Old 03-27-2004, 03:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 14,644
Unhappy Caricom won't recognize Haiti gov't

Caricom won't recognize new Haitian government
Bloc has concerns over how Aristide was removed

ASSOCIATED PRESS

BASSETERRE, St. Kitts — The 15-country Caribbean Community has decided against recognizing Haiti's new U.S.-backed government, senior Caribbean officials said today.

Regional leaders reached a consensus decision on the issue during the second and final day of a summit, said several senior officials, speaking on condition of anonymity.

The move came a day after the leaders demanded the UN General Assembly investigate ousted Haitian president Jean-Bertrand Aristide's claim he was abducted at gunpoint by U.S. agents when he left Haiti as rebels threatened to the capital.
Talks continued today but officials said their minds were made up. They said they would discuss the issue again at their regular annual summit in July in Grenada.

The officials said for the time being, the Caribbean Community plans to work through the United Nations and other agencies in dealing with Haiti. They said Caricom leaders were under enormous pressure from the United States to recognize the new Haitian government........

gee i wonder why...
Old 03-27-2004, 04:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
oh yehhhh!

Credits: 207
stability. The rebels aren't just gonna accept Aristide if he finds himself back...

just a guess now
Old 03-27-2004, 04:14 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 1,280
The gist of the post seems to imply that this is a bad thing....
Old 03-28-2004, 08:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 14,644
bake: guess i not doing a good enough job expressing my disgust at how the u.s. meddles in international affairs

trini-oman: ah really doan have the slightest clue to what u talking about
Old 03-28-2004, 08:37 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 1,280
Originally posted by MysticReveller
bake: guess i not doing a good enough job expressing my disgust at how the u.s. meddles in international affairs

Is de face dat throw mih off...I doh blame de Caricom gov'ts one fart. Guy Smiley or whatever he name is just another pawn in a global game..
Old 03-28-2004, 10:18 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 907
Thanks for the info Mystic.

I know many of us have problems with Caricom, but I am glad that they are not just sitting back and rolling over with this Haiti situation.
Old 03-28-2004, 10:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
oh yehhhh!

Credits: 207
Originally posted by MysticReveller

I don't believe the line that the US kidnapped him. It seems what happened is that they told him they won't protect him anymore and that's their right. If he want to come back to Haiti and take what he get then let him then