Old 11-18-2005, 10:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
The JaM™

DNA testing...

Any members ever had DNA testing to ascertain their ethnic background? If yes, were the results as you expected? If no, would you have it done?

I was watching a BBC documentary about this family researching a female ancestor who was a bigamist. The eldest living member of the family was given a DNA test and turns out she was 75% European/Caucasian and 25% East Asian (oriental). When she got the results, all she could manage to say was ''I guess that explains the high cheekbones!"

As for myself, I'd have it done... it sure would clear up the conflicting accounts of where exactly my family originated!

Last edited by The JaM™; 11-18-2005 at 10:22 PM..
Old 11-19-2005, 04:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
como el lindo clave

Credits: 5,008
yeah Id do it, it would be interesting!
Old 11-19-2005, 05:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Credits: 713
I did it. When it poped out 17% asian i was like wha..... Then i realized it was my Romany (gypsie) ancestry kicking in.
Old 11-19-2005, 10:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 873
My mother is going to have this done!!!!

National Geographic Genographic Project
Old 11-19-2005, 02:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
The JaM™

Originally Posted by Otorongo
I did it. When it poped out 17% asian i was like wha..... Then i realized it was my Romany (gypsie) ancestry kicking in.
Interesting!
Old 11-19-2005, 02:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
The JaM™

Originally Posted by kevlocks
*adds website to favourites list*
Old 11-26-2005, 03:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Originally Posted by VincyJam82
*adds website to favourites list*
It's pretty cool aint it?
Old 11-26-2005, 05:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
The JaM™

Originally Posted by Otorongo
It's pretty cool aint it?
It sure is! As soon as I get me some extra dinero I'm gonna get that done!
Old 11-27-2005, 12:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

The national Geographic one is only $100