Old 11-23-2005, 02:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
look meh!

Credits: 1,120
Census statistics, very interesting...

Greetings real talkers, it's been a while since I visited this forum, but I felt the need to address something that I actually stumbled upon accidentally. An internet link led me to the U.S. census bureau website (http://factfinder.census.gov/home/sa....html?_lang=en), where it pretty much allows you to type in your zip code and see a breakdown of your community as well as others you may be interested in. Out of curiosity, I did comparison of two zip codes here in Brooklyn. One was for a section of Crown Heights, and the other for a section of Park Slope. This is a quick breakdown of the statistics taken for people 25 years and older that were an eye opener for me:

Crown Heights (Total Pop. 65,440)
- 79.4% Black, 12.9% White
- Owner Occupied Housing Units - 3,678 Or 16.3%
- Renter Occupied Housing Units - 18,907 or 83.7%

Education (people 25 years or older) 37,801 Total Pop.
- High school graduate or higher - 24,915 or 65.9%
- Bachelor's degree or higher - 4,836 OR 12.8% !!!

Park Slope (Total Pop. 63,001)
- 68% White, 8.1% Black
- Owner-occupied housing units - 8,456 or 31%
- Renter-occupied housing units - 18,858 or 69%

Education (People 25 years or older) 45,146 Total Pop.
- High school graduate or higher - 37,321 or 82.7%
- Bachelor's degree or higher - 23,929 or 53%

For me it wasn't so much the owner vs renter stats, but the education stats show a huge difference between to two neighborhoods. Yes there's discrimination in the workplace, but how do we even begin to complain about that when we don't even have the basic requirements to qualify for most mid level jobs?
Old 11-23-2005, 08:59 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 4,495
Really makes you think about the future of a community...