#1 (permalink) | |
Credits: 3,949
The Dominican Influence
On caribbean music from de imix archives....
Then... ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() pdf link Download Zoukistry.BDring.pdf from Sendspace.com - send big files the easy way This is Sokah/socah... This is not...
__________________ I'm a man of the past,living in the present, but walking in the future. A cow born in a pig pen is still a cow. ...Rastafari... "Self-Realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.” |
International Artists ....
One of the greatest to ever represent the caribbean... Superbowl half time show dats like "mainstream" biggest show if i am right not sure... One Love Jeff Joseph ... we care so much about mainstream and making it yet people dat did doh even take dat as nothing... Not even a sticky on de number 1 caribbean site ..... de whole world recognizes de greatness of revolutionary music... "We would learn from our mistakes if we weren't so busy denying them" - Raspek. Reggae - International Kompa - International Zouk - International Cadence-lypso - International __________________ I'm a man of the past,living in the present, but walking in the future. A cow born in a pig pen is still a cow. ...Rastafari... "Self-Realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.” |
Credits: 98,605
Don't understand the lyrics but I thoroughly enjoyed the music in those clips. Thanks!
Plenty music I listening to I does feel de same way King. __________________ I'm a man of the past,living in the present, but walking in the future. A cow born in a pig pen is still a cow. ...Rastafari... "Self-Realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.” |
Checkin de scene..
Credits: 4,072
Love Midnight Groovers!
RIP to Jeff Joseph the Caribbean really lost a great icon. Great music. |
RSB - Roots Stems and Branches doing a cover live in london... __________________ I'm a man of the past,living in the present, but walking in the future. A cow born in a pig pen is still a cow. ...Rastafari... "Self-Realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.” |
Repect Our Soca Pioneers
Credits: 23,178
Shorty had already developed and demonstrated the Soca beat in his music before going to Dominica, like in this song recorded before his Dominican trip in 1974. Endless Vibrations Lord Shorty 1974: Regards "Vibrations Groove" the musical influence that led to Shorty developing the Sokah/Soca beat that he demonstrates in that song comes from here after removal of the Indian instruments and transferring the rhythm to the conventional drum-kit! Kalo Gee (Bull Bull) Lord Shorty 1973/4 (taken off his Loveman album): Shanti Om (Spiritual Chutney Soca Lord Shorty 1978 from LP Soca Explosion): Now let us remove the Indian instruments all together and play the same rhythmic pattern on the drum kit and other conventional instruments fused with traditional calypso rhythms in the background and there you have it SOCA! Soca Fever (Lord Shorty 1978 from LP Soca Explosion): Even though the Soca beat is similar it is still different from the Cadence beat. However both beats can still be fused into the same Soca song to give us something beautiful as Ed Watson demonstrates here in these two soca instrumentals: Ed Watson & His Brass Circle - Wooy Midebar (1977 from LP This Is Music): Ed Watson & His Brass Circle - Lovie Dovie (1977 from LP This Is Music): __________________ Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer" Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM) www.facebook.com/socaphd www.twitter.com/socaphd email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!! Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology! ![]() Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!! Last edited by Socapro; 03-05-2012 at 08:29 PM.. |
Socapro I looking for de tracks shorty did in 1969 with Lord Tokyo and others from Dominica ... if you can post those would be much appreciated thanks. __________________ I'm a man of the past,living in the present, but walking in the future. A cow born in a pig pen is still a cow. ...Rastafari... "Self-Realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.” |
Repect Our Soca Pioneers
Credits: 23,178
Here is a cadence flavour soca track from Explainer in 1980; Arrangement is by top steelband arranger Godwin Bowen, same guy who arranged "Stay Giving Praises" for Black Stalin and Ella Andall.
Explainer - More You Look, Less You See (1980): Here are two more Ed Watson tracks with a cadence flavour! There are others not on YouTube or the Net. Ed Watson - Soca Baby (1981): Ed Watson - Dat Is Soca (1982): A variety of different musical flavours and beats have been added to soca over the years since it was first formulated by Shorty in the early 70's. Ed Watson explains it quite well in lyrics of above track "Dat Is Soca". __________________ Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer" Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM) www.facebook.com/socaphd www.twitter.com/socaphd email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!! Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology! ![]() Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!! Last edited by Socapro; 03-11-2012 at 03:50 AM.. |
Here is an idea.... A catchy name is a great marketing device... Its kinda silly to think that when Midnight Groovers has been making cadence music since 1970 that it was not cadence-lypso they are talking about... that name came about in 1973 from what I gather. __________________ I'm a man of the past,living in the present, but walking in the future. A cow born in a pig pen is still a cow. ...Rastafari... "Self-Realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.” |
Girl wins Peace Prize for promoting the rights of children with disabilities
CNBC Marijuana USA

3Likes