Old 07-23-2005, 08:18 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 21,822
Former US Slaves say ONLY Blacks should own land in their African Homeland

They were treated so badly in the US not being allowed to own land etc..........that they wrote that Law into their Constitution to Protect Future generations:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/africa/4703029.stm
Old 07-23-2005, 08:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
LGN
Phuck arf nuh man!!

Credits: 1,664
Originally Posted by marabunta
They were treated so badly in the US not being allowed to own land etc..........that they wrote that Law into their Constitution to Protect Future generations:
WOW. only 4,000 and they have so much power they really got the blacks with food companies bring in the food. They could kill them wid that! then again what happening there could happen in the caribbean if we're not careful
Old 07-23-2005, 08:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 25,256
I want to comment on this soo much but Ah really doan have the words right now................
Old 07-23-2005, 10:05 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 24,369
as much as i support them.. i say let them people citzens why because we will have history repeat itself.. IDI AMIN..
Old 07-24-2005, 11:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
como el lindo clave

Credits: 5,009
semi related stuff happening in zimbabwe and south africa.....

http://news.yahoo.com/s/chitribts/wh...NlYwMlJVRPUCUl
Old 07-24-2005, 11:48 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 32
Thumbs down Well................

the german and japanese have the similar strict rules for citizenship! The only difference is that those societies make do with much less natural resources than Liberia! That facts are that if certain African, Asian, Caribbean, Pacific and South American nation do not get there act together, they will dependent on foriegners just like the Liberians! Giving citizenship based upon race is just plain wrong! If anyones disagrees with me then just think if it was the USA, UK or any other western Euro-nation the cries of racism would be shouted as loud as possible. Sad but true! Giving the Lebanese citizenship will not effect the voting block of Afro-American Liberians (you know the US goverment brought the slaves back and freed them there....without considerations for the local/native tribes in the area! )!
Old 07-26-2005, 12:16 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 5,078
Originally Posted by bds4
the german and japanese have the similar strict rules for citizenship! The only difference is that those societies make do with much less natural resources than Liberia! That facts are that if certain African, Asian, Caribbean, Pacific and South American nation do not get there act together, they will dependent on foriegners just like the Liberians! Giving citizenship based upon race is just plain wrong! If anyones disagrees with me then just think if it was the USA, UK or any other western Euro-nation the cries of racism would be shouted as loud as possible. Sad but true! Giving the Lebanese citizenship will not effect the voting block of Afro-American Liberians (you know the US goverment brought the slaves back and freed them there....without considerations for the local/native tribes in the area! )!
Bds4, I understand your point but I do think we at least need to ask some serious questions. For instance how is it that such a minority could account for such a profound hold on certain aspects of entrepreneurship in Liberia? What were the circumstances that gave rise to that? Further, though Germany and Japan both have less resources, is it not true that they have benefitted from the exploiting of the natural resources of Africa? Germany in particular has had quite a long and bloody record in Africa or have we forgotten that it was primarily through jealousy over their small share in the African pie of the Berlin Conference of 1884 that led to that first great European civil war aka World War I?

Don't misunderstand me, it's not that I am wholeheartedly accepting or rejecting Liberia's policy. I just find that that BBC story does not tell us the whole story; it does not take much of the historical context into account.
Old 07-30-2005, 08:38 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 32
Unhappy well..........

The truth is that many 'third world nations' have simply failed to organize themselves in order develope and manage their OWN resources! So outsiders and organized minorities in those same nations do so! Look at Malaysia where ethnic Chinese who have been their for centuries but retained their Chinese culture were so prosperous in business that laws were passed by the majority native Malaysians to restrict Chinese ownership of large scale businesses and manufacturing. However what this did was slow down the economy. so the government again with the 'social engineering' gave interest free loans to Malaysian business and again the result was failure! In Africa the problem is simply that the population does not realize how fragile democracy really is. Killing your tribal enemy will create economic chaos. Liberians need to realize that they do have the potential to be a great nation but not the will.
Old 08-08-2005, 04:07 PM   #9 (permalink)

so your sayaing they are letting lebanese people migrate to liberia? if so thats a bad move.
Old 08-09-2005, 04:36 AM   #10 (permalink)
Guyanese blood in me

