Old 06-03-2003, 12:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

Islandmix. Before we move on as a community...

We have a good thing going here but some questions have to be answered.

Is islandmix really just for kicks or do you manipulate it for kicks....

Is Islandmix integrated among islands or are we segregated on the low..

Why don't we push the other islands (smaller in population)?

Can we put enough effort into responding regarding the real issues as opposed to responding to de party talk , boatride talk, my shite talk and other business.

De same way we put time into talking bout de parties, de panties , de carnivals , de boatrides.. let we put the time into de tings like de AIDS walk, can food drives.. population efforts that help us gain leverage that may affect change.
Old 06-03-2003, 12:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
ThE pOsT JaCkInG aSsAsSiN

Credits: 1,101
Re: Islandmix. Before we move on as a community...

Originally posted by MrBlackRock

Can we put enough effort into responding regarding the real issues as opposed to responding to de party talk , boatride talk, my shite talk and other business.

De same way we put time into talking bout de parties, de panties , de carnivals , de boatrides.. let we put the time into de tings like de AIDS walk, can food drives.. population efforts that help us gain leverage that may affect change.
I hear that... I think don't really think it is segregated... I don't really think people care too much about where other come from. Infact I know allot of people who aren't even from the westindies.. We do enjoy shite talk, But I have also read some post that are more on the serious side. I think that the relationships we build here are a form of support. I really feel that some of you guy are family......
Old 06-03-2003, 12:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Kaiser Ball Gyul

Credits: 414
mbr

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

true....true.
Old 06-03-2003, 12:45 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 1,718
good point. as hyped up as we r 2 go fete's and ting we should be the same as doing things in the community. even the smallest things. i wouldn't say imix is 4 kicks. only backchat is 4 kicks really from my perspective. we can probly all contribute and beef up the other sections like Culture and Real Talk 2 give it more of a round about feel. maybe even for the Event's section we can post other happening's if we come across them not related to fete/boatride. like maybe a caribbean showcase show, dance performances, public debates, etc. i think if we all talk up the helm and contribute in two month's time the site can be four times as powerful.

salt
Old 06-03-2003, 12:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

Originally posted by lordsalt
good point. as hyped up as we r 2 go fete's and ting we should be the same as doing things in the community. even the smallest things. i wouldn't say imix is 4 kicks. only backchat is 4 kicks really from my perspective. we can probly all contribute and beef up the other sections like Culture and Real Talk 2 give it more of a round about feel. maybe even for the Event's section we can post other happening's if we come across them not related to fete/boatride. like maybe a caribbean showcase show, dance performances, public debates, etc. i think if we all talk up the helm and contribute in two month's time the site can be four times as powerful.

salt
what would u think about a committee?
Old 06-03-2003, 12:52 PM   #6 (permalink)

what would u think about a committee?
hmmm....dat soundin like an idea. we mite have 2 collaborate with the 3 heads and see. like a general commitee u mean or specific 4 each role and duties?

salt
Old 06-03-2003, 12:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
strength, courage, wisdom

Credits: 2,324
nice ideas MBR and i'm trying to keep a positive outlook.....but of all the people who posted in this topic, only one has registered to walk w/imix next month....so i think imix has to make small steps first before anything else.....
Old 06-03-2003, 01:00 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 1,767
That was a good and valid point you raised, we should take the time out to deal with the more serious issues at times. There are a lot of issues out there that needs to be discussed and we as islandmix members and as people of a group should try to come together on a serious note and address these problems and see how we can help in resolving some of them. I think that we should at least have regualar meetings etc where we could get a chance to have discussions some of these issues.

As for the ole talk that goes on here, i know a lot of us use this a a means of getting away from the frustrations of work and school. I know that I do it all the time. Here on imx i enjoy myself and all the love and joy that is recieved helps me to make my day go by faster. I enjoy you guys..........although i haven't met anyone yet.

As for segregation, I don't think it exists here, if it does or there are people who choose to segregate then surely this is not the place for them.
Old 06-03-2003, 01:08 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally posted by soca junkie
nice ideas MBR and i'm trying to keep a positive outlook.....but of all the people who posted in this topic, only one has registered to walk w/imix next month....so i think imix has to make small steps first before anything else.....
nah i won't say dat. give ppl time and they'll come out. or unless like me they will be out of town that wknd.

salt
Old 06-03-2003, 01:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

hmmm....dat soundin like an idea. we mite have 2 collaborate with the 3 heads and see. like a general commitee u mean or specific 4 each role and duties?

salt
General committee that brainstorms and seeks out efforts that are conducive to helping the West indian Community
Old 06-03-2003, 01:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
strength, courage, wisdom

Credits: 2,324
nah i won't say dat. give ppl time and they'll come out. or unless like me they will be out of town that wknd.

salt
people are coming out for it. but the reality is that people tend to talk more than do. we are all, myself included, guilty of it...its easier to sit in front of our computers at our jobs or comfortable homes, and talk about the problems of the world than to do something.

i've said b4 that i think imix is a great site, and can be used for a lot more in our community than just ta ta talk or talk about fetes.....its just takes a commitment for all of us on here to move it to the next level.
Old 06-03-2003, 01:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
One Eye Monster Inc..

