... black people need rid our vocabulary of that word... and trust me, nobody is ridding the word of its destructive history by making it their own.. they just using it out of habbit....
What makes me mad is when White people who feel they are a part of hiphop culture feel they could use it and the black people who allow it..

i can agree 200%.
Old 03-02-2005, 02:31 AM   #15 (permalink)
OnE eYe MoNsTeR InC.

Credits: 338
I can't lie I use it up to this day but really I try to make an effort to not use it period and I've been doing good lately. Even when I hear it among black people it's still somewhat of an uncomfortable feeling.

This brings me to my next point. A young Jamaican film director attending NYU comes to my job the other day to show some young students one of his short films called Super Ni***er. It got some people on the staff so angry. It's an interesting film but I felt he could have used a different title. It's his work and he said he named it that way to get a buzz. It's about the whole Amadou Diallo situation. Check his website out if you get a chance. www.alricksporch.com