Old 03-23-2005, 12:09 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 685
I can't believe it's still happening in my generation

I'm chilling with friends of mine and ting, and we talking about how black people used to categorize themselves by skin color and race. Me and one of my other bredrens just talking about how messed up that was and we glad, we more educated in this generation. And then, what do I hear but one of these girls (I don't even like this chic either) starts talking about how she wants a light skin man so her kids will come out with pretty hair and light skin. I was so shocked cause I couldn't believe someone in my generation still thought like that. But then, I wrote it off cuz whatever, it's just one girl. I go to school the next day and a next girl tells me how a friend she knows pissed her off. Why ? Because she told my friend (who is dark skinned) how she could never date a dark skin man because it would mess up her children. And these are university educated students in 2005. WTF is going on with my people ? And from what I understand, they have many more who think the exact same way. U still have black men chasing light skinned girls just cuz they light skinned. U still have black women chasing light skinned men cuz they have "good hair" and light skin. I'm disgusted to my soul to know that even in my generation, people still believe in this bull$hit.
Old 03-23-2005, 12:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Unregistered User

Credits: 632
Yes, sad to say but there are still shallow-minded individuals among us. I have a cousin who refuses to date any woman who is darker than butter.
Old 03-23-2005, 01:32 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 6,454
No offence but u need to wake up to reality its not all peaches in the world

An us as a people are destryed for a lack of knowledge.
Old 03-23-2005, 01:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 25,211
Originally Posted by small_island_descent
I'm chilling with friends of mine and ting, and we talking about how black people used to categorize themselves by skin color and race. Me and one of my other bredrens just talking about how messed up that was and we glad, we more educated in this generation. And then, what do I hear but one of these girls (I don't even like this chic either) starts talking about how she wants a light skin man so her kids will come out with pretty hair and light skin. I was so shocked cause I couldn't believe someone in my generation still thought like that. But then, I wrote it off cuz whatever, it's just one girl. I go to school the next day and a next girl tells me how a friend she knows pissed her off. Why ? Because she told my friend (who is dark skinned) how she could never date a dark skin man because it would mess up her children. And these are university educated students in 2005. WTF is going on with my people ? And from what I understand, they have many more who think the exact same way. U still have black men chasing light skinned girls just cuz they light skinned. U still have black women chasing light skinned men cuz they have "good hair" and light skin. I'm disgusted to my soul to know that even in my generation, people still believe in this bull$hit.
This is so much more common than you think. I know people who think like this. This mentality isn't going anywhere.
Old 03-23-2005, 01:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
bigbootyjo

For real, u really need to wake up!@! This been going on for years. Now in many areas, its all kinds of things. But that right there is common.
Old 03-23-2005, 08:39 AM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by saveoursoca
No offence but u need to wake up to reality its not all peaches in the world

An us as a people are destryed for a lack of knowledge.
Okay, for u to even think that I think the world is all peaches is crazy. Yeah, I know that kind of ignorance exists. And if anything, it's not me that needs to wake up. Tell them ignorant azz people who friggin think that wavier hair and lighter skin grants them any benefits in life to wake up. In Toronto, I used to go to an 97 % white school. Very few people of colour in any class I was in. However, the blacks we did have were in all different shades. And not once, was colour an issue with any of the blacks in that school because we realized that no matter what shade u were, u were different. Hell, they had mixed guys in my grade and we had no issue, no talk about what skin complexion means what, we saw each other as the same. And probably the biggest reason why is cuz those white kids didn't see lightskinned, darkskinned, medium skinned, good hair, bad hair or whatever else, all they saw was BLACK, and that's only the really nice ones. The not so nice ones saw n!ggers and weren't afraid to tell u it either. So then, to leave that school where no difference was seen by others and then to hear black people talking about skin color making them better or worse and the concept of good and bad hair threw me off so much cuz from what I learned, any hair with curls was nappy black hair, anyone who had black features was black, even the mixed kids were black. Up till now, I still don't know what de frig "good" and "bad" hair is and what is the big issue between dark skin and light skin and to be honest, I don't even want to know.

