Old 04-13-2005, 04:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
MyPerfumedGarden

Credits: 136
How can we make them come together?

What will end the divisions between indo-trinidadians/guyanese and afro-trinidadians/guyanese? Trinidad will not be able to grow as a nation if its politics remain race driven. One would think that our shared histories and shared struggles would unite the two major ethnicities but obviously not. Hell, with all the racial mixing that's gone on in the last century how can we still be so sepratist?
Old 04-14-2005, 05:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Steuuuupssss!

Credits: 6,242
Originally Posted by PerfumedGarden
What will end the divisions between indo-trinidadians/guyanese and afro-trinidadians/guyanese? Trinidad will not be able to grow as a nation if its politics remain race driven. One would think that our shared histories and shared struggles would unite the two major ethnicities but obviously not. Hell, with all the racial mixing that's gone on in the last century how can we still be so sepratist?

yuh know, I am from Trinidad and Tobago, and for the first time in my life, not once but twice this week did I hear of a feud between us and Guyana....I think some folks a dreaming!!!!
Old 04-14-2005, 08:38 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 24,372
Originally Posted by TehrryCherry
yuh know, I am from Trinidad and Tobago, and for the first time in my life, not once but twice this week did I hear of a feud between us and Guyana....I think some folks a dreaming!!!!
i think she was relating to the feud between races not countries
Old 04-14-2005, 10:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Steuuuupssss!

Credits: 6,242
Originally Posted by Oneshot
i think she was relating to the feud between races not countries

Or hore! Could very well be!
Old 04-14-2005, 11:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 25,263
Originally Posted by PerfumedGarden
Honestly the way I see it is polticians and governments are the ones that perpetuate these ill feelings. I also think economics play a role in the tension between the two groups. I can comment for Guyana when i say the blacks and Indians interact with each other on a daily basis because they have to in order to survive. It really starts at the top.In Guyana i also feel that the current government is attempting to create stronger ties with India. Many blacks feel this is causing Guy. to become too "indianized" they want to continue to forge stronger bonds with the Caribbean with whom they feel they share a common culture with rather than India which to most blacks is a world away with a "foreign culture".