meximadness
Credits: 649
discrimination...west indian restaurants
i've waited to post this question because i don't want to come off as cynical. maybe i can explain a little about myself so people can get a sense of where i'm coming from.
i was born in mexico and have lived in the us since i was 2. i've adopted mostly mexican culture b/c i'm exposed to it more. i have also been exposed to the west indian culture b/c of the music that i love and the most of the friends i have. now, i have a son who is half trini. in my experience with west indian restaurants, i've noticed some discrimination? (not sure if it is that). mostly i get attitudes for no reason. whenever i go into a store, west indian or not, i greet the person at the counter. i don't always get a response, but whatever - that's not the problem. the problem is that i feel like i don't get waited on as i see others get waited on. so, my question is if anyone else has had this experience and if so, r u of west indian descent? could i be over-reacting? someone told me maybe i should put on a trini accent to see if that changes anything...my point is, if i am patronizing your establishment, why should I act or be a certain way? it should be the other way around, no? Last edited by spicydimples; 04-10-2003 at 05:08 PM.. |
Credits: 5,609
it's not just you and I'm west indian.
I tired i tell dem people here in a Jamaican Restaurant i plan to bun dey shit down cause they ent have no manners. Dey have no manners... does see peole come in and ignore me.. dey rude....is because i trini true? steups.. and dey rass food ent even good... they need to open Trini restaurants here that sell things other than roti and doubles..steups |
Empress at large
Credits: 528
Where did you have these experiences? WOuld you mind mentioning locales?
meximadness
well in a way its sad b/c it'd be nice if we could all be one big community, no matter where we're from. if someone is cordial to u, u should be as well. its not too much to ask for.
i would rather not mention any names. i was very mad about this situation and a girlfriend told me to pose the question on imix to get some feedback. another friend said i should write them a letter, which i will do since writing this has made me feel better already. thanks for ur input. ![]() |
meximadness
i just realized i spelled discrimination wrong - duh!!!
One Eye Monster Inc..
Credits: 1,777
From what you have written it seems to me that you're lookin for ah response from these ppl. If you know what I mean you're saying hello then pausing to see if they respond,then you're saying there rude. Plus are you smiling when you're greeting somebody or do you have ah frown on you're face? So try smiling if you don't smile at these ppl..
meximadness
there's no excuse - i'm NOT the one who is wrong here! i frequent west indian restaurants b/c i happen to love their food. its a common courtesy to return a gesture...more so if i'm contributing to the growth of ur business!!!
by the way, i do smile when i say hello - i don't 'pause', waiting to see what they say. i have noticed that my greeting is not acknowledged and on top of that, they're rude in their interaction thereafter. ex: the other day i went to a place said hello, yada, yada, yada...i asked the woman if she had any salt fish left from the morning...she totally ignored me, went about her business... i waited for about 2 minutes for her to come back to the counter and then asked 'excuse me, did u hear me?' she said 'no, we don't have salt fish'!!!! that made me really upset b/c i'm in this place constantly for breakfast & lunch!!! anyway, she was an older woman - 50/60? so i didn't want to respond the way i was feeling. i feel like if i'm not rude to u, u shouldn't be rude to me! its a very simple concept! thanks for letting me vent, imix! : |
One Eye Monster Inc..
meximadness
u're right, i accept that i won't get everything i want. my post was to get feedback from imix, to see if anyone had experienced the same. if u don't understand my post pls refrain from commenting.
One Eye Monster Inc..
meximadness
"We have all experience rude ppl in west Indian rest. "
THANK U DESPERADO - U HAVE FINALLY ANSWERED MY QUESTION!!! i was asking everybody if they had experienced the same. i didn't say i was discrimated against - i posed it that way b/c i didn't know it was common practice. anyway, i've opted to go the 'other' west indian place by my job. |
One Eye Monster Inc..
CAPITAL LETTERS...
My treat...lata |