Old 02-12-2005, 06:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Credits: 2,421
Question The IMF

Any thoughts ...
Old 02-12-2005, 06:39 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 24,371
run for cover, save your mama
Old 02-12-2005, 06:46 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 140,822
Originally Posted by PrEtt1BrWnEyEz
Any thoughts ...
In relation to what?
Old 02-12-2005, 06:51 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 14,229
the what???
Old 02-12-2005, 07:03 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by sharkbait
the what???
IMF=International Monetary Fund

http://www.imf.org/
Old 02-12-2005, 07:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
In relation to what?
Any thoughts at all...

Sharkie..The IMF (International Monetary Fund) is "an international organization of 184 member countries. It was established to promote international monetary cooperation, exchange stability, and orderly exchange arrangements; to foster economic growth and high levels of employment; and to provide temporary financial assistance to countries to help ease balance of payments adjustment"
Old 02-12-2005, 07:10 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 14,229
oh ok thanks guys.
Old 02-12-2005, 07:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Originally Posted by sharkbait
oh ok thanks guys.
I'm loving the new sig

But Vincy Powa you're right I guess I do have some idea of where exactly I wanted to go with this...the IMF as far as neocolonist implications...things along those lines...has it really aided in the Caribbean yada yada...

Last edited by SeReNDiPiTy; 02-12-2005 at 07:16 PM..
Old 02-12-2005, 07:44 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 782
Could ask has the IMF helped anyone but the major Western Banks and institutions?
Who makes the decisions as to who they should be helping?
Old 02-12-2005, 09:49 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by PrEtt1BrWnEyEz
I'm loving the new sig

But Vincy Powa you're right I guess I do have some idea of where exactly I wanted to go with this...the IMF as far as neocolonist implications...things along those lines...has it really aided in the Caribbean yada yada...
I do not BELIEVE the JAMAICAN government thinks HIGHLY of the IMF.
Old 02-13-2005, 12:04 AM   #11 (permalink)
Indianute

Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
I do not BELIEVE the JAMAICAN government thinks HIGHLY of the IMF.
the Jamaican govt loves the IMF because they can use the IMF as a scapegoat for why the country is so messed up. The bottom line in Jamaica is that coruption by the politians mash up di place. When the prime minister borrows 20 million dollars from a bank and the bank folds because the prime minister claims that he forgot to pay back the loan then you know tings bad. When the government borrows money from local drugloards you know things bad. Sure the IMF could be a strain on a small countries economy but corrupt politicians is a bigger strain.

The same money that the IMF lent Jamaica was used to buy politicians big house and car!.....trust me!
Old 02-13-2005, 12:17 AM   #12 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Originally Posted by Indianute
the Jamaican govt loves the IMF because they can use the IMF as a scapegoat for why the country is so messed up. The bottom line in Jamaica is that coruption by the politians mash up di place. When the prime minister borrows 20 million dollars from a bank and the bank folds because the prime minister claims that he forgot to pay back the loan then you know tings bad. When the government borrows money from local drugloards you know things bad. Sure the IMF could be a strain on a small countries economy but corrupt politicians is a bigger strain.

The same money that the IMF lent Jamaica was used to buy politicians big house and car!.....trust me!

Interesting
Old 03-01-2005, 02:17 AM   #13 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Guys I Need Some Help!!!!!!!!!!

I have a paper due in a little over a week I have pretty much done of the research I know what I want to talk about. The paper has to be 8 to 10 pages. I will be discussing the IMF, the US governemnt and the Caribbean.

Does anyone have any inklings on whether or not I should choose specific nations in the Caribbean, given that the paper has to be kind of long...

If so...which ones do you all think I should use as far as the best/worst examples of the US gov't & the IMF helping/hindering that particular nation...Jamaica is already on the list...

PLEASE ASSIST
Old 03-01-2005, 10:11 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 5,078
Pretty

I think that rather than focussing on one C'bean country, you should look at the IMF policies and how they affected the C'bbean in general. Highlight countries like J'ca and Guyana and show how their attempts at finding alternative ideologies were thwarted by concerted efforts of powers coming out of the IMF in tandem with the US State Dept and other agencies.

The monetary agencies created by Europe and the US were designed to keep what we now call developing countries -- particularly countries like those of the Caribbean that were created for the feeding of whatever insatiable whim was trendy in Europe and later the US in the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries up until WWII -- to bolster the economies of the metropole and to kep the former colonies underdeveloped and in a state of perpetual dependency. That is what needs to be pointed out and as forcefully as possible (which might mean yuh eh go get no damn degree)
Old 03-01-2005, 10:24 PM   #15 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Originally Posted by Ananci_7
Pretty

I think that rather than focussing on one C'bean country, you should look at the IMF policies and how they affected the C'bbean in general. Highlight countries like J'ca and Guyana and show how their attempts at finding alternative ideologies were thwarted by concerted efforts of powers coming out of the IMF in tandem with the US State Dept and other agencies.

The monetary agencies created by Europe and the US were designed to keep what we now call developing countries -- particularly countries like those of the Caribbean that were created for the feeding of whatever insatiable whim was trendy in Europe and later the US in the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries up until WWII -- to bolster the economies of the metropole and to kep the former colonies underdeveloped and in a state of perpetual dependency. That is what needs to be pointed out and as forcefully as possible (which might mean yuh eh go get no damn degree)
haha!