more racism-type sutff...
tell me what allyuh think bout this...
ah was trying to go on rough riders(soccer team)website and i end up here... http://roughriders.com |
if the link doh work, try typing it in. roughriders.com
Credits: 16,204
I went to that site. While I do see what they are saying to an extent. It sounds like a hate monger group.
What line in the sand?
Credits: 128
A group promoting the survival of the English language in the face of Hispanic immigrants who refuse to speak English in an predominately English speaking country. I'm sorry, (1) part of me is saying if you willingly come to the United States you should know English just so you can survive and prosper. I would not willingly emigrate from this country to China or France without knowing a word of Chinese or French, I would not survive or prosper at all. Simple as that. Sounds like these guys are more afraid of reverse cultural assimilation where the prevailing culture becomes more and more like the culture of the immigrants. Not that that is anything different from what the United States (and every other culture in the Western Hemisphere) has done since its existence, taking elements from Native American, European, African, Asian, and yes, Hispanic cultures. Should someone remind them how many words in the English language are taken from other languages just to give them an idea how this language has benefited from others? Or should we go back to the days when I would describe myself as " living in ye wilds of Bolfton, Massachusetts Bay Colony?"
At most, these guys are just suggesting that immigrants return to their menial positions in American society and learn to ride the wave, and that includes the English (and essentially European-based) cultural and social standards that have predominated American society for 200+ years. Now I'm about to pose an interesting question: Who is backwards? The United States or Hispanic immigrants? (their primary target), considering that in this hemisphere, the majority of people are Hispanic and their culture dominates the minds of most people in this hemisphere. |