Old 05-29-2003, 10:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
MLO, CTA 4 LIFE

Credits: 1,732
IRAQ--A Wasted War...

STILL NO SADAM,US SOLIDERS BEING KILLED ALMOST DAILY, NO WEAPONS OF MASS DESTRUCTION FOUND....

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The Baghdad bunker which the United States said it bombed on the opening night of the Iraq (news - web sites) war in a bid to kill Saddam Hussein (news - web sites) never existed, CBS Evening News reported Wednesday.

The network quoted a U.S. Army colonel in charge of inspecting key sites in Baghdad as saying no trace of a bunker or of bodies had been found at the site on the southern outskirts of the Iraqi capital, known as Dora Farms.

"When we came out here, the primary thing they were looking for was an underground facility, or bodies, forensics, and basically, what they saw was giant holes created. No underground facilities, no bodies," Col. Tim Madere said.

CBS, saying it was the first news organization to visit the site, reported that the CIA (news - web sites) had searched it once and Col. Madere had searched it twice as part of efforts to find traces of DNA that could indicate if Saddam or his sons had been killed or wounded.

The network said the main palace in the compound remained standing despite the surrounding destruction. It quoted Madere as saying anyone who had been in the building could have survived the raid.

Shortly after the attack, Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld told reporters: "There's no question but that the strike on that leadership headquarters was successful. We have photographs of what took place. The question is, what was in there?"

The United States effectively acknowledged that the March 20 raid failed to kill Saddam when it launched a second air attack aimed at the Iraqi president on April 7.

The fate of Saddam and his sons Uday and Qusay is still unclear.

Rumsfeld said earlier this month, "If you don't have evidence he's dead, you've probably got to assume he's alive."
Old 05-29-2003, 10:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Is Pure MADNESSS ent..

Credits: 190
Re: IRAQ--A Wasted War...

UM...AH THINK SO TOO..WASN'T IT SUPPOSE TO ABOUT SEPT 11...HOW IT TURN INTO ALL DAT OTHER THING..AND DE WHOLE OIL BIZNESS TOO..WHA SADAM HAD TO DO WITH 9/11..

HEH..BUSH ONLY WANTED TO GO TO WAR WITH PPL FOR NOTHING YES..EVER SINCE HE WAS ELECTED..IT WAS ALL ABOUT NUCLEAR WEAPONS AND SHEIT...
Old 05-29-2003, 10:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
STICKMAN

I coulda told you that from the beginning...
It reminds me when the US invaded Grenada, they swore up and down that the Communist were stockpilling weapons in there and then even said they found a wharehouse with weapons... Come to find out, there were no weapons there...

Since when does this country care about removing a ruthless dictator???
This is the same country that back Devallier in Haiti, lifted sanctions on South Africa during Aparthied, and put the Shah in power in Iran and backed him when he was oppressing the people...

If Saddam needed to go, it should be the Iraqi people to do it through revolution, thats the only way to freedom... Self Determination....

Now instead you have western companies running to "rebuild" Iraq... Looks like Imperialism and colonialization to me
Old 05-29-2003, 10:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
MLO, CTA 4 LIFE

Hey for those that say war was necessary to free the citizens towards democracy, 1st i say the US is not a true democray evident on how our eminent president won the election, 2nd i say why stop at Iraq, there are more ruthless dictatorship in N.Korea, China and certain countries in Africa..
Old 05-29-2003, 11:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
STICKMAN

i know this war kinda hurt relations between the Unites States and the Caribbean because most caribbean nations refused to agree with the US in going to war..
Old 05-29-2003, 11:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
An Ivy of Class

Credits: 575
I think only logical thinking people would know the true motives for the US going into Iraq. A few weeks ago one my professors decided he was going to give us his insider's view of the Iraq war. He has many contacts in Washington who he spoke with to find out what was going on. Firstly, he said there were never weapons of mass destruction. And though everyone knows Saddam was a dictator, the US didn't really care about how bad he was to his people. This was truly a war to depose Saddam so that the US could have reign over the Iraqi oil. What many people don't know is that there are oil lines which run from Iraq to Israel and other European States, which had fallen into disrepair over the years due to the bad relations between Saddam and US. In order to get these pipe lines working again they had to get into Iraq and of course Saddam would not just open the door and let them in. So Israel has a big role to play in this war. Notice how they kept themselves quiet during the entire war. And also notice that at the same time the US unveiled it's "Road Map" to peace for Israel. If Israel didn't want to concede before to the Palenistians, why now are they willing to?

