Old 11-22-2005, 01:21 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 9,874
Caribbean AIDS Statistics

Country Living with HIV/AIDS Deaths due to
AIDS during 2003
Women Children Total
Bahamas 2,500 <200 5,600 <200
Barbados 800 <200 2,500 <200
Cuba 1,100 * 3,300 <200
Dominican Republic 23,000 2,200 88,000 7,900
Haiti 150,000 19,000 280,000 24,000
Jamaica 10,000 <500 22,000 900
Trinidad and Tobago 14,000 700 29,000 1,900
Total 200,000 22,000 430,000 35,000

http://www.avert.org/caribbean.htm

Saddening.......
Old 11-22-2005, 01:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Sweeter Sauce

Credits: 910
That is truly saddening and appauling ... !
Old 11-22-2005, 01:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
work hard play harder!

Credits: 87
kinda shocking!
Attached Images
File Type: bmp aids.bmp (121.6 KB, 30 views)
Old 11-22-2005, 01:30 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 34,863

I want ah juk off ah Jacequelin but mi hav fi draw fi my rubbers for my rubbers
sex nice but di Aids things mek wi ah die out like flower die out like flowers

Old 11-22-2005, 01:32 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 9,874
Originally Posted by BLACKJOY
kinda shocking!
smart move to have it in a bmp file...thanks...
Old 11-22-2005, 01:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
cyan.mis.d.festival.again

Credits: 415
am i the only person that can't figure out how to make sense of those numbers

what's all that <200 business?
Old 11-22-2005, 04:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
elq
Cleophus aka pupah lashie

Credits: 1,031
Originally Posted by t-daughta
am i the only person that can't figure out how to make sense of those numbers

what's all that <200 business?
< means LESS THAN
Old 11-23-2005, 06:50 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 347
I notice that since the media picked up on the story of the man who tested HIV positive and then was negative 14 months later they are now flooding the media with their estimated figures

Most of these "official" AIDS figures are a pack of hyperbole and horseshit.

What are these "estimates" based on exactly?

They "believe" the virus is being transmitted through commercial sex.

If the Caribbean and Africa are being decimated by AIDS can any of these experts explain how both regions have some of the highest fertility rates and fastest growing population on the globe?

How can a population be decimated by AIDS at the same time it is doubling?
The global population figures do not support the AIDS
"estimated figures"

These are the same people who back in the 90s claimed that the Haitian population would be decimated because of AIDS.
The Haitian population is growing not falling and the official AIDS organisations are silent on this contradiction.

If the AIDS estimates were correct the worlds population would be falling not rising.
The HIV/AIDS hypothesis have never made one accurate prediction or estimate of the disease since 1984.
Old 11-27-2005, 10:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Livin in Love

Credits: 399
What I cant understand is , the claim is that the Caribbean's AIDs rate is growing because of commercial sex, but the number ONE region in the world for commercial sex is actually Asia...
Someon explain that to me please...since Thailand has one of the highest aids rates in the world but isnt identified as often as Africa and the Caribbean???
Old 12-01-2005, 10:12 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 531
Thailand did alot more with HIV/AIDS education for its sex workers than did the rest of the world, especially ater many of the men from their army started to die. The UNAIDS estimates point to a very gave problem in terms o surveillance. Fact of the matter is people in the Caribbean are not being tested. Hence, estimates are based on the number of folks tested, extrapolation to the number of partners they had plus the number of partners their partners might have etc etc etc.

Rather than talk about whether the numbers are real or not, why not question your government and the funding agencies on what they are doing to gt better numbers and what effective measures they are taking to reduce infection rates. Can any of you tell me one great HIV/AIDS awareness AD in any of the Caribbean countries that has run for the entire year? Can you tell me o one alcohol company that continually funds a PSA or message at any of the events you attend?

The reality is HIV/AIDS is a heavily funded area of research/work right now that is being justified by at risk poulations which for the Caribbean is young women aged 15-24 or somewhere along there. How many of those women who have "little bedroom power, poor economic situations and high dependency on older and/or muliple men" earn a small percentage of the salary of those who are funded to help them?

Even better, take a look at the number of people in Guyana for example who are on a waiting list for antiretroviral drugs. 2003 numnbers said 200 were on drugs; 2000 needed. Somthing is really screwed up with those numbers because it suggests that if you're positive and you get AIDS the country can't afford to help you. Have you seen any campaign to raise money for drugs in the Caribbean by and from Caribbean folks? Drugs cost on average $300 US/yr. That's less than a costume in POISON!!

I urge all of you to take a more proactive role in what's going on in your respective countries. Find out who's funding what and ask how effective things are. Have any o you heard the radio ads in Trinidad on abstinence? Then th very nxt song on the radio is about the horner man coming? Many cases you will find that the governments are closed mouthed about the funding received (Guyana for example), but if they are funded by a US agency, you can get that information because of the Freedom of Information Act.
caribbean-aids-statistics-ad2005.gif  
Old 12-01-2005, 10:18 AM   #11 (permalink)

A recent study in Guyana of commercial sex workers found somewhere around 40% to be HIV positive. Over the past two years three strip clubs have become popular in Georgetown that are frequented by most of the men whose wives don't even know they exist. You can rent a woman as an escort for about $150 US. Many of the girls are used by businessmen as hosts at their events etc etc. If you went into any of these clubs you would not see a condom AD or a condom for sale or give away. You will not see any organized health provisions for the sex workers who are considered criminals according to the law though nearly every male lawyer in the country can tell you how they look naked on a pole. A Guyanese Professor at York wrote a good book on thi stuff called Sexing the Caribbean: K, Kempadoo.
Old 12-01-2005, 10:28 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 347
@sanfranjovay

You are assuming that HIV is the cause of AIDS, there is no tangible scientific evidence to support this.

Furthermore the antiretroviral drugs are toxic and can actually cause the symptoms of AIDS.

AZT was originally designed in the 60s as a chemotherapy drug and was Known to be highly toxic.

The HIV/AIDS hypothesis is does not fit the profile of an infectious disease and the so called treatments are incompatible with life.

Money is being wasted in developing countries on AIDS prevention when more people are dying of malaria and TB.
Old 12-01-2005, 11:14 AM   #13 (permalink)
L O S T

Credits: 43,421
wow
trinidad and haiti are high compared to their population size

I wonder if their stat taking is standardized thru the region
Old 12-01-2005, 11:10 PM   #14 (permalink)

trust me I understand the malaria and TB argument. More people die from poor water quality, but the attention or $$ are not there. That's exactly the problem. That alot of money is being spent on programs that are not working (and very few question why they are not working) and funding for other important things (like malaria or access to clean water) get cut.