Old 06-03-2003, 02:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

International Students Hold the key

They are the ones that manipulate the islands into letting them come here for a first class education and end up staying here working, instead of going back home to increase our gains. Barbados used to be good at getting our students to come back home but these days its rare that it happens. So basically we can't blame most countries when they don't give VISAS out cause the people leave, prosper and never come back. Is this a blueprint for advancement or are we pimping our countries?
Old 06-03-2003, 02:54 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 5,563
That is not a completely true statement. I agree that most students leaving Barbados to study overseas do stay overseas after they have graduated and start families, careers etc abroad. But if you look at the amount of returning national who are over 65 you will realize that these people left the island to build a better life and financially prosper but they were always intent on returning home after retirement. The students do return to the island (although it may be 25 - 30 years later)
The returning nationals are the ones who have the financial resources to stimulate the economy (check all the facking big ass wall houses in St. Philip and St. John) I know of a few people who went back to Bim after getting their degree and they tell me all kinds of horror stories about trying to find a job
Old 06-03-2003, 03:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

Its hard for fresh grads to find a job in bim because they go home looking for jobs that are equivalent for american standards when they are not. Someone has to set the standard. and carry example.. (fack de wall houses yuh idiot dem did always dey, u ass just see dah part ah bim yuh cunnie) but yeah this is what needs to happen to weed out the frauds in bim that been around for years
Old 06-03-2003, 03:02 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 1,721
hmmm...i think a few of us had this discussion in real talk recently. i think this situation of 'returning' home applies 2 every culture and not just caribbean related. but of course since this is a caribbean based website, :) , we can focus in on that. red pole, that is a true statement in terms of individuals returning years later (65 and up) who've had the country in their heart. i think what mbr (correct if wrong) is when 'our' people graduate to go back 'home' and work or help build the country that way. that we always have a fresh batch of young folks to help move and support the country in the resources of field it may need.

salt
Old 06-03-2003, 03:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
An Ivy of Class

Credits: 576
I for one believe in going back to the islands and contributing to their development. Presently, I am looking for a job in Trini in the real estate development field and have made significant strides. I did not come to this country for educational reasons, as I have been here since I was very young. However, I do not believe that this should stop me from wanting to go back home and contributing to it's economic development. I feel that people like myself and those on imix are what the islands need to forge ahead. Too many times, like you started our "brains" leave the islands and do not return until they are much older. Fine, they go home and build big houses or bring money in to purchase goods and services, but what about actually helping run the government or build infrastructure, or provide other services to these countries. I don't think when most of them return there at 55 or 60 they are thinking about working.

I, however, believe that there should be a drive by these governments to attract younger ex-patriates to the islands. There needs to be incentives for people to return home such as employment, benefits, housing, etc. Most people would not want to leave the US or England where they can live somewhat comfortably to go back to the islands to struggle.
Old 06-03-2003, 03:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
D'Only1

I agree with MBR. There are many of us who do not return to our country of birth to help contribute. However, the education that we get here, does it comply with the standards back home, or do we have to incorporate it and learn our way around. Is it easier to stay here and continue living the life here or go back home to adjust?

Classy I hear you on going back home and getting into the real estate field (which by the way I believe is developing nicely). Do you think the same standards apply there as it does to here?

I for one will love to be able to go back home and practice law(well first I have to get my butt out of school for that) but would it be the same? See my questions all revolve around the fact that the experience here may be different than back home.
Old 06-03-2003, 03:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
An Ivy of Class

Credits: 576
D,

There is no doubt that things are done differently here than in the islands. However, I think the adjustment can easily be made from the US to the Caribean than the other way around. In my field I don't think that things will be that dissimiliar but a matter of adjusting the the local rules and regulations in terms of R.E. development.

Why not take some of the systems and way of doing things that we have learned abroad and implement them in our islands. Because I for one believe that in Trini the systems they have in place are archaic and needs to be up to par with those of developing countries. There is absolutely no reason why our islands should be considered "third world" with all the resources that we have.
Old 06-03-2003, 03:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
D'Only1

Originally posted by classyivy1
D,

There is no doubt that things are done differently here than in the islands. However, I think the adjustment can easily be made from the US to the Caribean than the other way around. In my field I don't think that things will be that dissimiliar but a matter of adjusting the the local rules and regulations in terms of R.E. development.

Why not take some of the systems and way of doing things that we have learned abroad and implement them in our islands. Because I for one believe that in Trini the systems they have in place are archaic and needs to be up to par with those of developing countries. There is absolutely no reason why our islands should be considered "third world" with all the resources that we have.