Last edited by classyivy1; 05-30-2003 at 11:23 AM..
Old 05-30-2003, 01:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
MLO, CTA 4 LIFE

Originally posted by classyivy1
I think only logical thinking people would know the true motives for the US going into Iraq. A few weeks ago one my professors decided he was going to give us his insider's view of the Iraq war. He has many contacts in Washington who he spoke with to find out what was going on. Firstly, he said there were never weapons of mass destruction. And though everyone knows Saddam was a dictator, the US didn't really care about how bad he was to his people. This was truly a war to depose Saddam so that the US could have reign over the Iraqi oil. What many people don't know is that there are oil lines which run from Iraq to Israel and other European States, which had fallen into disrepair over the years do to the bad relations between Saddam and US. In order to get these pipe lines working again they had to get into Iraq and of course Saddam would not just open the door and let them in. So Israel has a big role to play in this war. Notice how they kept themselves quiet during the entire war. And also notice that at the same time the US unveiled it's "Road Map" to peace for Israel. If Israel didn't want to concede before to the Palenistians, why now are they willing to?

Well said and thanks for the added insight with the issue with israel...
Old 05-31-2003, 11:37 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 5,077
While it is obvious that this farcical war had more to do with securing oil deposits, I think that that professor left out a very important piece of the puzzle; I am of the firm conviction that this was also about furthering US geo-politics and multinational capitalist ideologies. Tis represents the new leel of a process that began long bofore either of the Bush's came to power. If people in the Caribbean know what is good for them, they (we) better take note of the developments taking place and find ways to influence the outcomes.

I would also like to introduce another angle to this issue.

http://www.trinicenter.com/Gilkes/2003/1803.htm

Might be worth exploring
Old 06-01-2003, 04:10 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 122
Re: IRAQ--A Wasted War...

Originally posted by Kamasutra
STILL NO SADAM,US SOLIDERS BEING KILLED ALMOST DAILY, NO WEAPONS OF MASS DESTRUCTION FOUND....

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The Baghdad bunker which the United States said it bombed on the opening night of the Iraq (news - web sites) war in a bid to kill Saddam Hussein (news - web sites) never existed, CBS Evening News reported Wednesday.

The network quoted a U.S. Army colonel in charge of inspecting key sites in Baghdad as saying no trace of a bunker or of bodies had been found at the site on the southern outskirts of the Iraqi capital, known as Dora Farms.

"When we came out here, the primary thing they were looking for was an underground facility, or bodies, forensics, and basically, what they saw was giant holes created. No underground facilities, no bodies," Col. Tim Madere said.

CBS, saying it was the first news organization to visit the site, reported that the CIA (news - web sites) had searched it once and Col. Madere had searched it twice as part of efforts to find traces of DNA that could indicate if Saddam or his sons had been killed or wounded.

The network said the main palace in the compound remained standing despite the surrounding destruction. It quoted Madere as saying anyone who had been in the building could have survived the raid.

Shortly after the attack, Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld told reporters: "There's no question but that the strike on that leadership headquarters was successful. We have photographs of what took place. The question is, what was in there?"

The United States effectively acknowledged that the March 20 raid failed to kill Saddam when it launched a second air attack aimed at the Iraqi president on April 7.

The fate of Saddam and his sons Uday and Qusay is still unclear.

Rumsfeld said earlier this month, "If you don't have evidence he's dead, you've probably got to assume he's alive."
Duh...It wasn't a wasted war. Bush now gets to put who he wants into office to get his hands on their oil. :p
Old 06-01-2003, 04:15 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally posted by STICKMAN
I coulda told you that from the beginning...
It reminds me when the US invaded Grenada, they swore up and down that the Communist were stockpilling weapons in there and then even said they found a wharehouse with weapons... Come to find out, there were no weapons there...

Since when does this country care about removing a ruthless dictator???
This is the same country that back Devallier in Haiti, lifted sanctions on South Africa during Aparthied, and put the Shah in power in Iran and backed him when he was oppressing the people...

If Saddam needed to go, it should be the Iraqi people to do it through revolution, thats the only way to freedom... Self Determination....

