Old 04-15-2004, 02:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

Medicating our Children

every time de youth act up, some admin c-un-t wanna say "he/she needs medication" one of my knuckle head students got on meds yesterday and he like a fucckin zombie.. i can't believe these kids are given such an avenue to become drug addicts , and teachers are like "u gonna get honor roll now" "you gonna pass" its so much better. my rass... how do u guys feel about medicating our kids?
Old 04-15-2004, 02:37 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 5,774
i think that a small few of these kids that are medicated actually have a problem..but the majority don't really need it. jstu b/c a kid seems energetic etc etc..it does not mean that somethign is wrong with them

Children on Psychiatric Drugs Doubles in a Decade" "Kids on Psychiatric Drugs Surge." These headlines reflect the outcome of a recent University of Maryland study. As a marriage and family therapist, these headlines raise troubling questions.
I am concerned that in many cases medication is being used as a magic bullet with little attention being paid to other important factors, such as issues in the home life of these children that may be underlying their problem behavior.

I believe that family therapy could significantly help many of these children and their families by reducing conflicts and behavior problems and may be a better solution than prescribing psychiatric medications.

Before discussing the value of family therapy, let me briefly summarize key points from the University of Maryland study. This study revealed that between 1987 and 1996 there was a 250 percent increase in the number of children being prescribed psychiatric drugs. Dr. Julie Magno Zito, lead researcher in the study, raised this cautionary note: "Are we using the drugs for behavioral problems and, if so, what are the benefits and risks of that?"

http://www.camft.org/ScriptContent/T...ngChildren.htm

Last edited by Sugahkhayne; 04-15-2004 at 02:44 PM..
Old 04-15-2004, 02:46 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 2,866
A friend of mine has a daughter on meds because his lazy ass ex-wife felt it was easier than spending more time w/ her. She talks a lot true...but she's also a kid. So maybe if mommy was able to converse w/ her kid more and treat her fair like her half-brother(from the new husband), she might not seem so bad. Mind you...the mother is also a teacher at her daughter's school.
Old 04-15-2004, 02:49 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 593
Some of these kids actually do need medication, but part of the problem is that these kids don't have enough outlets for their energy and their energy is not channeled into appropriate activiteis. These kids spend all their time sitting at a desk in school and then come home sit in front of a tv. They need more stimulating activity so they can be calm when the time warrants.

Clearly the child Rock discusses is being overmedicated. Unfortunately some children just react poorly to medication and especially when the medication is initially prescribed need to be monitored very closely by a psychiatrist. Rock, I suggest you contact the parent and have them take the child back to the doctor for a reassessment of medication in light of the presenting side effects. He might need a lower dosage or a different medication all together.

People might also think about eliminating so much sugar in their children's diets before they try medication.
Old 04-15-2004, 02:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Pimptress

Re: Medicating our Children

Originally posted by G.T.F.L
every time de youth act up, some admin c-un-t wanna say "he/she needs medication" one of my knuckle head students got on meds yesterday and he like a fucckin zombie.. i can't believe these kids are given such an avenue to become drug addicts , and teachers are like "u gonna get honor roll now" "you gonna pass" its so much better. my rass... how do u guys feel about medicating our kids?
i feel very few children actually need the meds. but rather than sending the child to undergo evaluation they just send them to pick up a prescription.

when my brother was younger he was an extremely energetic child and the school wanted to put him on meds. my parents put their foot down and basically told them to get lost! so instead they put him in the slow classes.....well right now my brother is at a great university, and mechanical engineer major who will graduate college with honors... and he is still as energetic as he was as a child.

school admin
Old 04-15-2004, 02:52 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 1,064
AS a "child" myself, my aunts/parents like to give me medicine as soon as i fall sick, but i prefer to let nature run its course. it has to be a serious illness for me to even consider taking pills. In my life i have only had them twice, once being because i was in the hospital on drips and i couldnt eat, drink etc.

i read somewhere that when u tak too much of one srug ur body builds up antibodies against it and that it doesnt work after a while, so i only try to take them when ABSOLUTELY necessary.
Old 04-15-2004, 03:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

medication my ass, back in the day medication was a leather belt... talk yuh talk
Old 04-15-2004, 03:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Pimptress

medication my ass, back in the day medication was a leather belt... talk yuh talk
well a phone call home would result in a spanking to remember
Old 04-15-2004, 03:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Head Gone!

Credits: 170
a cut a$$ indeed is wha dey need....all the kids that misbehave now and diagnosed with ADD WTF, before they knew anything bout ADD what did they use to treat kids...nuttin but lix.....using ADD and treating it with medication is an easy way out of disciplining your damn child
Old 04-15-2004, 03:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Champion!

Credits: 4,317
"CHEMICAL IMBALANCE" IS SOMETHING THAT IS FOUND IN ALOT OF YOUNG PPL,,,FOR THAT SOME DRUGS ARE REQUIRED.

THE STATE NEEDS TO SPEND MORE TIME AND MONEY EVALUATING AND TESTING THESE KIDS INSTEAD OFF SHOVING PILLS DOWN DEM THROAT.
Old 04-15-2004, 04:00 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 279
Re: Medicating our Children

I know how it is.. my son wasn't doing the greatest in school and sat down with his teacher and a learning needs analysist.. well the teacher and I were coming up with alternative ways to help my son learn, i.e.) tutoring, extra time with the work etc.. Well the Learning needs analysitst automatically says "Ritalin"!!! Me and the TEACHER were like.. W.T.F.!!!! I said, "I am not I repeat am not putting my son on that mess!" She thought my son had ADHD... I spoke to one of the doctors at work and he said, "can your son sit and complete tasks? I said yes.. he said your son does not have ADHD.......... we spoke of other things to.. I just couldn't believe how fast the learning needs chick wanted to "make my son into a zombie" that's crap!!! All you have to do is redirect the child.. My son goes to tutoring. I don't know if you have Kumon or Sylvan learning centres in the States, but they are excellent. The focus on the child's NEEDS.. in the case of my son, he wasn't a strong reader.. once he accomplished the understanding of what he reads he is doing so much better..
I'm so pleased with his progress.. WITHOUT DRUGS!!!!
Old 04-20-2004, 09:44 AM   #12 (permalink)
SoCa ADdIcT-nEeD aH fIx

Credits: 760
Well working on an inpatient child psychiatric unit.....i see this all the time.....a lot of the kids they diagnosis with things like ADHD, ADD, Depression really do need some stablization whether it's with or without meds.......I personally don't like them, but I have seen a few children who could model and be placed on a campaigning poster for ADHD meds like Concerta cuz dammit THEY NEEDED SOME MEDS!!!
Old 04-21-2004, 12:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
One Eye Monster Inc..

Credits: 1,768
That's just another form of laziness that is promoted by society..Kids are now raising them selves not having anybody to guide when they are experiencing something..Parents rather spend time on the phone and when the kid comes to ask a question the parents siad can't u see I'm busy..Just shit talking on the phone.. Sometimes kids just act out to get attention.