Credits: 1,782
Re: Islandmix. Before we move on as a community...

Very good idea
Old 06-03-2003, 01:18 PM   #13 (permalink)

blrock - sounds awesome. all the members actively involved in imix can contribute. i got an idea 4 a 1st project already.

sjunk - amen. i c where u coming from now.

salt
Old 06-03-2003, 01:20 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 3,035
Black Rock chances are you are not going to like my response overall...

1. Islandmix stopped really being about kicks for me a long time ago when I realized it was an avenue to reach a certain demographic of Caribbean people and expose them to each other and help build our community here in North America, and teach others about life in the Caribbean.

2. You really need to get off the whole segregated on the low thing. I will naturally have a bias toward Trinidad and then Grenada, because that is what I am a product of. If I am ignorant to the customs, dialect, etc. of another island or nation, it is unfortunately a choice on my part to overcome that, and a responsibility on the part of people from those countries to portray their land in a positive light that makes me want to learn more. Be realistic...how many of us living right here in the U.S. have really made an effort outside of school to learn more about the states? It really is an individual choice and you can't force people to be socially conscious.

3. I for one have done my part to push the smaller nations when I created the Culture Section. But as I tell all the people that send me emails asking why their country is not represented more, that is their responsibility not mine. Things in Trinidad and Tobago are not rosy. Things right here in the Brooklyn Trinidadian community are not even correct and that is my 1st priority. If people want to make noise and make a difference then they need to step up.

4. The argument that people need to respond more to serious topics and get involved has always been present on Backchat, hence the reason we created Allyuh have real talk... I've told you on numerous occasions BlackRock...the chosen are few...

Do your part, do it concientiously, lead by example...that is all you can do.
Old 06-03-2003, 01:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

Originally posted by Ilandfntsy
Black Rock chances are you are not going to like my response overall...

1. Islandmix stopped really being about kicks for me a long time ago when I realized it was an avenue to reach a certain demographic of Caribbean people and expose them to each other and help build our community here in North America, and teach others about life in the Caribbean.

DON'T MAKE ASSUMPTIONS OF WHAT I LIKE OR WHAT I WONT LIKE. i support number 1

2. You really need to get off the whole segregated on the low thing. I will naturally have a bias toward Trinidad and then Grenada, because that is what I am a product of. If I am ignorant to the customs, dialect, etc. of another island or nation, it is unfortunately a choice on my part to overcome that, and a responsibility on the part of people from those countries to portray their land in a positive light that makes me want to learn more. Be realistic...how many of us living right here in the U.S. have really made an effort outside of school to learn more about the states? It really is an individual choice and you can't force people to be socially conscious.

IF "YOU" OR "I" STEUPS... LISTEN WOMAN. THIS LEADS ME TO BELIEVE THIS YOU TAKING IT AS A PERSONAL SHOT AT YOU. YOU SHOULD KNOW BETTER. OTHERWISE, IF YUH WEARING DE HAT. I HOPE IT TOO BIG FAH U HEAD. BUT THERE IS SEGREGATION ON IMIX WE ALL ARE PROPONENTS OF IT.. YOUR CULTURE IS MY CULTURE JUST BECAUSE SOME MECHANICS ARE DIFFERENT DON'T MEAN ANYTHING. THEREFORE FOR PEOPLE TO COME ON HERE AND THINK THAT WE ARE DIFFERENT, GOT ISSUES. IF DEM GETTING RID AH BLACK PEOPLE, DEM AIN GINE GIVE TWO GOLLYWOGS ABOUT IF YOU TRINI OR I BAJAN.

3. I for one have done my part to push the smaller nations when I created the Culture Section. But as I tell all the people that send me emails asking why their country is not represented more, that is their responsibility not mine. Things in Trinidad and Tobago are not rosy. Things right here in the Brooklyn Trinidadian community are not even correct and that is my 1st priority. If people want to make noise and make a difference then they need to step up.

1 comment, its not about you.. geez.

4. The argument that people need to respond more to serious topics and get involved has always been present on Backchat, hence the reason we created Allyuh have real talk... I've told you on numerous occasions BlackRock...the chosen are few...

Do your part, do it consientiously, lead by example...that is all you can do.

woman, if you feel i am not doing my part or haven't been doing my part you are sadly mistaken. Its ok for people to disagree sometimes though so stand where you are, and i'll stand where i am , just know that when dey come looking for "us" dem ain gine care which side we standing on we can be a heavier mountain to move if we stood together. BLAH!!!

Last edited by MrBlackRock; 06-03-2003 at 01:35 PM..