Old 04-15-2003, 04:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
strength, courage, wisdom

Credits: 2,300
Medgar Evers College Film & Culture Series

MEDGAR EVERS COLLEGE FILM & CULTURE SERIES

Invites You To:

"AFRIKA UNITE!"

Words and Songs by:
DuEwa M. Frazier**Flo Brown**Kasim Allah

Followed By The Film Screening Of

‘MUGABE!’
Produced By Minister Clemson Brown
‘MUGABE’ - Presents the facts about President Robert Mugabe's land recovery mission to return the stolen Land of Zimbabwe to its People (Original Humans). In ‘MUGABE’ the President seldom has to defend his position, for the People, politicians, white farmers controlling the land, the Movement for Democratic Change (MDC), government and military officials know that the Land Recovery Act of Zimbabwe must be honored being that it has been denied for 20 years.

Then a community discussion lead by:

Sam Anderson, Author, Activist
Viola Plummer, December 12th Movement
Bill Foster, MEC Professor, Reparations Organizer.

Tuesday, May 6, 2003 at 7:00pm

Medgar Evers College
Founders Auditorium
1650 Bedford Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11225

ADMISSION IS FREE
Old 04-15-2003, 05:45 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 4,477
You know I'm that sis, IMIX these series of movies are really good!
Old 04-16-2003, 09:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
D'Only1

I'm a Medgar Student, I'll be there. Someone gave me the flyer for it in school, and I want to pass through. I'm thinking of bringing one of mommy's friends.
Old 05-06-2003, 02:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
look meh!

Credits: 1,114
These movies are great! They provide a lot of information on issues that are never covered in everyday media, something worth checking out.
Old 05-06-2003, 02:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Solidarity

So u comin?
Old 05-06-2003, 02:59 PM   #6 (permalink)

i agree socaboy

and i think this is the last one for the school year so try and make it out if you can
Old 05-06-2003, 03:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
look meh!

Originally posted by Solidarity
So u comin?
I wasn't going to cause I have a lot of work to finish, but I might have to squeeze this one in, looks to be extremely interesting
Old 05-07-2003, 10:30 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 3,017
Any of you go? How was it?
Old 05-07-2003, 12:29 PM   #9 (permalink)

Quite a few of us went last night. It was good as always.
Prior to the film, there were three performances - spoken word and a singer. The first performer, Kasim Allah opened the evening with a bang, with very powerful pieces. Maybe someone else can comment more on his performance but it was outstanding.

The film was ok. Not as many facts as I was hoping but it did shed light on ANOTHER example of the injustices our people are subject to around the world. The film looked at different sides of the conflict, the redistribution of land from the white farmers/English settlers to the people of Zimbabwe.
Old 05-07-2003, 01:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
look meh!

Originally posted by Ilandfntsy
Any of you go? How was it?
It was well worth it to me. The only thing that bothers me about something like that is the lack of interest from the general public. It's truly unbelievable how much one can learn from these events, but we as a people are not hungry enough to find out what's really going on around us, and in the world we live in. We seem to be content with the little that alot of us really know.
Old 05-07-2003, 03:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
One Eye Monster Inc..

Credits: 1,776
The First Poet Still have me think why would you only value yourself has fiftycent...As for the movie ...That was something that more ppl have to venture out to see there was no camera tricks just ah video tape..Tell you the story of the whats really going on in that part of Africa..And being able to see for my own eyes how america can change around ah story..Boi Brainwashing is big Business in America..