Old 02-22-2007, 03:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Will work for sum...

Credits: 11,076
Did slavery cause racism ....

or did racism cause slavery... i planning on doing an essay on this topic ...just wanted to get some general opinions...
(doh worry i eh go plagarise nobody thoughts...lol)
"Eso es el niño del Rey" decía.

***CHRISTMAS COMIN!!!!!***
Old 02-22-2007, 03:43 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 24,367
slavery caused racism, where other people have been enslaved they are treated as inferiors to others, native indians, aboringes, the poor slavs also
Old 02-22-2007, 08:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Credits: 712
Originally Posted by naughtyshawtie View Post
or did racism cause slavery... i planning on doing an essay on this topic ...just wanted to get some general opinions...
It is well documented. Not prejudice and ethnocentrism, but racism, yes.
Just do a search for the thread on the one drop rule.
Old 02-23-2007, 10:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Will work for sum...

Credits: 11,076
Originally Posted by Otorongo View Post
It is well documented. Not prejudice and ethnocentrism, but racism, yes.
Just do a search for the thread on the one drop rule.

alrighty ....thanks....
"Eso es el niño del Rey" decía.

***CHRISTMAS COMIN!!!!!***
Old 02-23-2007, 11:06 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 140,786
Originally Posted by naughtyshawtie View Post
All U NEED to KNOW is the WHITE MAN STARTED RACISM and SLAVERY.
Old 02-23-2007, 11:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Will work for Sushi

Credits: 3,679
racism was a product of slavery
Old 02-23-2007, 12:22 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 160,098
I think racism caused slavery

slavery was just racist thought put into action.

Old 02-23-2007, 02:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

They didn't start slavery. Nice try.
Old 02-24-2007, 01:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Fam Congo

Credits: 13,953
that is soooooo not true.... all cultures had a slavery type of system.

Old 02-24-2007, 01:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Fam Congo

Credits: 13,953
slavery has been practiced on this earth ever since human started to walk on it. back in the days and even know, being a slave is not based on the difference between you and ur master's skin color but rather is that master consider you less than a human being. before greek was unified when each town would fight each other the losing ones ended up as slaves for the winners it was a question about how u look.

I think racism caused slavery

slavery was just racist thought put into action.
Old 02-24-2007, 02:00 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 5,078
Originally Posted by Oneshot View Post
slavery caused racism, where other people have been enslaved they are treated as inferiors to others, native indians, aboringes, the poor slavs also
I think it’s a complex question about something that has no one specific starting point. I’m inclined to think that European racism became more developed in order to justify African enslavement but its origins go back long before they enslaved Africans. If you look at the history of Europeans capturing and enslaving people, they always found some sort of physical or religious difference in the enslaved group to justify why they must serve the dominant European group. For the same things they used to write about enslaved Africans were written about the Eastern European Slavs (from whom we got the name ‘slave’), Arabs/Saracens, Jews, Native Americans and even non-Christian Europeans. I strongly believe that this began thousands of years before when in what is now called Europe, scattered bands of people literally had to fight and kill other groups in order to secure access to very scarce food stocks in the wintry Eurasian steppes. So in order to inspire one’s own warriors and tribal members to engage in war with other tribes, one had to focus on and exaggerate some difference to show that that other group was a hostile and adversarial “Other”. It was also a way of soothing one’s collective consciences for the atrocities committed against this “Other”

Merlin Stone in her book “When God was a Woman” adds another dimension to the complex question. She points out that the ancestors of today’s Europeans, the Indo-Aryans, who worshipped in the Zoroastrian principle of the Light which was “good” versus the “evil” Darkness set the stage for the later anti-African racism that has been with us and became more developed since the 15th and 16th century. If so, apart from the obvious skin tone, it would not have helped much that for many of our ancestors, specifically those who worshipped the concept of the Divine Female, the holiest time of the 24-hour day was the nighttime, especially at midnight, which was likened to a woman’s womb. In European belief systems, because of their militaristic beginnings, night and the darkness was always a period of fear and dread.

Last edited by Ananci_7; 02-24-2007 at 02:03 PM..
Old 02-24-2007, 04:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Hogwash. All peoples who enslaved conquered people were dealing in "otherness", so it was not uniquely European. Nor was the perception of darkness accounted for by any militaristic cause. It had to do with far of the unknown and darkness of night. That went across continents and cultures. Has nothing to do with color of skin.
Old 02-24-2007, 04:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Will work for Sushi

Credits: 3,679
Hogwash. All peoples who enslaved conquered people were dealing in "otherness", so it was not uniquely European. Nor was the perception of darkness accounted for by any militaristic cause. It had to do with far of the unknown and darkness of night. That went across continents and cultures. Has nothing to do with color of skin.
i agree
Old 02-24-2007, 06:48 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 5,078
I never said it was uniquely European, 'Tish. Breeeaaathe. I'm well aware that "otherness" existed in many other cultures across the globe in ancient times. But that does not remove the fact that European, particularly those tribes that have Germanic roots, treated outsiders with a degree of hostility that set them apart from many other cultures in say the tropical southern regions where food was more plentiful. And the fear of the unknown was especially strong in masculinist cultures and consciousness. It does not remove the fact that European slavery was defined by skin colour by the 15th C.
Old 02-24-2007, 07:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Originally Posted by Ananci_7 View Post
I never said it was uniquely European, 'Tish. Breeeaaathe. I'm well aware that "otherness" existed in many other cultures across the globe in ancient times. But that does not remove the fact that European, particularly those tribes that have Germanic roots, treated outsiders with a degree of hostility that set them apart from many other cultures in say the tropical southern regions where food was more plentiful. And the fear of the unknown was especially strong in masculinist cultures and consciousness. It does not remove the fact that European slavery was defined by skin colour by the 15th C.
Was it? Funny how there were White slaves even through abolition.