Old 11-29-2005, 07:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Fam Congo

Credits: 13,950
how much freedom do we really have.

i was having lunch with a friend just now, and we startign discussing the state of the world. she believed that we are at a point that things can't no longer be changed and we are doomed. i disagreed with her point of view because i think if citizens would unite for things that matters to them, they will have things their ways.

anyway the conversation turned about God and how everything that happens is suppose to happen. so this is my question: how much choice do we really have since according to her thinking that anything that happens is God's decision?
Old 11-29-2005, 08:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
RasYardHindian

Credits: 356
Originally Posted by soraya
i was having lunch with a friend just now, and we startign discussing the state of the world. she believed that we are at a point that things can't no longer be changed and we are doomed. i disagreed with her point of view because i think if citizens would unite for things that matters to them, they will have things their ways.

anyway the conversation turned about God and how everything that happens is suppose to happen. so this is my question: how much choice do we really have since according to her thinking that anything that happens is God's decision?
We determine our own fate...

ever heard about Karma?
Old 11-29-2005, 10:16 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 6,443
Originally Posted by soraya

U care to show where this uniting is taking place. If it ever will take place or if it ever did take place.
Old 11-29-2005, 11:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Key

Credits: 1,041
What SS said.

We determine our own fate b/c things go in cycles - universal law.
Old 11-30-2005, 04:45 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 6,443
qos and ss
Ill be simple here but if a car comes up and smacks a newborn baby and that baby dies. Is trhat baby controlling its fate?

Where did that karma come from? Its a new born so we cant say what goes around comes around in that case can we?
Old 11-30-2005, 09:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 6,410
Cool

Originally Posted by saveoursoca
qos and ss
Ill be simple here but if a car comes up and smacks a newborn baby and that baby dies. Is trhat baby controlling its fate?

Where did that karma come from? Its a new born so we cant say what goes around comes around in that case can we?
So what are you saying??
We control our own fate/destiny, but that doesn't mean that our CHOICES don't affect other people's lives.
Old 11-30-2005, 09:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
The Key

qos and ss

Babies can't choose nor control their fate. They are already pure until the ability to reason develops.

"Well, the biggest man you ever did see was - was just a baby. In this life." - Comin In From The Cold, Bob Marley

Last edited by Light360; 11-30-2005 at 10:03 AM..
Old 11-30-2005, 10:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 868
Originally Posted by Simple Simon
We determine our own fate...

ever heard about Karma?
I heard she walks with a heavy hand and can back slap you in aminute if you don't pay attention to how you're living your life.

Thats what I heard.

In any event, I agree. Fate is what you make of it.
Old 11-30-2005, 10:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
RasYardHindian

Originally Posted by kevlocks
I heard she walks with a heavy hand and can back slap you in aminute if you don't pay attention to how you're living your life.

Thats what I heard.

you heard right..
Old 11-30-2005, 10:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
The Key

Originally Posted by kevlocks

Thats what I heard.

Fuh Real!
Old 11-30-2005, 10:59 AM   #11 (permalink)
RasYardHindian

Originally Posted by Queen of Sanity
What SS said.
We determine our own fate b/c things go in cycles - universal law.
Originally Posted by Soca Taliban
So what are you saying??
We control our own fate/destiny, but that doesn't mean that our CHOICES don't affect other people's lives.
qos and ss

SOS all good points ....

cycles are part of universal law and our choices do affect other people's lives ; after all we arent alone (as individuals) in the universe.

Karma is action. In your example of the baby you have at least 3 forces of Karma involved. That of the driver, the baby and ther person pushing the stroller...do you agree?
do you agree that the person pushing the stroller is in control of the baby? So would you say his/her actions determine that of the baby?

your book of choice illustrates this law - do unto other as they do unto you..
the saying what goes around comes around....
the Sanskrit idea of the mandala,
the Carl Jung Idea of mandala - the self and inner harmony..
the North American Indians and their circles of worship...etc