ToFwAm
Credits: 221
Caribbean Aids Walk
Hey! Hey! Hey!
How my people doing? Just wanna ask you'll a little favour. On Sunday July 13th, I will be walking in the third Annual Caribbean Aids Walk, which begins @ 9a.m. We will be walking from Flatbush & Nostrand Junction to Prospect Park. I walked last year and it was fun. The funds raised assists people living here and back home with HIV/AIDS. Looking forward to seeing you. The attendance last year was depressing. I was upset. You know what's funny, we support the fetes without thinking. Turn out in numbers, but to support something as serious as HIV/AIDS, IS AM'S, BUT'S, WHY R U BOTHERING ME WITH THIS. The Excuses goes on. Because I would like to see change I am volunteering with the Committee that's hosting the walk. (New World Creation Resource Center) I know Aids have a stigma, you do not have to have it to walk or support it. However we need to renew our thinking. HIV has NO BOUNDARIES, IT DOES NOT DISCRIMINATE. We need to support. Because we do not know what tomorrow holds. We need to be very careful PROTECT OURSELVES. WEAR THAT CONDOM, FROM THE GET GO. Not only from HIV, but also for STD'S. You can contact me if you're interested, by e-mailing me @ Faluma99@aol.com My name is Jaunelle. You can get more information on the Organization and about the walk by clicking on the link below. See you there. staying sweet Jaunelle http://www.aidswalkcaribbean.org |
thanks for the info. I have a friend that's doing the walk & I've been thinking about joining her.
Credits: 122
I've never heard of it, but I will definately be there this summer. Maybe IMIX should sponsor a trip there- Huh Moderators?
strength, courage, wisdom
Credits: 2,337
Credits: 4,533
I like this idea Socajunkie.....
Empress at large
Credits: 536
This year I will walk for sure. |
ToFwAm
Thanks for your interest
How u'll doing?
Hope blessed in Jesus Name. Just wanna say I'm happy that people are responding. However, Mrs. Scorpion, who I have to contact to have islandmix.com to get involved in the Walk. Also I would like you'll to know that they are doing a training sessions now. They're teaching us how to become an advocate in the community. I learned alot. About treatment, how the virus disguises itself fooling our body's defense cells(that's y it's hard to find a cure) such as our white blood cells, t-cells & cd4 cells, these are the cells that r targetted. Also the virus thrives on proteins and so on. Also video about Aids in the Caribbean will be shown. If anyone is interested in volunteering e-mail me @ Faluma99@aol.com or call. Ann-Marie (718)- 485-6518 Tell your friends. We need to control the spread of HIV in THE CARIBBEAN COMMUNITY. OH I'M ALSO WALKING SUNDAY MAY 18TH WITH DR. HOWELL (ANTIGUAN) FOR HIS ORGANIZATION- CHILDREN LIVING WITH AIDS. HE IS ALSO A MEMEBER OF NEW WORLD CREATION RESOURCE CENTER. COME JOIN US. HAVE A POSITIVE ONE Staying Sweet J |
ToFwAm
Hey my Caribbean People I love u'll, but unnah does really get on me nerves at times.
Ah helping promote the Caribbean Aids Walk on July 13th and the reponses ah getting from my people is very depressing. People telling me it has nothing to do with them; why I'm trying to force things on them that they don't wanna get into; this older man told me he is a Christian and it's not his BUSINESS and people don't hear. Well I give him the don't hear part, in reference to protecting ourselves. People fail to realise that AIDS DOES NOT DISCRIMINATE, IT'S IN THE CHURCHES too. The one that's really annoying the hell out of me is IF HAVE IT, THAT'S WHY I'M SUPPORTING IT. My response is you don't only have to support it, if you have it. I support because we all are at risks. Condoms can pop which is rare but u never know. Partners are being unfaithful. We as a people need to be more careful. Get your partners tested and have protected self. Alot of our young and older people are being infected daily. The Caribbean now ranks second to sub sahara Afica with HIV/AIDS cases. So you know what that means. In NY we have one of the highest rates. Why because we continue to turn up our noses. Saying it has nothing to do with us. When it continues to plague our community. Last year I walked and the turn out was depressing. I found the information right here on islandmix.com. But we would support a fete in a hot minute, but to come out and support something like this that's Critical in out community we refuse. Well I will continue to support , cause I wanna see change in the way we think and act toward HIV/AIDS. You'll ever see apesron in their last stage of this disease. Remember there is no cure, you know why because the virus is so smart that it changes and disguses itself. I know there is medications, but some peoples' body become resistant to the medications and they are consequences when that happen the viral load increases and the person gets sicker. So you'll continue to play around and turn you'll noses. HIV IS ALL AH WE BUSINESS. If you are interested in making a difference by volunteering, walking or donating money e-mail me Faluma@aol.com. My name is Jaunelle Or Contact New World Creation Resource Center 718-485-6518 Click below for more information www.aidswalkcaribbeannwcrc.org |
ToFwAm
I'm so sorry
STRONGEST MEMBER
Credits: 247
BIG & STRONG SUPPORT
The BIG & STRONG CAMP,would like to get involved any way we can, you can get all our contact info on the site @ www.bigandstrong.net or yuh could just PM me.
We also volunteering the srvices of the BACK UP CREW as well in fact The Caribbean Promoters Alliance will also like to get involved so link up and lets take this to another level,I believw it's something that our people can only benifit from. |
Dis Girl is POISON!
Credits: 346
faluma, check yuh mail....
Credits: 1,108
2 Caribbean AIDS Walks
Some IMIXers have asked me about the Caribbean AIDS Walk that I collected money for last year (raised over $100 from IMIX members).
Just to clear it up, there are two Caribbean AIDS Walks this year: Caribbean People International Collective (CPIC) walk on June 28th and New World Creation walk on July 13th. The walk Dredgal, Strongblkprincess and I are affiliated with is the CPIC walk, but this disease is much too serious to discriminate on which walk you support. I urge you if you can support one of these walks (or both) to do so. I'm sure both these organizations would welcome the volunteers. |
Credits: 3,046
Be still my heart...look who reach...:p
Credits: 3,046
I agree with you 100% and urge anyone that can't make one walk to try to get to the other one. If you want to do both that would be great too...either way Islandmix members will be involved, and a worthy cause will be supported.