Old 11-24-2005, 03:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ball-in-Hand

Credits: 3,801
Drug Testing in the workplace?

good or bad? do you think it's an invasion of privacy? should it be conducted in some fields and not others? should blood tests, or hair tests be implemented instead?
Old 11-26-2005, 11:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Big Steupss

Credits: 3,751
well, it is not an issue for people who have nothing to worry about. and i don't think it's an invasion of privacy because they are paying u to be attentive and perform your tasks at work.
Old 11-26-2005, 12:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Whatever Lola wants...

Credits: 465
Originally Posted by trinithunda27
well, it is not an issue for people who have nothing to worry about. and i don't think it's an invasion of privacy because they are paying u to be attentive and perform your tasks at work.
I disagree. Certain drugs, such as marijuana, can stay in your system for weeks. Just because someone tests positive for it doesn't mean that they are still under the influence of the drug. However, with alcohol abusers or abusers of other hard drugs, the employee could have been higher than a kite at work two days prior to the test and not test positive because of the shorter half-life of the drug. I think that drug testing should only be done if there is valid suspicion that the person is under the influence on the job and it should be done immeditely. Otherwsie the employer is making an ill-informed, moral decision that has nothing to do with job performance. I have seen cocaine and heroine addicts continually pass drug tests while marijuana users lose their jobs everyday.
Old 11-26-2005, 05:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ball-in-Hand

[QUOTE=GoldenBrown]I disagree. Certain drugs, such as marijuana, can stay in your system for weeks. Just because someone tests positive for it doesn't mean that they are still under the influence of the drug. However, with alcohol abusers or abusers of other hard drugs, the employee could have been higher than a kite at work two days prior to the test and not test positive because of the shorter half-life of the drug. I think that drug testing should only be done if there is valid suspicion that the person is under the influence on the job and it should be done immeditely. Otherwsie the employer is making an ill-informed, moral decision that has nothing to do with job performance. I have seen cocaine and heroine addicts continually pass drug tests while marijuana users lose their jobs everyday.[/QUOTE]

that sucks
Old 11-26-2005, 06:43 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 375
Originally Posted by GoldenBrown
I disagree. Certain drugs, such as marijuana, can stay in your system for weeks. Just because someone tests positive for it doesn't mean that they are still under the influence of the drug. However, with alcohol abusers or abusers of other hard drugs, the employee could have been higher than a kite at work two days prior to the test and not test positive because of the shorter half-life of the drug. I think that drug testing should only be done if there is valid suspicion that the person is under the influence on the job and it should be done immeditely. Otherwsie the employer is making an ill-informed, moral decision that has nothing to do with job performance. I have seen cocaine and heroine addicts continually pass drug tests while marijuana users lose their jobs everyday.
So true, damn THC be sticking to the fat cells, making it take longer to get out.

I think random drug testing is unfair, but you if you give 72 hours to take the test like they give you when you apply for the job, you should be able to cleanse yuh system
Old 11-30-2005, 10:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Humbled

Credits: 519
Drug testing was never meant to weed out out drug users, it was put in place to find those who smoke GANJA! Everyone of you know that the rich and influential all either use coke/heroine/crack/liquor/dust/ etc etc etc. All these things disappear from the system real fast!

LEAVE NATURE'S TREES ALONE!
Old 11-30-2005, 11:44 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 189
i work in a hospital that does not have mandatory drug testing and trust me and u would b surprised at the amount of people that do drugs (incl. weed cuz last time i checked it was a drug!). would u want security guards who just finished taking a smoke in the bathroom (yes it really happens) trying 2 protect u?? i actually went in a bodega 1 day n saw 1 of the nurses buy 5 dutches n a 6pk. now would u want that person taking care of u?? i believe in some institutions it should b mandatory (such as hospitals, schools, etc)
Old 11-30-2005, 11:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Whatever Lola wants...

Credits: 465
Originally Posted by IllSitOnYaFace
i work in a hospital that does not have mandatory drug testing and trust me and u would b surprised at the amount of people that do drugs (incl. weed cuz last time i checked it was a drug!). would u want security guards who just finished taking a smoke in the bathroom (yes it really happens) trying 2 protect u?? i actually went in a bodega 1 day n saw 1 of the nurses buy 5 dutches n a 6pk. now would u want that person taking care of u?? i believe in some institutions it should b mandatory (such as hospitals, schools, etc)
But the point is that the people most likely to be high at work (narcotics users) are those who are not as likely to get caught. Weed smokers test positive whether they are still high ot not. I know plenty of people who smoke weed recreationally but would never thing about going to work high.
Old 12-01-2005, 12:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
L O S T

Credits: 43,468
invasion of privacy
but its their place no one is forced to work anywhere
Old 12-01-2005, 05:53 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 16,339
it's as much an "invasion" of privacy as a background check but i'll tell you what... i don't care what you're smoking. if it's my place of business and i don't want drug users (recreational or otherwise) in my place of business, it's my right to weed them out (no pun intended) as i see fit. it's that simple/
Old 12-01-2005, 06:29 PM   #11 (permalink)
Unregistered User

Credits: 634
Originally Posted by ms. hershey
it's as much an "invasion" of privacy as a background check but i'll tell you what... i don't care what you're smoking. if it's my place of business and i don't want drug users (recreational or otherwise) in my place of business, it's my right to weed them out (no pun intended) as i see fit. it's that simple/
cosigns
Old 12-01-2005, 07:04 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 15,487
People who want to do drugs should 1)be self employed or 2)just dont work and hang out all day on the streets or in abandoned buldings with crackheads/weedheads. With those two options they would never be harrassed by their employer.

****Disclaimer.....Dont take it too personal weedheads, I have plenty of friends who are weedheads
Old 12-02-2005, 04:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
Humbled

Credits: 519
Originally Posted by nygee
People who want to do drugs should 1)be self employed or 2)just dont work and hang out all day on the streets or in abandoned buldings with crackheads/weedheads. With those two options they would never be harrassed by their employer.

****Disclaimer.....Dont take it too personal weedheads, I have plenty of friends who are weedheads

But is de employer dat doing all de drugs lol!
Old 12-02-2005, 11:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ball-in-Hand