Old 10-27-2003, 12:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Credits: 16,074
Unhappy I'm very saddened by the spread of HIV in Trinidad

and this story might shed some light and explain why so many people are getting the virus.
I have a book that details the origin of the HIV virus, the reason for its being and the so-called "guinea pigs" it was first tested on. I have the scan the documents first, but HIV is something the inventors never expected to get so out of hand.....people please read this article and educate yourselves. Human beings are the worst creatures to ever dwell this earth, it's amazing some of the things we have done to each other, and for what? MONEY.....something that will still be here when we're all dead and gone.....
And men please consider your wives, girlfriends, children and everyone else when you decide to do your things behind closed doors with other men. Correct me if i'm wrong, but i have to agree with Willie when he says that men contribute to the spread of this virus. I've heard these stories so many times about married men and their gay lovers. (I know a gay man who spoke very openly about his married lover and how they were caught by his lover's wife in "their" bed on one occassion.) You really don't know who to trust these days, but i hope this article will up us open our eyes a little wider.

Fighter to the bone

By DAVID BREWSTER

IN 1985, if someone had told Willie he would have celebrated the new millennium, and in 2003 he would have been preparing for another Christmas season, he would have considered the person as crazy.

But here he is now, jovial 46-year-old Willie at his $150-a-month NHA apartment in Port of Spain, 17 years after testing positive for HIV, the virus which leads to Aids.

He was among the first 100 patients here who contracted the disease. There are only two survivors of the ill-fated batch. Willie and a man called Kim, now on a holiday in New York.

The 98 others are dead.

Apart from a pronounced limp, Willie, who is five feet six and weighs 148 pounds, looks reasonably healthy. Local doctors have connected the limp to ravages of HIV. But doctors in the USA diagnosed the ailment as a spinal injury, nothing whatsoever to do with the virus.

He said he has often failed to comply to the strict directions demanded in taking the urgently needed anti retro-viral drug used in the treatment of HIV.

Willie is also a heavy smoker, (a pack a day), and gobbles down a bottle of rum every two days, enough to bring out the wrath in Prof Courtenay Bartholomew, head of the Research Medical Centre in Port of Spain, where research and treatment of the virus is conducted daily.

The professor, an expert in HIV treatment, has repeatedly warned HIV victims that non-compliance could be disastrous since it could trigger out a strain resistance.

“The doctor gets vex with me when I miss, or don’t take it on time, but sometimes I really get fed,” said Willie, who has attributed his longevity to positive thinking, genes inherited from his Vincentian parents who had 16 children, daily exercise, vitamins, and the potent anti-retroviral drug Stocrin.

Willie has his life story on a cassette. He has always been gay, and never tried to conceal his sexual preferences.

“Look, I have been around,” said Willie, disclosing that he has survived syphilis and other venereal diseases, several jail sentences, and was once a popular drag queen around town. “Men use to bawl when I walk down the street,” he boasted.

Willie is also the father of a bright 11-year-old boy. And that was a “kind of mistake”, he said, elaborating on the night he had a sexual encounter with a woman while high on crack. The woman, a drug addict, got pregnant and bore him a son.

Willie was once a member of the Julie Edwards dance troupe.

He is unemployed, has no trade or profession, but gets by with a $650 a month disability grant from Government.

But the gist of Willie’s story is not based on hate or revenge, but it is a sordid expose from an insider of lifestyle in underprivileged areas around the city after dark.

Willie insists that the estimated 20,000 HIV cases in this country is a joke and could be twice that number. He is adamant Government doesn’t have a clear picture of the disease, which he insisted is “extremely common” in Port of Spain.

“It’s the women in this country that I am sorry for,” he said, blaming the average Trinidad male for the high incidence of the HIV cases.

Willie said that contrary to what people might think, he knows for a fact that HIV is being transmitted here mainly by bisexuals, and not heterosexual behaviour. Willie said it is time that the Trinidad woman face facts, that the average Trinidad male is far from being the macho man he pretends to be.

“I know. I have been around. I am sure that three out of five men around town have been involved in some homosexual activity at some time of their lives.

He said contrary to what people think, gay men usually have “straight men” as lovers. I was never that promiscuous but the three lovers I have had throughout my life were all, what you might call straight men,” he said, quickly adding that it was a so called “straight man” (long dead), a rastafarian who infected him with the disease.

“Most of my gay friends, if not all, are involved with married men who have several children. These men, some of them are prominent citizens, CEOs, lawyers, high ranking police officers...the works and they are very clever in concealing their alternative lifestyles, he said.

“You see,” Willie was at pains to explain, “we gay men don’t really like gay men. We like straight, handsome upright men. We see them as pillars of strength. We like them to treat us as women. Now the gays are inclined to treat their own kind in a feminine manner,” he said.

Willie elaborated on the growing incidence of “hate rape” among men, describing it as “heterosexuals” who rove around at night enticing gays into their cars and then raping them.