Now instead you have western companies running to "rebuild" Iraq... Looks like Imperialism and colonialization to me
Right on Stickman! The U.S has been and only will continue to look out for number one- themselves. We (Well not we) don't care about who we hurt so long as we get our way. We also don't care about who we lie to- even if it's our own people.
Old 06-07-2003, 02:19 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 305
I think right now with the war still being fought, it is not the time to talk about wheter or not the US should of went to war. Fact is the United States is at war. Even though many people believe the war is over it is not. Me being a soldier in the United States army and deployed in Iraq right now, know that the war is not over. Myself and other troops as well will like to be supported instead of being criticized for something we had no control over. Many of us don't agree with the fact that we are at war and we may never know the real reason, but it already happened, so now we just have to pray for the best and hope this will be over soon so that all the US troops could be back home with their families and loved ones.
Old 06-09-2003, 03:33 PM   #12 (permalink)

Point well taken!
Old 06-10-2003, 12:43 AM   #13 (permalink)
Solidarity

Originally posted by Dana
I think right now with the war still being fought, it is not the time to talk about wheter or not the US should of went to war. Fact is the United States is at war. Even though many people believe the war is over it is not. Me being a soldier in the United States army and deployed in Iraq right now, know that the war is not over. Myself and other troops as well will like to be supported instead of being criticized for something we had no control over. Many of us don't agree with the fact that we are at war and we may never know the real reason, but it already happened, so now we just have to pray for the best and hope this will be over soon so that all the US troops could be back home with their families and loved ones.
Sis, i wholeheartedly ask the ancestors to guide you and other military personnel and hope that u have a safe return. :)

However, i vehemently disagree with your contention that now is not the time to talk about whether or not the US should have gone to war. You see, for me there were and are more than enough reasons, historical and current day, why i oppose this war and so while i think this post is useful, my decision was made many moons ago. For others though, i guess further "proof" (interesting word these days) is needed.

i continue to believe that many people who supported this war did so out of fear and mis-information. i can fully understand that. The need to feel secure and the concurrent fear of the unknown are two of our most basic human qualities. Add to that, faulty information and time and again people will respond the way many in America did. However, we all should pay closer attention to history & current global events and also undergo whatever psychic transformation is necessary to accept once and for all that in the long-run, the safety and security of folks who live in the US and Europe is inexplicably tied to the safety and security of our planet and the rest of its inhabitants.

Every person deserves an opportunity to be home with their families and loved ones and as a human and an African, i need no further proof of the damage that power hungry, short-sighted, white-supremacist, and/or fear-inducing & fearful, warmongers have done and continue to do to the people of the world...themselves included.

i don't know about you, but i view myself as someone that has an impact on the world and in a sense (varies according to the issue at hand, but still) i help to control what happens to me and around me. Of course, we live in a world full of the unexpected but there is a connectedness that, although it is significantly forgotten and in some cases completely denied, remains as real to me as the words i am now typing. Call it Karma, call it god, call it the missing link...whatever it is, it dey! With that said, you as a soldier have some control over what you do and what part you play. Did you have to join the military? Whatever your motivations and however much you may feel you had no choice, the answer is no, you did not have to. Let's say you joined, did you have to go and fight in this war? Again, regardless of the reasoning the answer is an emphatic, no! Surely there would have been consequences and i am not trying to make light of your life's choices but again, with all that has happened in the world and continues to occur, to put yourself in a situation such as this and then have to assert that you are "...being criticized for something we had no control over" is a burden that you and far too many others are having to bear.

Lastly, in case u haven't noticed, this country and parts of Europe are still beating the war drums and if nothing is done to stop the frighteningly unwise decision-makers, this will only continue. So yes, if conversations such as this help people decide whether or not to oppose further death and destruction, den leh we talk...now, more than ever! Safe travels…

Last edited by Solidarity; 06-10-2003 at 12:48 AM..
Old 06-10-2003, 01:17 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 5,077
Dana, I think you ned to give us a little more credit, in my lil corner of the world, we are well aware that the war is not yet over. In fact, Bush’s actions have now made the world a lot more dangerous, not safer

Don’t get me wrong, I am not against YOU; I am also in the service and I understand your dilemma. However, conscience and common sense compels me to speak out, particularly since the repercussions of Bush’s actions are most certainly going to affect us at a time when the economy could do without that. but then, this is precisely what it is about – the expansion of multinational capitalism.

Dana, I know the ways in which the sites one visits can be monitored and I know that during wartime the military’s censors heavily excise information to and from the front. At the same time I cannot accept the view that “we may never know the real reason”, not with mass communication being what it is today. A visit to www.Trinicenter.com, or the sites of John Pilger and Tim Wise will quickly appraise one of the situation and, most importantly, the many previous examples that set the precedent for the military campaign currently underway (enter “Operation Northwoods” into a search engine and see what you get).

Anyway, from one person in uniform to another, be safe, remember your training and I hope you return to your family safely