Credits: 1,717
did we get too contented?
during the 60's with Malcolm (NOI) and Martin (civil right's movement) and the 70's with the Black Panther Party (militia) amongst other groups and leaders; people of color and other minorities were either fighting for equality/separatism across the country when bigotry and racism ran rampant (even today).
however, i don't know if it's just me, but do u think our generation has for lack of a better word gotten 'lazy' or 'comfortable' with the way things are? we no longer go to water fountains and see signs saying 'blacks only'or 'whites only', but there is still a great deal of racism and unfair treatment of people in the workplace, residential neighborhoods, banks, police force etc. (list goes on). it seems to still be going on, but at a different level. anybody understand where i'm coming from? salt |
ToFwAm
Credits: 220
I'm really feeling you on this one lord salt, I experienced it first hand. I agree that this gerneration have gotten too relaxed and lazy. But I believe in due time they will get a rude awakening. Because as we all know the world revolves on an axle. Know what ah mean.
Remember to always keep LENT L=LET'S E-ELIMINATE N-NEGATIVE T-THINKING HAVE A POSITIVE ONE |
Credits: 5,078
Of course we got lazy, very much so. We got lazy (or rather lackadaisically contented) with the crumbs offered by the European/Euro-Americans in the form of the Civil rights Bill or – in the case of the Caribbean – the granting of Independence. The feelings of euphoria that were rightly felt clouded the harsh reality that the Eurocentric power structure simply created comfort zones that would serve to keep us in check (and in a perpetual state of dependency) and maintain the status quo. Racism did not end with the abolition of enslavement, it only changed form. Likewise, it merely changed form at the end of the 60’s. The fact that ‘people of colour’ and the countries/continents from which they came are still only seen as objects to be exploited for the enrichment of the North Atlantic metropole, is clearly shown by the rise of multinational capitalism; an economic system with an ethnocentric and religiously bigoted foundation, and what do we do? We revel in it, caught up in a materialistic, apolitical culture.
Most if us don’t read, don’t research, don’t spend much time engaging in deep thought about life around us and even less discussion. Just exist to satisfy the three basic needs. So yes, we have become lazy and it is going to cost us dearly this time around. |
look meh!
Credits: 1,124
strength, courage, wisdom
Credits: 2,321
i think everyone has made some valid points. Just wanted to add
yes racism, class division, etc. - all these things serve as a hinderance. But unfortunately, we ourselves are possibly one of the biggest hinderances to ourselves. Granted, these ideals were not all determined by us. I.E. The "Bling Bling" mentality glorified in music videos and across the media. These ideals were not fully created by us, but so many people have embraced this as the way to live that to deprogram people is very difficult. I always say that I admire the Jews of NY to an extent. While they are some of the most wealthly peopn the city, you don't see them driving Escalades with 20s or sportin diamons bigger than their ears. Their wealth is used to build businesses, buy real estate, etc. Again, which is why i contend. all of us that are able to read the words on this site, are in a more advantageous position than many of our caribbean brothers and sisters, and should be each doing something to help change ourselves and they way we think and behave and well as the behavior of those around us. I don't want to think that the days and leadership of garvey, malcolm x, etc. are gone forever. |
Credits: 122
I hear you salt. Yes we got to content. It's important that blacks understand the seriousness of racism in America. It's not deep for the "I hate you- you hate me" reason that people think today. It's deep because racism affect every institution in America which play a big part in keeping blacks down. It is not just a coincidence that Black is the race that is most in poverty, rising the fastest ith Aids, filling up the jail cells the quickest, dying at the earliest ages, and suffering the most with "Baby-Mama syndrome" (No offense to single mothers because I'm one also). I'm not trying to shift blame from individuals and blacks on a whole, but we have to understand that unless we start to understand hoe real racism is here in America and how it almost dictates thought, action, perceptions, lives, and reality of people in this country, blacks will never advance- and in fact we will loose some of the advances we have made over the years.
