Credits: 6,566
caribbean/american Blacks. Are we African?
Just interested to see what allyuh consider urself. Outside of where u live and where u were born. Im talking ancestory wise. I think Africans look at us differently and dont consider us one of them. So who you consider us to be? I mean history takes us to the west coast of Africa and thats it. From my understanding the West coast is where all the slaves were taking before they were shipped off. So the west coast doesnt really cut it for us. Are we of African Decent? Just wanted to hear ur views. If there are any.
xtremeintl.com
Credits: 11,427
Credits: 6,727
Well here is my thing.
I don't know much about African History at all. But all I know is that if we Black...we DEFINITELY from somewhere in Africa. That's good enough for me. ![]() Me? I consider myself Caribbean. Caribbean all the way. I live in America now, but I'm Caribbean. Yes, I guess I am Americanized to some extent, but my culture is Caribbean, Caribbean, Caribbean. And I'm damn proud too. Leh we jump up!!! hehehehehehehehehehe. ![]() |
trini by bloodnotrelation
Credits: 151
brother my ancestry is really twisted cause i mixed so i wish allyuh good luck with this convo
adieu |
music x and darkie
Not sure if this clears it up. But I was saying that we are told we are from the west coast of Africa. But All of the slaves were brought to the west coast right before they were shipped off. That is y I said just saying we are from the west coast of Africa does not cut It. Because that was just a storage place so to speak.
xtremeintl.com
![]() You might be getting caught up in words. People were brought to West African ports to be shipped off. Not sure how that wouldn't mean they weren't Africans. |
Credits: 30,014
Um...this is kinda a source of conflict for me. Because sometimes I would want to assert my African identity but my doing that it's like ignoring or not acknowledging the European and East Indian heritage also, so sometimes I feel more comfortable just saying I'm Black. And another thing too I wasn't born in Africa so technically I can't say that I'm African but what I can say is that some of my ancestors came from there but I'm Trini 2 de Bone. But I'm still very proud of my Africaness in terms of cultural aspects and what not.
Last edited by Toppa_Toppa; 02-24-2005 at 09:09 PM.. |
Chemical-Oxide & Bangaray
Credits: 33
I am An AFRICAN Plain and Simple
Last edited by islandcocoa; 02-24-2005 at 11:58 PM.. |
Credits: 185
Africans tink if you dont born in Africa youre not African, but de first to call yuhh my brodda, my sistah.... arrogants!
BUMPA INSPECTOR
Credits: 62
Afro-caribbean or Afro-american is the safest way to put it because 4 the past few weeks I find that her om islandmix ppl tend to have a problem acknowledging their african ancestry. It's this simple if you black u have slave ancestors from african where u born in west indies or born in amerikka. Ppl tend to think because they ain't born in africa then they have no connection to the culture or heritage
xtreamist
Ok just like u can say Somalia, west africa. South africa and identify these places in Africa. Where were they Slaves taken from? IS it documented? Was it all over Africa? Were they a particular group of people? U dont call an Ethiopian an African. There is a difference. I feel just putting African on it is to broad of a statement.
Credits: 5,078
*Sigh*
Why oh why is this question still being debated? Will we EVER come to terms with our selves? Peter Tosh sang many years “No matter where you come from/As long as you’re a black man/You’re an African”/Doh mind your NATIONALITY/You have got the identity of an African” And trust me, the person of European descent who considers you beneath them sees Africa in you long before he sees Jamaica, Trinidad, Haiti, France, or whatever other country we choose to hide behind. Doh get mih wrong, I have no problem with a person proudly asserting their nationality – I am a fiercely proud Trini – but that is my NATIONALITY. I am not confused as to what is my ANCESTRY. There is no conflict in asserting both. All those who choose to reject their Africanness, claiming to be Jamaican, Trinidadian, Vincentian, whatever, tell me, if this conversation was held 50 years ago, what the hell would you have been? None of the above b/c these were all British colonies and you would have been a British citizen. Neither am I settling for the trite and way too general argument that “Africans from Africa do not accept us”. I happen to know that the opposite is equally true because I have interacted with many Native Africans from Senegal, Tanzania, Nigeria and Ghana. I have hear accounts of people who have travelled to Egypt and went to the south where the indigenous people live (as opposed to the Arabs who now govern there) and found themselves discriminated FOR rather than being discriminated AGAINST. The same has happened in Ghana and Botswana. Think about that. When looking at the Irish on St Patrick’s Day, is there any doubt as to what they are asserting regardless of the fact that the celebrations is happening in Boston? The same goes for the Italian-Americans, Mexican-Americans and so on. C’mon people. But then I should not expect otherwise; in spite of all this technology and instantly accessible information, most of us are still unaware of the many discoveries in Africa over the last 30 years that have completely exploded the distorted myths about Africa. Most are still unaware of the almost unceasing research being done by all sorts of anthropologists, archaeologists and – worst of all – pharmaceutical companies all interested in unlocking the many secrets the continent still holds to enhance other people’s civilisations. Most of all most are still unaware of how much in so-called Western society was copied almost wholesale from that same Africa some people have a problem identifying with. |
xtremeintl.com
Nigeria 24% Angola 24% Ghana 16% Senegal/Gambia 13% Guinea-Bissau 11% Sierra Leone 6% Other 6% The seven principal countries from which Africans were taken and their proportion of the total number of Africans enslaved in the West. Africans were taken from all over the African continent, but especially from West Africa and Angola. They were gathered at points along the Western coast to be shipped across the Atlantic Ocean. One of the principal points for shipment was Goree Island off the coast of Senegal. Today the descendants of the enslaved Africans, from throughout the African Diaspora, can visit Goree Island as tourists. There they can see the buildings and courtyards in which the enslaved Africans were packed in extremely crowded conditions as they waited to be shipped to the New World. |