Old 10-31-2003, 01:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Sweet fuh days

Credits: 491
Dreadlocks...not for everybody?

Do you get mad when you see white people or anyone who's not black with dreadlocks? I have dreads now and I used to get mad when I saw white people with them, but do you think they have the right to get mad when black people straighten their hair? Did you know that dreadlocks are not of African decent? what do you think?
Old 10-31-2003, 02:07 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 23,830
It doesn't bother me when i see white people with dreds because dreds too many people is just a style. The same way we perm our hair and color it, i think they have the same right to go dred if they chose to.

"TOO BLESSED TO BE STRESSED
TOO ANNOINTED TO BE DISAPPOINTED"

Old 10-31-2003, 03:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 32,975
Excellent question....

And I gotta add to that, how Rastafarian might get upset seeing non-Rasta sporting locs, especially as simply a style. Me personally, yea, it is a little troubling when you yourself view it as part of a spiritual health, along with eating healthy and treating your body well and so on. But, we can't stand up (as in a glass house) imo and tell someone else they are forbidden to do a certain thing with their head and/or pass judgement on them because of it.

I mean, locs are, whether we realize it or not, a part of many cultures, many societies around the world, and have been so for thousands of years. We're just not going to see indigenous peoples in Asia and Tahiti on our TV screens for publicity too often for us to know.

So, my point is, historically, locs have never been exclusive to Black people, so, though we may want to, we probably shouldn't be so egotistical now to claim it one alone for ourselves.
Old 10-31-2003, 03:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
SAME SH!T DIFFERNT TOILET

Credits: 7,389
Re: Dreadlocks...not for everybody?

No i don't get angry because i have seen many races and cultures with locs...
Old 10-31-2003, 03:46 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally posted by SugarBumbum
Did you know that dreadlocks are not of African decent? what do you think?
Where did it originate??...
Old 10-31-2003, 03:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ragga007

I am going to take an educated guess and say it was originated in India.

Peach splash 2013 Ft Machel Montano & Hd band Mr. Vegas Farmer Nappy and more

Atlanta Peach Ballroom

9th Annual ATLANTA JOUVERT

THE ATRIUM
Friday,May 24th
Old 10-31-2003, 03:55 PM   #7 (permalink)

i once saw a documentary about an indigenous Asian society on one of the islands in the Pacific and they had locs
Old 10-31-2003, 04:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
~Sweet Sugah City Gyul~

Credits: 2,182

Originally posted by SugarBumbum
Do you get mad when you see white people or anyone who's not black with dreadlocks?
DOesn't bother me, just as long as it looks good on you.
Old 10-31-2003, 04:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Sweet fuh days

Originally posted by Ragga007
I am going to take an educated guess and say it was originated in India.
Good guess
Old 10-31-2003, 10:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
ToFwAm

Credits: 1,502
well the first time I saw a white person with dreads I chuckled, then I saw Asians. After a while I just check to see if they wear them well. I agree with the person that said, once it looks good on them. Now it does not bother me.

Ok where did locs orginated, I always in a learning class when i come up in imix. Waiting for the answer.
Old 10-31-2003, 10:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Sweet fuh days

Originally posted by Calabash
well the first time I saw a white person with dreads I chuckled, then I saw Asians. After a while I just check to see if they wear them well. I agree with the person that said, once it looks good on them. Now it does not bother me.

Ok where did locs orginated, I always in a learning class when i come up in imix. Waiting for the answer.
Its India
Old 11-01-2003, 10:54 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 6,829
I don't have locs, but I do not get mad seeing other ethnicities having it. I will say that it does give me a "shock" when I do.

I will also add to what Jalani stated that locs has now become more of a "hairstyle" rather than the "lifestyle" and religion. My father turned dread several years ago and still has it. When I was making a trip back home one year, I asked him what he wanted and he said a "ham"! I almost fall out meh chair. I said a "ham", but aren't you rasta? He said "nah, I's a rasta fuh style".

Last edited by trinisunshine; 11-01-2003 at 11:09 PM..
Old 11-01-2003, 11:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Solidarity

Originally posted by trinisunshine
...My father turned dread several years ago and still has it. When I was making a trip back home one year, I asked him what he wanted and he said a "ham"! I almost fall out meh chair. I said a "ham", but aren't you rasta? He said "nah, I's a rasta fuh style".
bwaaaaaggggggghhhhh!

nah wait, wait...wait....dis is a nice post fi real (big an serious ting!) but mi haffi interrupt fi a second!

sunshine faada a sample...deh line deh ah classic! (imagine how it sound wi de trini accent) hahaa!

Pardon de interruption...please continue. *bows out post*
Old 11-01-2003, 11:17 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 6,829
Yes..It was the funniest thing I ever heard out of my dad's mouth!!! Up to this day..Ah does still laugh about it!!

But back to the topic..I have always been fascinated with dreads/rasta..probably because of my dad's influence. And over the years, I was confused and puzzled by the amount of people with "dreads" as a style rather than a lifestyle. I did a paper in college on rastafari religion and came across some interesting facts. Such as - as one song says - not every dread is a rasta. With the development of the religion it transcended just the locs/dreads. So now there are "baldhead" rastas. Also, you are not a true "rasta" until you have taken the "oath of Nazirite".

Originally posted by Solidarity
bwaaaaaggggggghhhhh!

nah wait, wait...wait....dis is a nice post fi real (big an serious ting!) but mi haffi interrupt fi a second!

sunshine faada a sample...deh line deh ah classic! (imagine how it sound wi de trini accent) hahaa!

Pardon de interruption...please continue. *bows out post*
Old 11-02-2003, 12:44 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 3,820
To Answer a post I saw, dreads as they are called DID NOT come from India! African and people with melanin have the ability to have their hair curl and lock - known as dreads. There are some Hindu holy men known as Sadhus who do not comb their hair and their hair locks on its own. The Aihu of Japan (Africans who have been there for over 1000) yrs also lock their hair.

Does it bother me to see whites with locks? I dont pay attention, to other people really, only the nasty looking ones who look like they have lice!

So remember, only Africans and people with melanin can "lock" their hair! Whites and some Asians with straight hair can "clump" their hair, but not lock.

peace