Old 05-06-2003, 06:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
We Not I

Credits: 711
Food for Taught ........

Sad and sobering statistics...........

I don't know whether you all have seen the Black Think Tank that Tavis
Smiley hosts on C-Span every year, but it is powerful food for thought.

This is good to know... BLACK THINK TANK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Here are a few of the things learned at the Black Think Tank this week.

Facts:

1. The first Americans or native Americans going back to 13,000 BC were
black! Look up the Folsom people who lived in Arizona.

2. One of the best reason to stop our use of the term African American
and say Black. A white person who was born in Africa, who moves to America
is an African American and qualifies for financial aid, etc., but will get
the jobs/pay privileges afforded to whites.

3. Look up the Slavery Law of 1665 (which stayed in effect until 1968)
and the Maryland Doctrine of Exclusion (1638): both laws state that blacks
must be excluded from the benefits afforded whites and that blacks must
remain
Noncompetitive with whites, except in sports and entertainment.

4. Two white men: Bill Gates and Larry Elision, combined have more wealth
than the combined wealth of all 36 million blacks in America. Civil Rights
did not change the economic landscape or the balance of power in America.

5. Asians received 80% of all government minority set aside contracts.
Hello!!!!!!!

6. Blacks eat more fish than whites by a four to one margin. For every
dollar whites spend on fish, blacks spend nine dollars on fish. Fish sold
wholesale for $1 will retail at $2.50 --$3.00. Guess what business we
should be in as Blacks?

7. There are no black owned national cable or major network television
stations. The black woman who owns our only black owned radio stations,
plans to sell to white owners after hearing the deal Bob Johnson received
for selling BET. (Cathy Hughes is from OMAHA, ya'll!)

8. There are no black owned companies on the Wall Street Stock Exchange
where blacks own the majority or controlling interest of the stock.

9. 96% of all black inmates are men.

10. Over the next two years 440,000 black inmates will be released from
prison. The State has no place to put them as they reenter society.
Halfway house business!

11. In 1860, 98% of all Blacks in America worked for White people. 2001,
98% of all Blacks in America still work for white people.

12. In 1860, blacks in America had a combined net worth of half of one
percentage point. Guess what in 2001, after Civil Rights, Jesse Jackson,
Oprah, Shaq, NAACP, and Urban League, our combined net worth is half a
percentage point.

13. For every dollar earned by a Jewish person, that dollar touches 12-18
Jewish hands before it leaves their community. For every dollar earned by
a black person it leaves the community soon as he or she earns it.

14. Last week in Washington, DC black teenagers where arrested and booked
for eating McDonalds on the metro subway. Cops cited the recent 5-4 court
decision as the permission to arrest lawbreakers even for minor offenses.

15. 67% of all hate crimes in America are against blacks. After we get
through being pleased that we have carpet in our office, a secretary, our
name on the door and make six figures, we do not own anything.

What will happen if you miss six months of work without pay? All we have
left our children is debt not an inheritance. You cannot pass welfare or
food stamps onto our kids as a nest egg! We are not even in the race.

By the way, the word "race" hit the English language in the 16th century
when Europeans held a contest to see who will win the race to gather the
most wealth through exploitation of blacks.

You must read Powernomics by Claude Anderson. This is our blueprint to
create wealth, not just have a job, but be a business owner, so you can
hire people, be listed on the stock exchange, develop businesses to meet
our
needs. This is "Good Food" for thought.
Old 05-06-2003, 07:02 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 9,294
Re: Food for Taught ........

Originally posted by UpTown
2. One of the best reason to stop our use of the term African American and say Black. A white person who was born in Africa, who moves to America
is an African American and qualifies for financial aid, etc., but will get the jobs/pay privileges afforded to whites.

WOW... I never realized that.
Old 05-06-2003, 07:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
We Not I

Re: Re: Food for Taught ........

Originally posted by Trini Prinzez
WOW... I never realized that.
Prinzez , I have decided to play it safe by posting educational stuff ...
Old 05-06-2003, 07:18 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 9,294
Re: Re: Re: Food for Taught ........

Originally posted by UpTown
Prinzez , I have decided to play it safe by posting educational stuff ...

LOL..yeah I realize that. Besides we have nobody to crack jokes with anyway
Old 05-06-2003, 07:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mrs. Cimo 2

Credits: 1,301
Dayum! Well that was my imix educational lesson for today Some of this shyt is very disturbing:
Old 05-06-2003, 07:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
KingBea....

Credits: 1,764
I have ....

..to say I feel shame.These are facts that open ones eyes.I've printed it out,cause 3 yrs from now I hope I will be able to say I have a career not just a job.Thx Uptown respect everytime.
Old 05-06-2003, 07:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
We Not I

Re: I have ....

Originally posted by Cimo 2
..to say I feel shame.These are facts that open ones eyes.I've printed it out,cause 3 yrs from now I hope I will be able to say I have a career not just a job.Thx Uptown respect everytime.
You're welcome Cimo 2 .
Old 05-06-2003, 08:35 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 41,521
This is powerful information. I will print this out. Thanks Uptown. :cool2

Old 05-06-2003, 09:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
We Not I

Originally posted by shandy
This is powerful information. I will print this out. Thanks Uptown. :cool2
You're welcome Shandy , ah just trying to educate meh people ....
Old 05-06-2003, 11:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
MLO, CTA 4 LIFE

Credits: 1,736
Very enlightening thoughts brother uptown tanxs..
Old 05-08-2003, 12:25 AM   #11 (permalink)
Empress at large

Credits: 527
:cool2 :cool2
Thank you Uptown. I really enjoyed this post. Very informative.