Credits: 1,078
Freedom of Speech....
..I have seen this debated on a couple of different occasions and felt it needed to be brought back up....
Is there a line between freedom of speech and infringement on someone else's rights? Is there ever a time that the use of freedom of speech is overboard? |
Credits: 1,720
Re: Freedom of Speech....
aloha sunshine,
in this country every individual is 'entitled' to freedom of speech, but we c it censored constantly. mostly 4 good reasons though. some examples: a) ppl playin de a$$ in de cinema bawling out 'FIRE' and there isn't one. in the process of evacuating the cinema ppl can get hurt so do we scold or punish the inviduals for this or is that their rite 2 freedom of speech? b) 2 co-workers male and female and the male makes sexual remarks to the female (happens all the time). the male gets fired or disciplined, but isn't it his rite 2 freedom of speech? c) racist remarks 2 another individual and blah blah u c where i'm going. so in this country or the world 4 that extent there is no absolute true freedom of speech w/ out ramifications 2 be followed. every1 has the rite of xpression (at least in some countries), howeva, when it infringes on some1 else's well being problems occur. salt |
Credits: 701
In any democratic society the rights of the majority supercede the rights of the individual, so in reality freedom of speech has it's limitations.
Dat said, some people like tuh abuse authority...and some others skin too damn thin. I gone. |
not so happy to be happy
Credits: 188
Re: Re: Freedom of Speech....
Credits: 1,720
Re: Re: Re: Freedom of Speech....
a resolution will be very tricky. it sure in hell sounds pretty ballsy to tell ppl who are used too and have the rite 2 freedom of speech to start biting their tongue. it's safe to say one can alwayz have total freeedom of speech in their minds and when alone, but then again what would be the point of that rite? as i mentioned b4 as long as whateva an individual says does not personally attack, endanger, or degrade another, most problems could cease there. on the contrary, if an individual makes a comment and does not feel it is derogatory and some1 else gets offended, whatz the resolution? that is really just the tip of the iceberg for several other problems. unless the world fell under a global umbrella of laws 4 its earthlings, then there will be no such thing as 'total' freedom of speech. at least i don't think so. salt |
I agree that there is no "total" freedom of speech outside the confines of your home!
If it is derogartory or infringes upon another's rights then you should be mindful of that and either curb your tongue or prepare for the wrath that you will receive... Honestly there are people that hide behind "freedom of speech" in order to get away with malicious talk and then when they get the wrath of the results try to then pull that person's "freedom of speech". As they say.."do so, but doh like so"! |
Credits: 1,105
This is an issue that I'm battling right now as I'm preparing the content for the first issue of the magazine.
I'm trying to strike a fair balance between the people's right to information, and the subject's right to privacy. I can tell you that it is very subjective, but when I interview people I always try to respect their wishes and not print certain information, as long as it isn't part of a scandal. I think in terms of the government's point of view, freedom of speech becomes an issue when it affects the nation's security or is perceived as a threat to the masses. But in post 9/11 society, we're seeing more instances where "freedom of speech" is being marginalized when it doesn't conform to the popular view. |
Topclass:
That's right! Fighting and drawing the line between freedom of speech and invasion of privacy will be your life from this point on with the magazine! I wish you luck in that...because it will not be easy..AND yuh won't be able to please everybody ![]() |