Credits: 141
Thats dumb. Okay people want to own what WAS rightfully theirs but by discriminating thats not solving the problem. Teaching the young children that its okay to hate white people because of what people did many almost a century ago. Yes prejudges still exist but by closing the country off to others to live is wrong. thats why third world countries never advance, because they let hate over power everything. Ok America isnt the most loving country out there but we dont limit who can own what. whoever has the money should be able to buy. How they get the money is a different story.

individual people can be as mad as they want, but the whole gov? thats not giving a good example for the citizens to follow, a gov could spread the whole continent to become such hateful people and thats not good for anyone.

(kinda hard to get into every detail, but i think i got most of the points across)
Old 08-09-2005, 08:34 AM   #11 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 875
You people shold read up on the history of this country

And then you would understand why they react in this way. Liberia is the same place that opned it's doors to American slaves who wanted to come back to Africa. They opened there doors to these people , but unfortunately, they also opned there doors to the european/slavery mentality. The slaves went and made the native Liberians there second class citizens, and this affect cal still be seen today. This is why they don't want the Lebanese to come in, who by far are more economically stable and educationally secure than the slaves who came from the states.

Am I saying that it's right? No. What I'm saying is that there's a reason for them to feel like the lebanese would dominate there society. And lets not forget the 10+ year of civil war this country has been going through. I know people from Trinidad (which mind you has a substantial population there) who cannot vote either.
Old 08-09-2005, 08:38 AM   #12 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 875
The truth is that many 'third world nations' have simply failed to organize themselves in order develope and manage their OWN resources! So outsiders and organized minorities in those same nations do so! Look at Malaysia where ethnic Chinese who have been their for centuries but retained their Chinese culture were so prosperous in business that laws were passed by the majority native Malaysians to restrict Chinese ownership of large scale businesses and manufacturing. However what this did was slow down the economy. so the government again with the 'social engineering' gave interest free loans to Malaysian business and again the result was failure! In Africa the problem is simply that the population does not realize how fragile democracy really is. Killing your tribal enemy will create economic chaos. Liberians need to realize that they do have the potential to be a great nation but not the will.
There will has been crushed by this civil war man!!!! It's been crazy in that country! I believe that once the country is stable again, you will see a lot of change!
Old 08-09-2005, 11:04 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 1,661
Historical Context

And then you would understand why they react in this way. Liberia is the same place that opned it's doors to American slaves who wanted to come back to Africa. They opened there doors to these people , but unfortunately, they also opned there doors to the european/slavery mentality. The slaves went and made the native Liberians there second class citizens, and this affect cal still be seen today. This is why they don't want the Lebanese to come in, who by far are more economically stable and educationally secure than the slaves who came from the states.
Bds4, I understand your point but I do think we at least need to ask some serious questions. For instance how is it that such a minority could account for such a profound hold on certain aspects of entrepreneurship in Liberia? What were the circumstances that gave rise to that? Further, though Germany and Japan both have less resources, is it not true that they have benefitted from the exploiting of the natural resources of Africa? Germany in particular has had quite a long and bloody record in Africa or have we forgotten that it was primarily through jealousy over their small share in the African pie of the Berlin Conference of 1884 that led to that first great European civil war aka World War I?

I concur, it must be put into a historical context first to fully comprehend the ideology behind such a decision.
Old 08-25-2005, 03:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Credits: 713
Originally Posted by marabunta
racism is racism, no matter what side does it.
Old 01-12-2006, 04:43 PM   #15 (permalink)
DSP

Credits: 1,125
Nobody is oppressing the Lebanese. Nobody is stopping them from buying, selling or opening up businesses. The whites and indians that live in Liberia aren't complaining. If things are so bad for them why aren't they packing their belongings and going to Lebanon? No one has asked that question. The issue is alot more complicated than that. I say let the law stay as it is.