Old 03-05-2005, 06:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Unregistered User

Credits: 634
John Hanson-1st President of the US

I was reading an article that said that not only was John Hanson the 1st President of the US but he was black. Has anyone else heard of this? What are your views?
Old 03-05-2005, 06:46 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 140,814
Originally Posted by sk gyal
I was reading an article that said that not only was John Hanson the 1st President of the US but he was black. Has anyone else heard of this? What are your views?
I've heard of it, and the ANSWER is NO, he wasn't BLACK.

They got the wrong John Hanson MIXED UP.
Old 03-05-2005, 10:32 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 14,229
source??
Old 03-05-2005, 10:44 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 24,370
Originally Posted by sharkbait
source??
google..
Old 03-05-2005, 10:55 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 14,229
Originally Posted by Oneshot
google..
no. ah askin she what is de source of this article....
Old 03-05-2005, 11:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Unregistered User

Credits: 634
Originally Posted by sharkbait
no. ah askin she what is de source of this article....
The Boston People's Voice - Volume 7 Issue 35 Feb 18-March 17
Old 03-06-2005, 12:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
elq
Cleophus aka pupah lashie

Credits: 1,039
the lithograph that shows a Black John Hanson is commonly used as a representation of this misconception of a Black President.

Unfortunately, daguerrotypes were not created at the time John Hanson walked this land and should be evidence enough that this info is incorrect.

Nonetheless, false information like this gets swallowed as fact and despite the evidence, is championed by many. I'm not saying dat you're like dat skgyal.
I've had too many students come at me wid this factoid but couldn't substantiate it with proof.

It's false. America would never have a black president until it's ready.

Last edited by elq; 03-06-2005 at 03:58 PM..
Old 03-06-2005, 03:20 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 6,461
Originally Posted by elq
the lithograph that shows a Black John Hanson is commonly used as a representation of this misconception of a Black President.

Unfortunately, lithographs were not created at the time John Hanson walked this land and should be evidence enough that this info is incorrect.

Nonetheless, false information like this gets swallowed as fact and despite the evidence, is championed by many. I'm not saying dat you're like dat skgyal.
I've had too many students come at me wid this factoid but couldn't substantiate it with proof.

It's false. America would never have a black president until it's ready.

so who is this this John Hanson?
Old 03-06-2005, 03:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
elq
Cleophus aka pupah lashie

Credits: 1,039
Originally Posted by saveoursoca
so who is this this John Hanson?
John Hanson.
http://www.snopes.com/history/american/hanson.htm

The other John Hanson

http://illuminopolis.hypermart.net/jhanson.html