Old 02-01-2005, 10:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Jedi Saltfish Eater

Credits: 543
Dr. Marcus Mosiah Garvey

In addition to being Founder of the Universal Negro Improvement Association and African Communities League The Right Excellent Dr. Marcus Mosiah Garvey was constitutionally elected First Provisional President of Africa. This position was ratified in Convention in Harlem New York. 25,000 people attended this historic Convention from August 1-31 1920. “Representative delegates, duly elected by the people, from all parts of the world, attended the conclave. Every country where Negroes lived was represented”. Dr Garvey is also one of the First National Heroes of Jamaica. Curricula of educational institutions in the: Caribbean; Canada; United Kingdom and elsewhere include; archives and material suitable for research about the Universal Negro Improvement Association. In Seattle; the University of Washington; in the Pacific Northwest of the United States; has included the work and philosophy of Dr Garvey in: historical; humanities and communications studies.

Old 02-01-2005, 02:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Unregistered User

Credits: 633
The Right Excellent? Dr? Constitutionally elected First Provisional President of Africa? Marcus Garvey? He never received a degree, never mind a doctorate and he never met the queen. As for being First Provisional President of Africa, he was self elected. Don't take it personal. I'm not trying to diss Garvey. I admire the man. However, let the truth be told...
Old 02-01-2005, 03:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Jedi Saltfish Eater

dais the reason i posted it....so other people can share their views an disscuss fact from fiction.... (buh all i see is ah bunch of peepers wid no input)

dais the whole point of black history month ......to learn the truth of Black Americas past and present!!
Old 02-01-2005, 03:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
IslandGem

Credits: 769
why do we have th shortest month out of the yr *wonders*
Why one month!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 02-01-2005, 03:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Jedi Saltfish Eater

Originally Posted by A class laydee
Why one month!!!!!!!!!!!

who knows.................. i cyah help yuh wid dah one.......

i juss glad dem give us a month...
Old 02-01-2005, 03:58 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 24,366
Originally Posted by A class laydee
Why one month!!!!!!!!!!!

black history month started with a week.. to commorate the birthday of fredrick douglas.. who believed his birthday was in february since his month called him her little valentine..

the week grew to month

so we did not get it because it was the shortest month.. also many great things happened in february in relation to black people and our history
Old 02-01-2005, 04:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Unregistered User

Credits: 633
Well, they way I see it is that February is the month when White America recognizes Black History Month. For us as Black people we shouldn't have to reserve 28 days out of a year to celebrate our heroes. We should be doing this year 'round. If, as Black people, we are waiting for February to celebrate the lives of people who tirelessly fought for our freedom and gave their lives for what they believed in then we ought to be ashamed of ourselves.
Old 02-01-2005, 04:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
IslandGem

Credits: 769
Originally Posted by Oneshot
black history month started with a week.. to commorate the birthday of fredrick douglas.. who believed his birthday was in february since his month called him her little valentine..

the week grew to month

so we did not get it because it was the shortest month.. also many great things happened in february in relation to black people and our history
thanks Oneshot...but I still mad it's the shortest month in the entire yr
Old 02-01-2005, 04:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Jedi Saltfish Eater

Originally Posted by sk gyal
Well, they way I see it is that February is the month when White America recognizes Black History Month. For us as Black people we shouldn't have to reserve 28 days out of a year to celebrate our heroes. We should be doing this year 'round. If, as Black people, we are waiting for February to celebrate the lives of people who tirelessly fought for our freedom and gave their lives for what they believed in then we ought to be ashamed of ourselves.

for sum people in different states Febuary( Black history ) is the only month information on black history is circulated...(i'm not saying that's the only time i celebrate it)

for instant sum libraries and schools where i live bring in literary and artistic materials of black leaders and historians ( you can even trace you ancestry with the help of an online software program they bring in) only during Black history Month...

Last edited by yellowman; 02-01-2005 at 04:31 PM..
Old 02-01-2005, 08:01 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 5,077
Well Yellowman, I give you marks for highlighting this giant of a figure, although the “Dr” and “First provisional President” was a bit too much. However, Garvey himself was given to these kinds of long-winded, self-inflating titles.

I think, however, that that was his way of instilling African pride in a people who at that time had very little positive images of themselves. I don’t think many of us can fully understand or appreciate the rationale behind his actions and writings because I doubt any if us lived during those times when white supremacy was institutionalised and was overtly projected in everyday life. The open hostility shown towards African peoples in the US, the Caribbean and especially in Africa which was only a few years before occupied, colonised and partitioned is something most people today don’t even read about anymore.

Marcus Moziah Garvey was and will always be one of my personal heroes. Indeed, in any ways I unapologetically consider myself a Garveyite; the man, though never achieving much in the way of scholarly titles, was a brilliant orator and leader. While I have no intention of getting into a silly debate over which African leader was better, I have tended to rate Garvey above Dr King in many aspects because from the very beginning of his activism, he preached economic and political self-reliance. He, quite rightly, showed very little interest in being accepted by the whites because he knew that in any case they had no respect for a people who did not stand up against oppression. He knew that they will always hate the African because they will always FEAR the African. Of course, being human, he has his failings; he has received much criticism for his advocacy of African racial purity. However, one should try to understand the roots of that outlook – the dismissive way he was treated by the Jamaican coloured middle-class who, like us even today, have been educated, schooled and churched to adopt British (today Euro-American) mannerisms and culture and to reject things African (or Indian)

When he launched economic ventures like the Black Star Line and other organisations like the Black Cross Nurses, he was making models for others to follow (which in many ways we have NOT done). The implications of his success was enough for the Euro-American powers to have him jailed on trumped up charges long enough for the UNIA to fall apart, but already the baton was passed.

I think Garvey’s true legacy was in the many people and movements he inspired; because of his writings men like Kwame Nkrumah of Ghana and Amilcar Cabral were better oriented to tackle imperialism. His Liberty Halls served as centres of support and employment that in some cases lasted even after his death in 1940. Truly a man who deserves much more recognition than he is given today.

For anyone who wants to explore further this outstanding man, I strongly recommend “Philosophies and Opinions of Marcus Garvey”; “The Pan African Connection” and Race First”, all by Prof Tony Martin.

“Up you mighty race, you can accomplish what you will” – Marcus Moziah Garvey
Old 02-01-2005, 08:26 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 21,801
Check out de Trini Expert on Garvey-----Tony Martin for your Garvey updates:
http://www.themajoritypress.com/serv03.htm
Old 02-02-2005, 11:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Credits: 2,411
Originally Posted by marabunta
Check out de Trini Expert on Garvey-----Tony Martin for your Garvey updates:
http://www.themajoritypress.com/serv03.htm

Thanks...all of the authors on this page interest me...
Old 02-03-2005, 12:54 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 24,366
Rt. Excellent is title given to person who is a national hero. Garvey is a national hero for Jamaica.