Old 03-20-2006, 11:20 AM   #16 (permalink)

Credits: 41,537
Originally Posted by Oneshot
so you trying to tell me that the number of caribbean persons that are in the US and Canada, among them we cannot get enough to satisify our forensics/electronics needs? I find that hard to believe when UWI is churning out engineers
good point.

We can sit here and hash out about the "former colonizers" and "oppressors" and all that jive but it boils down to being held accountable for our own. T&T is damn well capable enough to have a good police force, and forensics team, but unfortunately $$$ speak louder than anything else (in most cases) the T&T gov't need to make it worth while somehow to bring those young people who went abroad to study to come back and make T&T strong. The gov't needs to kill the crap that is bringing down the police force and encourage a sense of professionalism. They had plenty time to buckle down and prevent the crime from escalating the way it is. Plenty of time. I remember how T&T was and how it turned out to be and I wonder should we really cuss about the Brits or cuss about our own Gov't in T&T because as far as I see it, if the T&T police force didn't slack off and let the shitting crime escalate to where it is then there is no need to bring in any foreigner.

Old 03-20-2006, 05:09 PM   #17 (permalink)

Credits: 5,078
Oneshot, you and Shandy please read over my posts carefully. I am not saying we don’t have the intellectual and, where applicable, operational ability to take care of the crime situation. The problem is FOR THE MOST PART a deep-seated, collective self-contempt and self doubt that makes us instinctively look outside for the foreigner. And this self-contempt is not only limited to defence and law-enforcement but can be found in virtually EVERY facet of Trinidad’s institutions and symbols including culture, politics, economics, formal dress, religious outlook, you name it.

I am well aware that UWI churns out a number of engineers each year (and by the way, if you listen very carefully to people like Lloyd Best, Le Roi Clarke, Sprangalang and other learned people, you will realise that THAT is part of the problem, too much “churning” out. UWI has become notorious for training people in social science, economics, engineering, etc, that has little connectedness with the Caribbean’s historical and contemporary reality), but how many of them are skilled in the intricacies of modern forensics? To draw an analogy: how many local pathologists do we have at present?

Yes, there are many skilled persons, local and abroad, who can fill the relevant positions. But the prevailing culture here is that it is better to bring in people who are born, bred and schooled elsewhere who have no sentimental attachment to the place. Come to think of it, when viewed in a different light, if it is indeed so that many of the Trinis in the diaspora could only come back to help with the crime situation if “the price is right”, then we in deeper trouble than I thought.

Hear me well, I agree that people should live, eat and be paid according to their worth, but I can also point to a number of other places where the citizens transform their countries without putting emphasis on financial rewards but just doing whatever they do best to get the job done. I can point, for example, to a little-known unit in the T&T Defence Force that was disbanded in 1999 called the Special Operations Group which was created to conduct covert intelligence, surveillance and direct-action operations with NOT a cent extra on the salary of those who were in that unit. In fact, far from being paid extra for putting their lives at that extreme risk, most members found themselves spending more than the average sailor and soldier because a lot of the specialised equipment that was required simply was not available and things were so secret that acquiring them through regular supply channels was initially not an option. The very camp was built in an abandoned studio in conditions that can only be called a dump. In spite of that the missions were conducted willingly by all members of the SOG – myself included, I’d like to think – in spite of the immense problems and risks (some guys were injured and shot).

At some stage, there must be an overriding sense of patriotism and I’m not seeing it among the politicians and many skilled people in the business sector, in academia and so on. And, like I said before, there is also the problem of incompetence and what Lloyd Best calls “unresponsibility” plaguing the upper echelons of the police service and Defence Force. Unresponsibility is especially the problem here and it has everything to do with the way we all have been socialised into seeing ourselves as not being capable of thinking independently or creating our own models. Forget the fact that we got independence in the 60s; independence without addressing and changing colonial institutions that were created or modified for the specific purpose of keeping an illegitimate minority in power, will only be a change of flags and songs. The violence that is ripping apart Trinidad, Jamaica, and Guyana are directly and inextricably linked to the culture of colonial violence and disempowerment of the people. It is only now coming to a head.
Old 03-21-2006, 06:43 AM   #18 (permalink)

Credits: 21,859
THIS IS ABSOLUTE MADNESS and MUST BE STOPPPED

This is an INSULT to EVERY Rank and File Member of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Services:
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index...s?id=144705070
This Money should be spend on Crime Prevention/Job Creation

As I stated at the beginning of this post:

British PIGZ cannot Control Crime IN THEIR OWN COUNTRY

PEOPLE DO NOT FEEL SAFE IN BRITAIN
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/politics/4648042.stm
These MudderfuKKKers don't have NO TRACK RECORD to Stand on.

Yuh want Crime Scene Investigators in T&T----

----Hire Colombo to teach dat Sh8t at UWI
Old 03-21-2006, 09:45 AM   #19 (permalink)

Credits: 41,537
Ananci7 looks like you need to read over my post. I do agree we have to look out for our own and not depend on foriegn taking over but unfortunately, it has escalated too far to do the same thing over and over again and expect different results.
The wise thing to do is use that money and hire a couple of consulants who were born in T&T and educated abroad or whatever, that consultant will most likely have both the understanding of T&T's way of life and knowledge of other police forces to implement a new crime fighting program in T&T. Believe, if I was in law enforcement I would gladly go to Manning with a proposal and plan.

Generally speaking we need to think outside the box in many aspects if we are going to get anywhere.

Anyway, what do I know.