Old 09-11-2008, 01:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
go ketch yuh crowd

the moral maze: low educational attainment among african caribbean students

listen here, audio link valid until 16th september

at least, take in the 'african' viewpoint - diran adebayo 27:56

This week's panel:

Michael Buerk (Chair); Melanie Philips; Clifford Longley; Claire Fox; Michael Portillo.

The witnesses for this week are:

Lee Jasper
Former policy advisor on equality to the Mayor of London.

Dr Tony Sewell
Educational consultant, a columnist on The Voice and CEO of Generating Genius - a charity which fast tracks bright black boys to higher levels of attainment and aspiration in the sciences.

Dr Richard Majors
Author of Cool Pose: The Dilemmas of Black Manhood in America.

Diran Adebayo
Novellist and cultural critic
Old 09-11-2008, 01:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
go ketch yuh crowd

This week the Moral Maze asks, "should black communities be allowed to run their own schools with a curriculum, ethos, and ethics suited to the needs of black children and taught by black teachers?"

The idea has been put forward after a report claimed that African Caribbean students are under achieving because schools are institutionally racist and teachers' assumptions about behavioural problems are overshadowing academic talents. Is it time to accept that liberal educational ideals have failed?

Could black schools become beacons of excellence or will they entrench already racial divides? Or is the idea that there is such a thing as a "black ethos" another kind of racism that assumes all black people have the same culture and needs?
Old 09-11-2008, 02:08 PM   #3 (permalink)

i dont see how the teacher being black will make a child learn

Last edited by Oneshot; 09-12-2008 at 10:51 AM.
Old 09-12-2008, 10:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Colón

I didn't know every race of children had different needs...I think that if the child wants to learn then they will learn...You see that in all races though, besides segregation is segregation and that to me is segregation.
Old 09-14-2008, 03:08 PM   #5 (permalink)

If you are a product of both the school system in the USA and the Caribbean, I agree from experience that the USA system has very little understanding of a child that went through a system in the Caribbean. Grade advisors will actually tell you it is not possible for a child to be that brilliant coming out of the Caribbean.

One, they do not understand the grading system, a 60 in the Caribbean probably equates to a B in the USA and they will give a child a failing grade when they transfer. If a child does exceedingly well in their school even if the child comes here and goes into one of the upper grades, they are going to tell you it is from their education.

Don't come to the USA at the age of 14/15 and in your last of high school, that stomps them. It is unbelievable that the Caribbean could produce children at this level.

If the Caribbean community is large enough, and many educators will agree who deals with Caribbean students that their is a need for change on how the system in the USA looks at them and I am sure the same applies to England because their would not be this call for change.
Old 09-14-2008, 11:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Colón

Originally Posted by caribarts View Post
If you are a product of both the school system in the USA and the Caribbean, I agree from experience that the USA system has very little understanding of a child that went through a system in the Caribbean. Grade advisors will actually tell you it is not possible for a child to be that brilliant coming out of the Caribbean.

One, they do not understand the grading system, a 60 in the Caribbean probably equates to a B in the USA and they will give a child a failing grade when they transfer. If a child does exceedingly well in their school even if the child comes here and goes into one of the upper grades, they are going to tell you it is from their education.

Don't come to the USA at the age of 14/15 and in your last of high school, that stomps them. It is unbelievable that the Caribbean could produce children at this level.

If the Caribbean community is large enough, and many educators will agree who deals with Caribbean students that their is a need for change on how the system in the USA looks at them and I am sure the same applies to England because their would not be this call for change.

I have never heard that before...I guess I went to really good schools as far as foreign transfer students were concerned. I know that when a friend of mine came to the states from abroad they had no problems getting their grades converted. It was actually quite simple for them. That is an interesting fact I will have to do some research on that.