Old 08-10-2006, 08:41 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,036
Mafia-style killing at Guyana newspaper

BY CAROL MATROO

A mafia-style killing at Guyana’s largest newspaper on Tuesday night quickly changed that country’s pre-election atmosphere from being described as mundane to one of apprehension, a source said yesterday.

The source said that shortly before midnight on Tuesday, a group of men, armed with automatic weapons, stormed the Kaieteur News printing department, ordering the six workers there to lie on the floor.

The men, after shooting each worker at the back of the head at point blank range, then fled the scene.

Four of the men died at the scene of the shooting.

The source said two other men at the scene barely escaped with their lives.

“They tried to kill the watchman, but he was lucky. He bore two grooves at the back of his head where the bullets hit. The other man is still in intensive care,” he said.

He said two other men were killed in other areas.

The names of the dead men include Richard Stewart, Wordsworth Grey, Chetram Persaud, Eion Wegman, Mark Maikoo and Shazeem Mohammed.

There was speculation that the onslaught may be linked to a simultaneous protest taking place at the South American nation’s main prison.

At the time of the attack, police officers in the capital of Georgetown had been dispatched to quell a demonstration by prisoners protesting overcrowding and a shortage of water, officials said.

The source said that while the attack may not be directly connected to the campaign, “it has certainly changed the climate.”

“Before, we felt like nothing was going on. Now, too much is happening. It is very destabilising and disturbing,” he said, adding that he was still in shock over the incident.

The source said guns were “all over the place.”

“There are private armies and militias here in Guyana. Last night (Tuesday) people reported seeing men firing shots into the air,” he said.

The South American country has been one fraught with violence, made worse by a relatively small police presence.

“Guyana is a large territory, you don’t know just how large, with a small police force. The police don’t even have a helicopter,” the source said.

He said that last February, more than 30 AK 47 rifles were stolen.

“There are a lot of guns that are now in unauthorised hands. We really do not know how this is going to impact the campaign,” the source said.

The attack came amid preparations for the August 28 General Elections in the former Dutch and British colony.

Authorities in Guyana said there was no evidence that the shooting was a robbery gone bad, and could give no motive for the bloody attack.

Guyana president Bharrat Jagdeo said: “This is a deliberate act targeting the Kaieteur News. We have to find out whether there is a link with what happened at the prison because it was going on at the same time."

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news1.html
Old 08-11-2006, 01:07 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 21,797
I'm calling upon President Hugo Chavez of Venezvuela to roll some tanks into Georgetown to restore order..........

........the Venezuelan people cannot afford to have a Failed State on their Border that could become a launching pad for an Invasion into their territories.
Old 08-11-2006, 03:21 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 4,271
Originally Posted by marabunta
I'm calling upon President Hugo Chavez of Venezvuela to roll some tanks into Georgetown to restore order..........

........the Venezuelan people cannot afford to have a Failed State on their Border that could become a launching pad for an Invasion into their territories.
What the hell this gotta to do with Venezuela?
Old 08-11-2006, 03:33 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by brownskintrini
What the hell this gotta to do with Venezuela?
They got a filthy neighbour next door with lots of trash that needs cleaning up.
Old 08-11-2006, 03:36 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 5,077

breds, while it is true that a destablised Guyana can be used as a launching pad for a number of nefarious ventures into other countries including Trinidad (as drug and arms smuggler I would make full use of that), Venezuela's sending in of troops at this time will create a hell of a lot more problems than you can begin to imagine. Leave that one well alone please
Old 08-11-2006, 05:17 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 4,271
They got a filthy neighbour next door with lots of trash that needs cleaning up.
So you more concerned for oilrich venezuela than poor, filthy Guyana...yea, dat sure makes sense...
Old 08-11-2006, 11:55 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by brownskintrini
So you more concerned for oilrich venezuela than poor, filthy Guyana...yea, dat sure makes sense...
Guyana is a vast wasteland that its natives are deserting in droves........

.......I was hoping that with the the Free Movement of professionals within Caricom--------that Haitians would go there and make that vast wasteland productive.

However the World Situation is changing FAST.

Somebody within the region MUST MAKE A MOVE on Guyana quick...............

............or else One Day you would wake up an see an Indian Navy Aircraft Carrier making a courtesy call there--
http://indiannavy.nic.in/c_aircraft_carriers.htm

--an dats de end of dat.

Last edited by marabunta; 08-12-2006 at 12:20 AM..
Old 08-12-2006, 07:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 25,232
YOu are such a facking idiot its unbelieveable sometimes. Concern yuhself with what going on in yuh own country and don't worry about us. Y'all have yuh own issues to deal with.
Old 08-12-2006, 11:53 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Rinababy
YOu are such a facking idiot its unbelieveable sometimes. Concern yuhself with what going on in yuh own country and don't worry about us. Y'all have yuh own issues to deal with.
I take my membership in Caricom seriously..........and I'm tinkering with making Guyana my personal little pet project.
Old 08-13-2006, 12:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 25,232
I take my membership in Caricom seriously..........and I'm tinkering with making Guyana my personal little pet project.
oh please
this is the second time i read some offensive comments you've made about Guyana. No one knows better than me that our country is in trouble but the shit that you post is just that a pile of shit that gives no real insight into what is the root of the turmoil there. You just post assholery to be offensive and i'm gonna call you on it evertime you do it.......friggin ignoramus..
Old 08-15-2006, 10:55 PM   #11 (permalink)

I'm closely monitoring this Latest Development:
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index...s?id=160997213

You know if this type of chaos escalates and spirals outta control............a stabilizing force from the region might be necessary.
Old 08-16-2006, 06:59 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 5,163
Unhappy

That is news dat I really didn't want to hear, being that I'm traveling there in a couple of days.

And Marabunta, and
Old 08-18-2006, 08:13 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by G.T.socalova
That is news dat I really didn't want to hear, being that I'm traveling there in a couple of days.

And Marabunta, and

*****GUYANA asks T&T FOR HELP!!!!
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index...s?id=160999352

G.T. Socalova you travelling there and yuh Militia taking shots at me..............

.........You better be careful ------de Trini Squad could detain you as an Enemy Combatant...

..and take you back to Chaguaramas for Interrogation

Last edited by marabunta; 08-18-2006 at 08:22 PM..