Old 11-13-2003, 02:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
It's ah"G&amp ;amp;amp ;quot; thing

Credits: 107
Calling her "Mommy"

When does calling your mother by her first name becomes disrespectful?
I have heard it so many times before ,does it really matters how you refer to her whether it is Mommy/Ma/Mother/Mammy or lets just say"Karen"........ I have even heard some of my friends call their mom "Aunty".
So why is calling her by her name any different ,who's to say that your love or respect for your mom is any less than the other person's love/respect for their's b/c they call their's Mommy. What are some of your views on this?
Old 11-13-2003, 04:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Steuuuupssss!

Credits: 6,173
Re: Calling her "Mommy"

Originally posted by Chocolate
When does calling your mother by her first name becomes disrespectful?
I have heard it so many times before ,does it really matters how you refer to her whether it is Mommy/Ma/Mother/Mammy or lets just say"Karen"........ I have even heard some of my friends call their mom "Aunty".
So why is calling her by her name any different ,who's to say that your love or respect for your mom is any less than the other person's love/respect for their's b/c they call their's Mommy. What are some of your views on this?
Just as long as she gets a call I say. Some mothers go crazy when called by their first name, stupid if you as me. I think mothers like those have serious complexes...if you name Karen why I cya call yuh so?
Old 11-13-2003, 04:27 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 459
Me and my sister were allowed to cal our mom by her 1st name, it was relatives, when they heard it told her no tot allow us to be so "womanish?" Anywayy, she raised us how she wanted and TRUST me we feared and respected our mom.

My sister makes my nephew call me Auntie, even though I told him he can call me by 1st name? I have a son, and he will call my siser by 1st name, if she dont like it tuff!
Old 11-13-2003, 05:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
SAME SH!T DIFFERNT TOILET

Credits: 519
It sounds too grown to be callin your elders (mother, father, aunt, uncles, neighbors) by their first name.. maybe at a certain age it could slide but not when you are still a child
Old 11-13-2003, 06:52 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 696
My parents and I can never be peers...calling them by their first names seems to indicate such and that's why I refuse to do it, that's why I bristle when I observe it happening and that's why my kids won't be doing it.

If that's the case why stop at your mom, call your grandmother by her first name...and tell me what happens...once the stars clear and the feeling returns to your face.
Old 11-13-2003, 07:31 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 132
Originally posted by Bake 'N Shark
My parents and I can never be peers...calling them by their first names seems to indicate such and that's why I refuse to do it, that's why I bristle when I observe it happening and that's why my kids won't be doing it.
Bns I agree with you 100%..its a respect thing..but then again I guess it all depends on what the Mother approves/disapproves of.
Old 11-13-2003, 08:06 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 4,474
Originally posted by Yaanei Sacred Flower
Me and my sister were allowed to cal our mom by her 1st name, it was relatives, when they heard it told her no tot allow us to be so "womanish?" Anywayy, she raised us how she wanted and TRUST me we feared and respected our mom.

My sister makes my nephew call me Auntie, even though I told him he can call me by 1st name? I have a son, and he will call my siser by 1st name, if she dont like it tuff!
This sounds all too familiar! My parents had me when they were young, so they would call each other by their first names and I hooked on to those names! Unlike my lil sister she was calling them mommy and daddy! They never scolded me for doing so nor was I disrespectful to them! I guess it's up to the parents, but I'm sure to teach my children that I'm Mommy and that's Daddy! But in most cultures they have other pet names fuh the parents!
Old 11-13-2003, 10:40 PM   #8 (permalink)

In my family we grew up calling both parents by their names,our parents had no problem with it what so ever (if it was a problem for them believe me,my father would have lets us known in no uncertain terms)
At no time did we consider them to be our peers or spoke to them as such .We did call our Grandmother "mommy'' and the rest of the family members we addressed as Uncle /Aunty and anyone that's your elder you refer to them as Miss/Mister.
So personally I don't see it as disrespectful ,different family,different upbringing.
Old 11-14-2003, 10:21 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 1,075
BNS - I also agree with you 100%! It was the way I was raised to actually not call any elder by their first name. Even when I was in my late teens/early twenties, I would refer to my boyfriend at the time mom and dad as Ms. First name and Mr. First name. It was a compromise that I was able to live with since I couldn't bring myself to just say their first names!

But..Like TTDarkie stated..to each their own.
Old 11-14-2003, 12:59 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally posted by trinisunshine
BNS - I also agree with you 100%! It was the way I was raised to actually not call any elder by their first name. Even when I was in my late teens/early twenties, I would refer to my boyfriend at the time mom and dad as Ms. First name and Mr. First name. It was a compromise that I was able to live with since I couldn't bring myself to just say their first names!

But..Like TTDarkie stated..to each their own.
Tuh dis day I still coming tuh grips with calling my boss "Fred" or "Tom" or "Bill"...
Old 11-14-2003, 01:42 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 1,075
LOL...It took me 3 years in the work force to stop saying "Mr. Smith"....

Originally posted by Bake 'N Shark
Tuh dis day I still coming tuh grips with calling my boss "Fred" or "Tom" or "Bill"...
Old 11-14-2003, 04:16 PM   #12 (permalink)
not so happy to be happy

Credits: 187
i call my mother mom, father dad, anybody i meet 4 the first time, mr, mrs, or ms. so an so. unless u tell me 2 call u by ur first name. especially an older person. so basically it is all a respect thing. i can't see ppl calling their parents by their first names. unless the parents have been dead beats.
Old 11-14-2003, 04:33 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally posted by MrsSocaflex
[ i can't see ppl calling their parents by their first names. unless the parents have been dead beats. [/COLOR] [/B]
Dead beats???
I don't think that's the case in all situations.
Old 11-14-2003, 05:08 PM   #14 (permalink)
not so happy to be happy

Credits: 187
Originally posted by Chocolate
Dead beats???
I don't think that's the case in all situations.
i know that is not the case in all situations, but i mean if a child hasn't seen his/her parents due to neglect or abandonment, i don't think that child should have to call them mom or dad.
Old 11-14-2003, 05:22 PM   #15 (permalink)

I really ent trying to make nobody feel like their family dysfunctional cuz dey grow up calling dey father "Gordon" or "toe toe boy". Dat really is between you and yuh folks, nobody should feel 'bad' or strange. If it works fuh your family dat is all that matters.