Old 03-29-2006, 03:28 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 126
"Jumping the Broom"

Is jumping the broom truly an African tradition or a colonial way to wed people they thought were undeserving of a church wedding?
I seriously have my doubts.
Old 03-29-2006, 03:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
who Jah bless no man cus

Credits: 534
Originally Posted by Natural High
Is jumping the broom truly an African tradition or a colonial way to wed people they thought were undeserving of a church wedding?I seriously have my doubts.

from my memory slaves were not aloud to get married so they had to jump the broom
Old 03-29-2006, 04:09 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 3,996
Originally Posted by JAHTEE
from my memory slaves were not aloud to get married so they had to jump the broom

This is an African American slave tradition...
Old 03-29-2006, 04:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
who Jah bless no man cus

Credits: 534
Originally Posted by Ancientwomyn
yes that is true thanks for the clarification thinking just didnt state it
Old 03-29-2006, 04:38 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by JAHTEE
yes that is true thanks for the clarification thinking just didnt state it

no you was right, just addin a lil more definition to it... lol

Here's some more definition to it:

Jumping the broom is a Black American wedding custom.

In contrast to many West African traditions, the practice of jumping the broom is a wholly American addition that developed due to the institution of slavery in the United States.(disputed — see talk page) Slaves had no legal right to marriage; slaveholders considered slaves property and feared that legal marriage and family bonds had the potential to lead to organization and revolt. Marriage rituals, however, were important events to the Africans, who in many cases came from richly-ceremonial African cultures. When faced with the loss of the right to marry, many created new rituals with what was on hand.

Taking marriage vows in the presence of a witness and then leaping over the handle of a broom became the common practice to create a recognized union. This symbolized the crossing of a threshold and the taking of a "leap of faith." Brooms are also symbols of the hearth, the center of the new family being created. Jumping the broom has become a practice in many modern weddings between Black Americans.

Some Neopagans have borrowed this practice and incorporated it into their handfastings. The broom also holds other significance specific to neopagan and Wiccan beliefs (see broomstick
I also found this as well:

Real Origins
Many African wedding traditions include a derivative of broom jumping. Most cultural historians attribute this African-American slave tradition to the stick crossing ceremony of West African roots.

Other origins
The broom jump is not just a Welsh tradition, but a Celtic Tradition. The Celts stretched from Ireland, Great Britain, France and Spain. This tradition was also combined with hand-fasting, which is where the term tied the knot came from. Maybe it is a combination of African and European heritage, just like the Cajuns and Creoles.
Old 03-29-2006, 04:39 PM   #6 (permalink)

For this interested in how it's done:

How to Jump the Broom for an African-American Wedding

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jumping the broom is a popular African-American wedding tradition that symbolizes the sweeping away of the old and the welcoming of the new.

Steps:
1. Select a time to perform this tradition. Either at the very end of the ceremony or during the reception would be appropriate.

2. Call your guests to gather around you and your new spouse.

3. Place the broom on the floor and stand in front of it.

4. Ask a family member or friend to narrate the history of this custom. It stems back to the time when slaves were prevented from marrying. They developed this ritual as a way to unite in ceremony.

5. Suggest that the narrator explain to guests that you are re-creating the ceremony as a way to represent the joining together of two lives and the need for support of the marriage from the entire community.

6. Hold the broom with your spouse as the narrator shares this important information.

7. Sweep the broom in a circle together until the story is finished.

8. Place the broom on the floor and hold hands with your spouse.

9. Ask the guests to count out loud to three.

10. Jump over the broom together.
Old 03-29-2006, 04:42 PM   #7 (permalink)

http://www.randomhouse.com/wotd/inde...?date=20010226

Can you tell me how the phrase jump over the broom came to refer to getting married?
The phrase is most commonly jump the broom. The traditional act of jumping the broom, in which a couple jump together over a decorated broom that has been placed on the floor in front of them, is enjoying a resurgence in African-American wedding ceremonies.

During slavery, slaves were often not allowed to marry, and so an alternative ceremony for marking a couple's commitment was adopted. Most historians and curators of African-American cultural collections agree that the tradition--at least as practiced by African-Americans--originated in the southern U.S. However, that is not entirely accepted; there is still speculation about possible African ceremonial origins, one of which was for a bride to sweep the home of her mother-in-law on her wedding day.

Since wedding traditions differ so widely across Africa, I think the origin during slavery is more likely: slaves came from many different tribes with quite divergent marriage traditions, and in researching this phrase, I discovered that the exact same ceremony is an ancient Celtic tradition. The link here is that many slave owners were Scots-Irish immigrants (or their descendants).

