Old 11-24-2003, 06:16 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 696
Jury Sentences Muhammad To Death

...For Sniper Shootings...

NY Times Article

I can't help but to feel saddened by this....as much as I know he's guilty.
Old 11-24-2003, 06:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
daweh

Credits: 209
why u saddened ?
Old 11-24-2003, 06:38 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally posted by point-man
why u saddened ?
As much as he's guilty I'm fundamentally opposed to the death penalty and I think that there might have been circumstances (his forced separation from his kids) fueling his rage, which might have been sufficiently mitigating as to spare him the death penalty.
Old 11-24-2003, 08:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
daweh

well i eh know bout all this death penalty but i dont think his kids being taken away should allow him to go around snipin ppl
Old 11-24-2003, 08:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
not so happy to be happy

Credits: 186
well i eh know bout all this death penalty but i dont think his kids being taken away should allow him to go around snipin ppl
ditto.
Old 11-24-2003, 09:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Steuuuupssss!

Credits: 5,994
Originally posted by Bake 'N Shark
As much as he's guilty I'm fundamentally opposed to the death penalty and I think that there might have been circumstances (his forced separation from his kids) fueling his rage, which might have been sufficiently mitigating as to spare him the death penalty.
Forced separation...from what I understand it wasn't no forced. People are separated from kids everyday, they don't go around shooting people.
I wasn't even near the States when this was happening and I was frighten.
Send him to the gallows. See ya next lifetime mate!
Old 11-24-2003, 09:43 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 2,671
Blah..... they should make it public........ firing squad in a local gas station
Old 11-24-2003, 09:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
not so happy to be happy

Credits: 186
Originally posted by Trinibaje
Blah..... they should make it public........ firing squad in a local gas station
:may he rot in hell. fyah
Old 11-25-2003, 01:23 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally posted by TehrryCherry
Forced separation...from what I understand it wasn't no forced. People are separated from kids everyday, they don't go around shooting people.

I never said it should excuse his behavior as you both imply...I said in my mind it may help 'mitigate' or somewhat put his actions in context. He was bitter at his wife for disappearing with the kids, that is the forced separation I'm talking about Tehrry.

And I'm not blaming the wife for this either, she had good cause to want to take the kids away (he had taken them to Antigua and kept them there for months w/o her knowledge as to their whereabouts). I believe when she got his visitation rights revoked he made threats against her and possible against her life. She then disappeared and was living in MD somewhere...that's what took him on his murderous trek across the US...he just didn't care anymore.

By all accounts the guy was a good father who loved his three kids intensely...the differences with their mother aside. That his business attempts were simultaneously failing only added to his inner turmoil. Not condoning what he did in anyway, but we all know that the law is skewed on the side of women in custody cases. I just think that in a day and age when many black fathers are abandoning their kids left and right, here is a man who did everything to bond with his. No he should not have been awarded custody...but couldn't supervised visits have been granted?? This is the singular event which fueled his actions...everyone agrees. The disagreement is just over the mitigating effect it should have on his guilt. The jury says 'none' and apparently y'all agree. I disagree.

That his wife would choose to testify for the prosecution during the penalty phase of the trial I find particularly low...this man was never ever ever going to see the outside of a jailhouse again...what did she gain by helping ease the path to his execution??
Old 11-25-2003, 08:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
daweh

so your wife take your kids u should go around killin people he should be ashamed to use he kids not being taken away as any kinda excuse if he was such ah good father he woulda accept the fact that he an his wife not together but own up to his responsibility an pay he child sopport an see he kids when chance permitted not kill ah set ah people who had nothing to do with it ,
Old 11-29-2003, 12:50 AM   #11 (permalink)

so your wife take your kids u should go around killin people he should be ashamed to use he kids not being taken away as any kinda excuse if he was such ah good father he woulda accept the fact that he an his wife not together but own up to his responsibility an pay he child sopport an see he kids when chance permitted not kill ah set ah people who had nothing to do with it ,
Let's try this one more time, for the reading-impaired...

I never said it should excuse his behavior as you both imply...I said in my mind it may help 'mitigate' or somewhat put his actions in context.
...additionally, this wasn't about child-support. His wife up and disappeared with the kids...he wanted to but couldn't find them. But I'll stop now, because I'm sure somebody will come back with "dat doh mean yuh should go out and kill people"...blah, blah, blah...
Old 11-29-2003, 01:15 AM   #12 (permalink)
Steuuuupssss!

Credits: 5,994

...additionally, this wasn't about child-support. His wife up and disappeared with the kids...he wanted to but couldn't find them. But I'll stop now, because I'm sure somebody will come back with "dat doh mean yuh should go out and kill people"...blah, blah, blah...
Look I hear what you are saying, Bake 'N Shark and it makes full sense. It's just that I am all for the death penalty when it comes to pretty clear cut cases like his.
Old 11-30-2003, 05:53 PM   #13 (permalink)
daweh

that doe mean he should go aroung blah blah blah blah
Old 11-30-2003, 07:05 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 2,470
Originally posted by Trinibaje
IF YOU EVER COME ATTORNEY GENERAL OF AMERICA.....LAWD

ITS GOING TO BE OR EVEN
Old 11-30-2003, 07:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ragga007

This is a CUT and DRY case. There can be no SYMPATHY or EXCUSE for this MAN's BEHAVIOR. Justifying his ACTIONS is plain STUPIDITY.