“I know. It happened to a friend of mine (name withheld) who was raped by three men who offered him a lift. I almost got into the car, but backed out at the last minute. It was they who infected him with the virus and he died from it five years ago. They hate homosexuals and vent their hatred by raping them. It’s really scary. It is common in Jamaica and it is growing here,” he related.

Willie lashed out at the attitude of several magistrates who dish out sentences to young offenders for committing petty larceny, or being in possession of marijuana. He described Trinidad prison as a hell house, where rape, sodomy and other unspeakable crimes are committed daily against young men unable to protect themselves.

“I know of many youngsters who were raped in jail, and ended up with the HIV virus. Most of these young fellows who were attacked by seasoned criminals. They were actually set up by gay and wicked prison officers. Please I am appealing to you magistrates, think twice before you send a young man to jail. You are not only jailing him, but you are sentencing him to be infected with HIV,” Willie pleaded.

Willie warned woman to be wary of husbands and boyfriends, pointing out that being a big favourite with the girls is most likely a cover-up.

“If you think your man is being unfaithful, their is a possibility that it could be with a man...not a woman”.

Willie continued: “My advice to women in doubt is to look out for a dramatic change in sex technique. You see gay men are far superior lovers than women. We could teach you all (women) a think or two about love making.

“If you notice that your husband has showed a sudden improvement in love making...watch out. If you notice a change in pattern, like coming to bed with a bowl of ice, a bottle of champagne, and an abundance of compliments, the chances are that he picked up these valuable hints from his male lover, not a woman,” he said.

Willie said he is far from ready to meet his Maker and was depending on Stocrin and his outlook on life to keep the virus at bay.

“Stocrin was extremely toxic at the beginning. It made me so high that I could hardly walk. Now I am coping with it,” he said.

He said that he is still praying for the cure which doctors believe could be here in a decade. “I’ll be about 56 then. Still young. Maybe I’ll live long enough to see my great-grandchildren. I am not only a Trini to the bone, but a fighter to the bone,” he said.

In the meantime, Willie, who said he loves the Christmas season with a passion, is very busy these days, preparing for another Merry Christmas.

“Sex is very beautiful, just be very, very, careful” was his parting message.

Last edited by Val3nie2debone; 10-27-2003 at 01:11 PM..
Old 10-27-2003, 01:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
TaChe

Credits: 285
You are so right , i have lost so many friends because of HIV
When will it stop?
Old 10-27-2003, 01:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Originally posted by rictash
You are so right , i have lost so many friends because of HIV
When will it stop?
I think the first step to at least slowing down the spread of this virus is "Straight Men" need to stop frontin about their sexuality and be honest with themselves and their female partners. I really wish i had the book handy for you guys to really understand this HIV/AIDS problem. When I think about the origin of this disease i get sick to my stomach......
Old 10-27-2003, 01:12 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 121
A disease like this being so prevalent and uncontrolled, the best bet for our bothers and sister is Prevention.....

knowledge of what is out there and preventative behavior such as protection, no matter of sexual preference, can have a dramatic favorable out come

Last edited by arubian_gold; 10-27-2003 at 01:20 PM..
Old 10-27-2003, 01:43 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 5,605
Originally posted by arubian_gold
A disease like this being so prevalent and uncontrolled, the best bet for our bothers and sister is Prevention.....

knowledge of what is out there and preventative behavior such as protection, no matter of sexual preference, can have a dramatic favorable out come
Exactly what it is.. people need to start using protection... it ent even about thinking about other people.. think about yourself nah...steups....
Old 10-27-2003, 01:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
He loves me!

Credits: 737
Originally posted by bunjigarlindarlin
Exactly what it is.. people need to start using protection... it ent even about thinking about other people.. think about yourself nah...steups....
yup yup..but some ppl..does geh juice up with de idea..ohh it doh feel de same..with it on...
leh dem stay dey... is either rubber..or salt..
Old 10-27-2003, 02:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Well I agree with you guys when you say Prevention/Protection is the best approach. But what about women who are married to men and not know of their sexual preferences (when it comes to dem being with other men on the DL?) these women are not thinking that they have to use protection with their husbands.

Last edited by Val3nie2debone; 10-28-2003 at 11:20 AM..
Old 10-27-2003, 02:42 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 132
Originally posted by Val3nie2debone
Well I agree with you guys when you say Prevention is the best approach. But what about women who are married to men and not know of their sexual preferences (when it comes to dem being with other men on the DL?) these women are not thinking that they have to use protection with their husbands.
Yuh see dat..dat is de scaring ting right there!! And yuh would be surprised at how many married women are in denial about dey husbands being on de DL..I've met some couples whose husbands are OBVIOUSLY on the DL..but de women walking around like dey ent have ah clue..steups! Granted..what woman would want to admit that the possibility exists that her man is bi-sexual?
Old 10-27-2003, 06:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Quiet one