From the early days of Christianity in Ireland, rituals tended to blend the pagan with the Christian. An example of this was the handfasting ceremony, a commitment ceremony held when a priest was not available. Couples who just couldn't wait until the traveling priest turned up would ceremonially tie their wrists together, then join hands and jump over a broom to guarantee children. In Celtic tradition, the broom was a symbol of fertility; Beltane (May Day) festivities often included fertility rites such as broom-jumping or broom-riding. It seems possible that the idea of this type of unofficial but sincere marriage ceremony could have been adopted by early slaves at the suggestion of their Celtic masters. That the masters were party to these ceremonies is evidenced by one former slave's account of her own wedding, quoted in Harriette Cole's Jumping the Broom: The African-American Wedding Planner.

Today, what the ceremony symbolizes is largely a personal choice, as is the inclusion of it in a wedding. It can represent sweeping out the old and welcoming the new, or a jump into a new life, or (as it did for the Irish) the beginning of a new life in which domestic issues come to the fore. Some African-Americans reject it as a vestige of their slave past, and others embrace it as a unique cultural expression.

Linguistically, the term jumping the broom has not yet become synonymous with marriage in the way that "tying the knot" is. For more details about the modern ceremony itself, you can check out Harriet Cole's book.

Wendalyn
Old 03-30-2006, 12:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,327
Originally Posted by Ancientwomyn
....which has its roots in West African rituals
Old 03-30-2006, 10:52 AM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Mystic Xtremist
....which has its roots in West African rituals

and also in European cultures as well...

In contrast to many West African traditions, the practice of jumping the broom is a wholly American addition that developed due to the institution of slavery in the United States.(disputed — see talk page) Slaves had no legal right to marriage; slaveholders considered slaves property and feared that legal marriage and family bonds had the potential to lead to organization and revolt. Marriage rituals, however, were important events to the Africans, who in many cases came from richly-ceremonial African cultures. When faced with the loss of the right to marry, many created new rituals with what was on hand.

Since wedding traditions differ so widely across Africa, I think the origin during slavery is more likely: slaves came from many different tribes with quite divergent marriage traditions, and in researching this phrase, I discovered that the exact same ceremony is an ancient Celtic tradition. The link here is that many slave owners were Scots-Irish immigrants (or their descendants).

From the early days of Christianity in Ireland, rituals tended to blend the pagan with the Christian. An example of this was the handfasting ceremony, a commitment ceremony held when a priest was not available. Couples who just couldn't wait until the traveling priest turned up would ceremonially tie their wrists together, then join hands and jump over a broom to guarantee children. In Celtic tradition, the broom was a symbol of fertility; Beltane (May Day) festivities often included fertility rites such as broom-jumping or broom-riding. It seems possible that the idea of this type of unofficial but sincere marriage ceremony could have been adopted by early slaves at the suggestion of their Celtic masters.
And I've heard of the broom being used in some African traditions when the bride would sweep the mother in laws house as a sign of entering the new family.
Old 03-30-2006, 07:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,327
Thing is, where would enslaved African-Americans have been exposed to Celtic wedding ritual traditions? Correct me if I'm wrong, I could well be, but I was unaware of any widespread presence of Celtic traditions in 16th-19th-century American culture.

If that isn't the case, and if we saw traditions similar to broom-jumping in both Africa and among Celts, it would seem to be more likely that enslaved Africans in the US would have brought those traditions over with them across the seas than it would be for the traditions to be introduced to them once here.
Old 03-31-2006, 10:38 AM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Mystic Xtremist
Thing is, where would enslaved African-Americans have been exposed to Celtic wedding ritual traditions? Correct me if I'm wrong, I could well be, but I was unaware of any widespread presence of Celtic traditions in 16th-19th-century American culture.

If that isn't the case, and if we saw traditions similar to broom-jumping in both Africa and among Celts, it would seem to be more likely that enslaved Africans in the US would have brought those traditions over with them across the seas than it would be for the traditions to be introduced to them once here.

I understand whatcha yuh saying but the thing is and even in these articles they're not sure themselves because 1, there's no such tradition of jumping the broomin Africa (I've been searching and come up with nothing, so I can be wrong), there's the use of a broom for some wedding ceremonies... but it's either that this tradition was created by the African Americans or perhaps like she stated here
"The link here is that many slave owners were Scots-Irish immigrants (or their descendants)."
I believe the slave masters were the ones who looked over these weddings, correct me if I'm wrong, so the master could've brought this tradition OR perhaps it was a combination of slaves coming together with something sacred to seal the wedding.