And see, at least the older folks have an excuse, they grew up in much more racist times, the caribbean wasn't independent and were still colonies, there were no extremely powerful black power movement, information on ur race was hard to find and whatever else. But for young people, people who didn't grow up in colonies, people who have access to black history and the greatness of black people, to have these same retarded views is beyond me. That's what I mean when I say I can't believe it is still happening. It's not that I lived in a land of milk and honey before and had never heard of it in my life. It's that I look at the position blacks are in now compared to before and I'm like for us to still be that ignorant and self hateful is unbelievable.
Old 03-23-2005, 08:48 AM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by bigbootyjo
For real, u really need to wake up!@! This been going on for years. Now in many areas, its all kinds of things. But that right there is common.
Again, out of all of this, why should I be the one to wake up. I should be damn right shocked that my people still encouraging this type of ignorance. I shouldn't be something I should have to wake up to and accept. I don't accept it, I don't wanna wake up to it. FUCC that, my people done came too far and done too much to have people still look at their blackness as something wrong. Like having dark kids is bad for them or some type of family illness that should be avoided. It makes me so sick, u can't even imagine.
Old 03-23-2005, 03:37 PM   #8 (permalink)

I see exactly what u are saying but u soundeduprised thats y i said what i said. I guess it was more anger than ignorance> Ur right.
Actually there is a reason to this way of thinking and i goes back to slavery and it is going on in front our faces with theses tv shows we watch.
The majority of "black" kids on TV are light skinned and have this straigh hair etc. Making those of us with lesser understanding (young ones) think that this is better. If its not white then they can take on this image or would want thier kids to be this image. Not realizing as u said to them we are all just the same.

There is a letter written by a slave master from the west indies and in this letter he describes how he is able to control his slaves better than the ones in the US. It is a form of divide and conquer. Give me a few days to dig it up and I will post it and show u how much his philosophy has worked.
Old 03-25-2005, 11:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ah who tell yuh

Credits: 122
Originally Posted by small_island_descent
Okay, for u to even think that I think the world is all peaches is crazy. Yeah, I know that kind of ignorance exists. And if anything, it's not me that needs to wake up. Tell them ignorant azz people who friggin think that wavier hair and lighter skin grants them any benefits in life to wake up. In Toronto, I used to go to an 97 % white school. Very few people of colour in any class I was in. However, the blacks we did have were in all different shades. And not once, was colour an issue with any of the blacks in that school because we realized that no matter what shade u were, u were different. Hell, they had mixed guys in my grade and we had no issue, no talk about what skin complexion means what, we saw each other as the same. And probably the biggest reason why is cuz those white kids didn't see lightskinned, darkskinned, medium skinned, good hair, bad hair or whatever else, all they saw was BLACK, and that's only the really nice ones. The not so nice ones saw n!ggers and weren't afraid to tell u it either. So then, to leave that school where no difference was seen by others and then to hear black people talking about skin color making them better or worse and the concept of good and bad hair threw me off so much cuz from what I learned, any hair with curls was nappy black hair, anyone who had black features was black, even the mixed kids were black. Up till now, I still don't know what de frig "good" and "bad" hair is and what is the big issue between dark skin and light skin and to be honest, I don't even want to know.

And see, at least the older folks have an excuse, they grew up in much more racist times, the caribbean wasn't independent and were still colonies, there were no extremely powerful black power movement, information on ur race was hard to find and whatever else. But for young people, people who didn't grow up in colonies, people who have access to black history and the greatness of black people, to have these same retarded views is beyond me. That's what I mean when I say I can't believe it is still happening. It's not that I lived in a land of milk and honey before and had never heard of it in my life. It's that I look at the position blacks are in now compared to before and I'm like for us to still be that ignorant and self hateful is unbelievable.

You actually have to think of how we live nowadays. Eventhough people are educated it doesn't mean they let go of these idiotic views of beauty. Think of it how many dark-skinned women do you see on television commericals and magazine. When I say dark I mean dark not cocobrown complexions. The only time you see a really dark-skinned woman in a magazine is if it's Elle magazine or some other magazine with a lot of supermodels. The next thing that happens is when you see a dark-skinned woman in Elle she's there because they think she is "EXOTIC" What does that mean? The bottom line is we as society are driven by what others tell us is beautful. Black people included. For centuries, we as a people have allowed others to dictate what is beautiful. This won't change. I know guys who won't even look at a dark-skinned woman because in their minds she's not pretty enough because she's dark. I hate to say it but this will always be a part of our existence as people of color.
Old 03-25-2005, 11:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ah who tell yuh

Originally Posted by saveoursoca
I see exactly what u are saying but u soundeduprised thats y i said what i said. I guess it was more anger than ignorance> Ur right.
Actually there is a reason to this way of thinking and i goes back to slavery and it is going on in front our faces with theses tv shows we watch.
The majority of "black" kids on TV are light skinned and have this straigh hair etc. Making those of us with lesser understanding (young ones) think that this is better. If its not white then they can take on this image or would want thier kids to be this image. Not realizing as u said to them we are all just the same.