Credits: 198
I think this is the reason and time for women to be strong and demand that their partners wear condoms. I don't understand why women can ask for everything they want ie:Money,shopping spree,nails and hair done but when it comes to protecting themselves they don't know how to say can u put this on please and be adamant about it. I've heard so many things, he wouldn't like that or he said it doesn't feel the same the whole she bang but u know this is the time for us to be selfish cause we can't trust anybody but ourselves.
Old 10-28-2003, 02:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 24,105
Yes, it is very sad. People need to realize that sex is a serious issue. Use protection if you intend on engaging in it...and know your partner.
Old 10-28-2003, 05:43 PM   #11 (permalink)

hiv in T&T

It is really a saddening case in T&T, this HIV virus. Very, very scary. I have been single for 4yrs now after a 7yr relationship which has now ended good riddance. I'm not excited to start another anytime soon. I don't really believe that condoms really protect u from the disease, it's just a precautionary measure.
Just abstain! when u play with fire you'll get burn.
Old 10-29-2003, 07:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
ToFwAm

Credits: 220
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, this is me tonight, just hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.
Good reading material

To the person that said when will it stop, what were u reffering to HIV/the spread of it. No time soon hun, dat naw stop for just now. Cause people are hard ears and irresponsible. Thinking that it cannot happen to them. I guess it has alot to do with the fact that people r living longer with the virus these days. However they don't know what some people have to go through, cause due to the fact that our immune systems are different, the medications does not work for everyone and some people have to change their regimen often, which can result in an increase of their viral load. Also these medications have side effects, u have to take it on an empty stomach/ full stomach. Some people have to take as much as 14/more tablets per day.

I don't think a lot of people have realized/ understand the depth of HIV/AIDS. I don't think it's a reality for some people as yet. U know they have HIV chases, people who wanna get the Virus.

I always get teary. I just don't get it sometimes.

Just be very careful. get ur partner tested, wear ur condoms, female and male. If he talks about u not loving him / don't trust him because u want to wear a condom. Tell him straight up, u have to, it's for u. IF U DON'T TAKE CARE/LOOK OUT FOR U NO ONE ELSE WOULD. LOVE URSELF ENOUGH TO PROTECT URSELF.

Go visit people who r on their death bed with this virus.
Get to know people living with the virus and u'll see.
It's not something to play around with.

Love u'll
Old 10-30-2003, 11:20 AM   #13 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Originally posted by Calabash
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, this is me tonight, just hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.
Good reading material

To the person that said when will it stop, what were u reffering to HIV/the spread of it. No time soon hun, dat naw stop for just now. Cause people are hard ears and irresponsible. Thinking that it cannot happen to them. I guess it has alot to do with the fact that people r living longer with the virus these days. However they don't know what some people have to go through, cause due to the fact that our immune systems are different, the medications does not work for everyone and some people have to change their regimen often, which can result in an increase of their viral load. Also these medications have side effects, u have to take it on an empty stomach/ full stomach. Some people have to take as much as 14/more tablets per day.

I don't think a lot of people have realized/ understand the depth of HIV/AIDS. I don't think it's a reality for some people as yet. U know they have HIV chases, people who wanna get the Virus.

I always get teary. I just don't get it sometimes.

Just be very careful. get ur partner tested, wear ur condoms, female and male. If he talks about u not loving him / don't trust him because u want to wear a condom. Tell him straight up, u have to, it's for u. IF U DON'T TAKE CARE/LOOK OUT FOR U NO ONE ELSE WOULD. LOVE URSELF ENOUGH TO PROTECT URSELF.

Go visit people who r on their death bed with this virus.
Get to know people living with the virus and u'll see.
It's not something to play around with.

Love u'll

Calabash:
I agree with everything you say, very good comments. I never thought about visiting people with the disease to actually get a better understanding of the importance of educating myself about it. I think a lot of people really need to do that esp. the HIV chasers you mentioned....i cant believe there are actually people that sick and crazy. I think visiting people with the virus is a good idea and i'm even thinking about being part of any group that is there to help these people.
Old 10-30-2003, 03:12 PM   #14 (permalink)

you brought up a very good point, calabash, people out there dont realize the depth of this disease and the consequences that go along with living with it. Being careful and getting you and partner tested can only increase our awareness and aid in the fight against this disease.
The idea of visiting sick people on death bed and maybe just hearing their story..... very powerful ....the taught is emotionally overwellming.....
Old 10-31-2003, 12:02 AM   #15 (permalink)
ToFwAm

Credits: 220
Val, there are alot of organizations around that are out there to help people living with the virus and prevention education. Search the internet/ ask around where u live for organizations who are dealing with the said population. If u live in ny there are alot. If u live in ny. I need help on a project I will be working on. So let me know, u can come on board with us. Anybody else who is intereted in outreach, pm me and let me know.

DO STICK, PUT UR CONDOM ON BEFORE U GET UR GROOVE ON.