Old 08-08-2005, 02:50 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,659
Can you tell??

Interesting.We all have experienced this at some point or the another:

Posted Aug. 1, 2005 -- A new study published in Psychological Science found that Blacks prefer to interact with Whites who are friendly to them. No surprise there. But the same study finds that Whites who hold a negative view of minorities are more likely to go out of their way to appear warm and friendly to them because they have to make an effort to conceal their racial bias.

If you deal with people who you know are racist, at least you know where you stand. But what if you can't tell?
Old 08-08-2005, 09:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Nitenurse on call!

Credits: 137
I believe that is very true and it happens alot. But I think you can tell when someone is being phoney! You really need to take into accout why this person seems to be overly nice to you and not others!
Old 08-09-2005, 04:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Guyanese blood in me

Credits: 141
Maybe you can change their view

yes, everyone can be phony at times but it all comes out at some point.

you either deal with it or dont
Old 08-09-2005, 04:51 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 23
englan

if ya caan join dem beat dem!
Old 08-10-2005, 11:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Yuh Mailman

Credits: 29
Originally Posted by recess

Posted Aug. 1, 2005 -- A new study published in Psychological Science found that Blacks prefer to interact with Whites who are friendly to them. No surprise there. But the same study finds that Whites who hold a negative view of minorities are more likely to go out of their way to appear warm and friendly to them because they have to make an effort to conceal their racial bias.

If you deal with people who you know are racist, at least you know where you stand. But what if you can't tell?
If you can't tell that they're racist then there's nothing you can do except be yourself. Racism is based in fear and jealousy, the fact that they would acto warm and cozy to someone they didn't like for whatever racial reason would require a fair bit of superficiality. Wouldn't that be kind of hard to hide?
Old 08-11-2005, 02:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Just BEING Me

Credits: 165
Originally Posted by recess

I find this to be true among the Amish here. I've partied with them and such but there is a basic lack of understanding of something unfamiliar. Guys I've hunted with have made racial remarks without realizing this to be the case. When told about it they are usually sorry but the damage is done.
Old 08-15-2005, 08:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
u were warned bout me

Credits: 121
Imo

i figure if they really racist lil things they do will show it, lik clutching theyre bags n asking u bout rap music n basket ball as if u should know, idk lil stuff lik that