There is a letter written by a slave master from the west indies and in this letter he describes how he is able to control his slaves better than the ones in the US. It is a form of divide and conquer. Give me a few days to dig it up and I will post it and show u how much his philosophy has worked.
Did you get to post the letter yet? I know about the letter but I can't remember who wrote it.
Old 03-25-2005, 11:59 AM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by rootznculture
Did you get to post the letter yet? I know about the letter but I can't remember who wrote it.

Ive been looking for it up to last night
I didnt tnink it would be as hard as it is
I dont remember the name either but I still have a couple people to check to help me
The letter is so on point I relly want to get it posted
Old 03-25-2005, 12:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ah who tell yuh

I'll back here periodically for the link or whatever you can find.
Old 03-25-2005, 12:17 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by rootznculture
I'll back here periodically for the link or whatever you can find.

sounds good
Old 04-20-2005, 07:39 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 23
the black woman is the strenght of the world

Originally Posted by sk gyal
Yes, sad to say but there are still shallow-minded individuals among us. I have a cousin who refuses to date any woman who is darker than butter.
someone need to tell him what he is missing black women r the best
Old 04-27-2005, 05:59 PM   #15 (permalink)

SId
it took me awhile but i found one of his speeches U can look up some more about his ideas wiht his name William Lynch.
I find he was very much on point with his idea and it is still working today as he predicted as long as 300yrs into the future
Tell me what u think..

appearing in "Brother Man- The Odyssey of Black Men in America- An Anthology" Lynch was a British slave owner in the West Indies who came to the United States to tell American slave owners how to keep their slaves under control. It is believed that the term "lynching" is derived from Lynch's name.

Check out this 140-minute video and half-day presentation

"Gentlemen, I greet you here on the bank of the James River in the year of our Lord one thousand seven hundred and twelve. First, I shall thank you, the gentlemen of the Colony of Virginia, for bringing me here. I am here to help you solve some of your problems with slaves. Your invitation reached me on my modest plantation in the West Indies where I have experimented with some of the newest and still the oldest methods of control of slaves.

Ancient Rome would envy us if my program were implemented. As our boat sailed south on the James River, named for our illustrious King, whose version of the Bible we cherish. I saw enough to know that your problem is not unique. While Rome used cords of woods as crosses for standing human bodies along its highways in great numbers you are here using the tree and the rope on occasion.

I caught the whiff of a dead slave hanging from a tree a couple of miles back. You are not only losing a valuable stock by hangings, you are having uprisings, slaves are running away, your crops are sometimes left in the fields too long for maximum profit, you suffer occasional fires, your animals are killed.

Gentlemen, you know what your problems are: I do not need to elaborate. I am not here to enumerate your problems, I am here to introduce you to a method of solving them. In my bag here, I have a fool proof method for controlling your Black slaves. I guarantee everyone of you that if installed correctly it will control the slaves for at least 300 hundred years. My method is simple. Any member of your family or your oversee r can use it.

I have outlined a number of differences among the slaves: and I take these differences and make them bigger. I use fear, distrust, and envy for control purposes. These methods have worked on my modest plantation in the West Indies and it will work throughout the South. Take this simple little list of differences, and think about them.

On top of my list is "Age", but it is there only because it starts with an "A": the second is "Color" or shade, there is intelligence, size, sex, size of plantations, status on plantation, attitude of owners, whether the slave live in the valley, on hill, East, West, North, South, have fine hair, coarse hair, or is tall or short. Now that you have a list of differences. I shall give you an outline of action-but before that I shall assure you that distrust is stronger than trust and envy is stronger than adulation, respect, or admiration.

The Black slave after receiving this indoctrination shall carry on and will become self re-fueling and self generating for hundreds of years, maybe thousands. Don't forget you must pitch the old Black male vs. the young Black male, and the young Black male against the old Black male. You must use the dark skin slaves vs. the light skin slaves and the light skin slaves vs. the dark skin slaves. You must use the female vs. the male, and the male vs. the female. You must also have your white servants and overseers distrust all Blacks, but it is necessary that your slaves trust and depend on us. They must love, respect and trust only us.

Gentlemen, these kits are your keys to control. Use them. Have your wives and children use them, never miss an opportunity. If used intensely for one year, the slaves themselves will remain perpetually distrustful. Thank you, gentlemen