N.Korea not makin joke
“"THE IRAQI WAR teaches a lesson that in order to prevent a war and defend the security of a country and the sovereignty of a nation it is necessary to have a powerful physical deterrent force only,” the statement said, citing a foreign ministry spokesman.
“As we have already declared, we are successfully reprocessing more than 8,000 spent fuel rods at the final phase, as we sent interim information to the U.S. and other countries concerned early in March after resuming our nuclear activities from December last year.” President Bush — who once described North Korea as part of an “axis of evil” with Iran and Iraq — has said he wants to resolve the nuclear crisis peacefully, but he has not ruled out a military solution. The North Korea statement gave no details on the reprocessing and did not refer to extracting weapons-grade plutonium from the spent fuel rods, which are stored at the North’s Yongbyon nuclear complex. The 8,000 spent fuel rods could be used to make five or six nuclear bombs, and reprocessing them would be the most provocative of many steps North Korea has taken since the nuclear dispute flared up last October, according to experts. DIPLOMATIC COVER The North Korean statement also acknowledged for the first time the expected three-way talks with the United States and China in Beijing next week to discuss the 6-month-old nuclear impasse. The participation of China was a key U.S. demand. Washington insisted that the issue of nuclear proliferation on the Korean peninsula was of importance to all the regional powers as well as to the United States and Russia. Pyongyang had earlier insisted on negotiations only with Washington, but agreed last week to allow China at the table. However, the participation of China may be no more than a diplomatic cover. Earlier on Friday, China’s ambassador in Seoul said that North Korea and the United States should resolve their nuclear dispute themselves, and that Beijing doesn’t plan to mediate between them during talks. “I don’t think China plans to mediate,” Ambassador Li Bin told South Korean radio station MBC in an interview recorded Thursday. “Although China can play a constructive role, it is the two parties concerned that should resolve the problem. How much the problem could be resolved is up to how the two parties work.” U.S. and South Korean officials have said that China, a key ally of North Korea, will be a full participant in the forthcoming talks. VIOLATING 1994 PACT The nuclear crisis flared in October, when the United States claimed that North Korea had admitted having a secret nuclear weapons program in violation of a 1994 agreement. The United States and other countries stopped oil shipments to the north, which retaliated by withdrawing from the Nuclear Nonproliferation Treaty and moving to restart a nuclear reactor. South Korea’s new ambassador to the United States, Han Sung-joo, said Friday that any negotiated deal will be far more complex than U.S.-North Korean talks in 1994 that froze the North’s nuclear facilities, ending a crisis at that time. Now, Han said, North Korea will be expected to not only stop but promptly and verifiably dismantle its nuclear programs. “This is going to be an arduous, long process. It’s not going to be a cakewalk,” Han said. He said he did not expect any deal for at least a month or two, noting the 1994 crisis took well over a year to resolve. China’s involvement has been regarded as a diplomatic victory for Washington as Beijing had been reluctant to get involved in what U.S. officials described as a global dispute. Beijing had previously supported Pyongyang’s demands for one-on-one talks with Washington. SEOUL REACTION Chinese diplomats have repeatedly delayed the discussion of the crisis in the U.N. Security Council. Last week, after agreeing to discuss the topic in the council, China blocked a motion by Washington to condemn North Korea. Washington insists on tackling the dispute through a multilateral format. It wants to expand future talks to include South Korea, Japan and Russia. Also Friday, South Korea welcomed the Beijing talks and urged North Korea to resume inter-Korean dialogue. North Korea canceled a series of talks with South Korea scheduled for last month and early this month amid tensions over its nuclear standoff. “We urge North Korea to come to inter-Korean dialogue as soon as possible to discuss peace on the Korean Peninsula and other issues,” Seoul’s Unification Ministry said in a statement. |
De Scribe
Credits: 291
Pepa, i hope the US doh feel they go walk thru Korea like they do Iraq. Is a whole different "parday" going on over dey. First dey have an Air Force. Iraq doh have no air force so the US had total air supremacy. Second dey have missiles that can reach California. If we attack dem I feel dey will have no qualms about bustin' two shot to de west coast. The funny ting I cyah understand is that we have the same weapons of mass destruction but is okay if we have dem and not dem.
Every year North Korea acts up . It is just that you don't hear about it. I was Korea when we was ready to launch the fleet because North Korea decided to shoot at South Korea. Anytime they want something , they start some controversy. My recommendation is that they stop acting like bigots; kiss and make up with South Korea " after all they are the same people," and get us out of there. I am going there for another year here verrrrrryyyyyy shortly.