Classy I hear you on the "third world" business. Its so weird that we are considered third world, but yet still our minerals and oil and tourist attractions make us beautiful. Who sets the standards. That is why we do need to focus on going back to our homelands and help it prosper. As for the adjustment, it was hard for me to adjust when I first came here, but even harder for me when I went back home for the first time, so I do think it goes hand in hand. Its a lesson to be learned all over again.
Old 06-03-2003, 05:09 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 2,719
MBR i agree with you 100%. Out of all the attorneys i studied with in law school who where fresh off the BWIA from UWI to come study at the University of Miami, only one (from Barbados) has gone back home. (he is doing really well to) Its called Brain Drain, however succeeding all depends on what career you pursue. I don't think Barbados or Trinidad has any opportunity for a nuclear physist or astronaut. However from my observation, particularity there are certain fields that are in high demand. For example, in Barbados i know there is a huge demand for Chartered accountants, this is because of the growing offshore banking and tax haven sector that the government is trying to build.

Tourism and Hospitality is also huge. Do you know large hotel chains are looking for people with degrees to run their hotels and restuarants.

In Trinidad i have met american ex-pats (yes Yankees) who work in the Natural Gas sector. Now why can't these jobs be filed by us.

So there are opportunities, however if you have to be wise about it and choose a course of study that is in demand.

Now as MBR noted, we cannot expect to go back home and make the salaries as the United States. There are very few countries that pay as well as the US. A lot of people are caught in a catch 22 (like me) well how can i take a huge pay cut with the student loan burden. So there are a many factors that weigh in.

But there are many things we can still do. Invest Invest Invest. Trinidad, Barbados and JA have active markets. Let use our money and rescourses to help out Auntie and Uncle with their stores etc. Buy one less outfit a month, save the money, invest back in your country.
Old 06-03-2003, 05:10 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 2,719
BTW - D'ONLY1

go get that law degree, the conversion course is only 6-9 months (they are planning to change it to 1 year) I am going to do it... You can do the conversion course in Trinidad, JA or Bahamas
Old 06-03-2003, 05:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
D'Only1

Originally posted by trinibaje
BTW - D'ONLY1

go get that law degree, the conversion course is only 6-9 months (they are planning to change it to 1 year) I am going to do it... You can do the conversion course in Trinidad, JA or Bahamas

thanks for the info Trinibaje. Did I tell you you are my imix inspiration.

Thanks.
Old 06-03-2003, 06:33 PM   #12 (permalink)
Steuuuupssss!

Credits: 6,255
Mr Black Rock...yeah, I hear what you are saying. Maybe there should be a program for all students whose education was funded by Governments of their original country to go home directly and serve a manditory 5yrs in their field of study immediately after graduation or something. Maybe that might help.
Old 06-03-2003, 07:05 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 5,633
Originally posted by tehressa
Mr Black Rock...yeah, I hear what you are saying. Maybe there should be a program for all students whose education was funded by Governments of their original country to go home directly and serve a manditory 5yrs in their field of study immediately after graduation or something. Maybe that might help.
That is what I am doing/on... and even if i wasn't on a "build a community" schol I would have headed back home right after. There are students here who have no intention of giving back and it irks me.. especially those who were granted 'schols" to attend school.

I think it does lie in us students out here to go back and help build our countries.... unless we start doing something then we would always be "third world".
Old 06-03-2003, 07:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
ToFwAm

Credits: 221
I agree totally with u'll. However, in some countries like mine there are no jobs for students who come out here to study. Right now in Guyana they don't even have jobs for students who graduating there. I plan to return, once I hold my Phd. in my hand. I intend to become a Professor @ the University of the West Indiese. My mother sent me a position the other day, for a Professor of Psychology (Counselling). She said something to keep in mind .

I also agree with trinibaje about not buying outfits and supporting ur family business/ get one started home. But that is something u really have to keep banging in their heads. Some people don't even wanna invest over here and every other day dem in something new. When hard times reach dem in trouble. She also mentioned investing, we need to invest in companies home, so that jobs can be created. I touched on that when MBR posted the thread on why we turning we nose and what is going on back home. People come here and get comfortable. I meet people who don't even want to hear about home. I know here is home, but sometimes the things u have to go through here, u wouldn't back home. It's only the economic status of our countries. Don't have to deal with half de stress.

U know wah, it's as we all know living here and home is far different. Once u've gotten use to the system here, I sometimes think that going home and getting into politics is gonna be different. Because the people are use to living one way and you know how some people will react to change.

Have a positive one u'll.

Remember to always keep LENT
L-LETS
E-ELIMINATE
N-NEGATIVE
T-THINKING

ALL AH WE TOGETHER AS ONE