Credits: 122
Credits: 1,102
People will decry Al Sharpton and Jesse Jackson in a minute, but yet aren't doing anything socially responsible themselves. Many of us weren't born into overt racism and inequality, so its hard for us to keep the fire burning and fight for something that we've only heard about. |
strength, courage, wisdom
Credits: 2,321
Ladyhaiti - nice points....question for you....do you feel that most people are ignorant to racism? or do you feel they just choose to act like it is none existent. I think that most people recognize it exists, and maybe even use it as a crutch for a reason why they dont' get ahead. its such a huge problem, it canbe overwhelming
I for one know it exists but instead just think, we have to perfom at 150% to get 80% of the props we deserve..... but my next question for everyone is - is racism the real root of the problem?? or like topclass said, this lazy unaccountability thing? how do we move away from the images we are fed by popular culture here, and become more progressive??? |
yes, some of us are complacent but some are still struggling for answers and methods. some are still in recovery from trauma and others are becoming casualties in the re-designed, centuries-old war. and then there are the others...those that are principled and focused and maximizing their contributions on a daily basis. i want to be like them one day...big them up!
yes, racism is a significant and fundamental part of the problem. so too, is the human/spiritual disconnectedness that people feel towards each other which i believe, has in part led to the acceptance of certain class divisions that have become acceptable among far too many people. understanding context and making connections while leading by example is indeed key, this waiting on the messiah business will not get (and has not gotten) us very far. in terms of images: become secure in the fact that as a society we can do much better than what we are led to believe. yes, we may have come a ways but we have much farther to go and how and when we get there is dependent on how hard and effetively we push. turn off the tv sometimes, seek out, develop, collect and disseminate images (and institutions) that counter the mainstream. yeah, it's a slow process but if it were easier we wouldn't be havin this conversation. |
Credits: 41,529
Boy all of you have some good points. Though I can't say much that hasn't been said already. I think that Black people (generally speaking) has lost the bootstrap mentality that was prevalent in the civil rights era. It's that same bootstrap mentality that led Blacks to form universities, fraternities/sororities, and other organizations, businesses etc... Now folks who are only studying the "bling bling" and have Crystal tastes on a Colt 45 budget will do anything to get that lifestyle.
I agree about racism being a block to us moving ahead but, the colleges and other institutions I mentioned above were formed in the face of the most blatant racism of that time. We have more freedoms than before, what happened, do we have to wait for another tragedy of some sort to pick ourselves up. We have to teach our children to stop looking to BET, MTV and ESPN for role models and just look within. That sounds idealistic but shouldn't the youth be taught to be leaders and not look for someone to follow.
"If u put a small price on ur value.. rest assure that the world wont raise ur price! Love U 2day!" ~ Rev. Run "If you keep believing in yourself and seek enthusiasm inside your soul, things will get simpler, more spontaneous." ~Paulo Coelho "Knowledge is like the wind, once you obtain it, you can go anywhere." ~Yellow Hare(Native-American Chief) Be the kind of woman that when your feet hit the floor each morning the devil says: "Oh Crap, She's up!"
Credits: 5,078
Socaboy,
Given that 50 Cent is what occupies the mentality of today’s youth is not in itself a bad thing; what we need to do is find ways to turn that hip-hop culture to our advantage. I wonder how many people have noticed that hip-hop and rap has now become almost a staple of US music. It has taken over much of what defines popular music and this is not going down too well in some circles, you can be sure. It is the new music of defiance among white American youths (see any potential here?). we also have to find ways of making these same hip-hop artistes (and the soca ones too for that matter) inject more enlightening lyrics. Soca Junkie, I too have looked at the Jews and the way they conduct themselves. However, what you may have overlooked is that the principal means by which they empower themselves and remain focussed, is by having a clear sense of identity. We will not argue the validity of whether or not they have any legitimate claims to the ancient Jews, the main point is that it is their Jewishness, the sentimental attachment of Israel and adherence to the Law is what have kept them and sustained them through some of the most difficult and horrific periods of their history. We are still running away from our 1) ancestral ties and 2) Caribbean ties Ladyhaiti “unless we start to understand hoe real racism is here in America and how it almost dictates thought, action, perceptions, lives, and reality of people in this country” It would be even better if we all understand the racism and classism that exists in North America and put it where it belongs – in the wider context of Eurocentric nationalism. The British, French, German and Belgians are no less bigoted than the Euro-American, they just express it differently and they always have. It is things like these that we failed to understand that has played a large part in our present underdevelopment. But then, as you so rightly pointed out, most of us are not going to fight that war because we don’t even know that it exists. Further, as topclassbubbla so correctly stated, too many of us are still wrapped up in the “Messiah” syndrome – looking for a leader or someone else other than ourselves who will set the example. |