Old 04-08-2004, 02:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
come tief ah wine nah!!!!

Credits: 135
Being West Indian and only dating West Indians

I attend a college where there is very little minorities that attend, W.I and Afr.Amer. One of my African American friends got upset with me because I said to him that i've only dated west indian men and one afr. amer. man in my entire 19 yrs. I told him that i'd rather date men that eat , talk, and live the west indian culture because there's a difference in cultures when it comes down to it and the caribbean culture is what im used to. He took it as me offending him but I don't feel like i've offended him in any way and he wants an apology. Im not saying that i dont like to date african-american men, i'd just rather date a caribbean man because thats my background also. Ladies help me out with this na! Im still young and very open minded. I just think that my friend has an issue. Am i wrong for not apologizing?
Old 04-08-2004, 03:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Prettidolli16

YOU ARE NOT WRONG AND SHOULD NOT APOLOGIZE FOR YOUR OPINION...........IT IS YOURS AND I THINK IT'S GREAT!!! I ALSO AGREE 100%. IT'S NOT LIKE YOU SAID YOU WOULD NEVER, IT'S JUST YOUR PREFERENCE IS NOT TO. AS TOPCLASS SAYS, "WHOEVER DOH LIKE IT CAN SUCK SALT THROUGH A WOODEN SPOON."

I REMEMBER ONE THANKSGIVING AT A W.I. FRIEND'S HOUSE WHILE IN COLLEGE. SHE INVITED HER YANKEE BOYFRIEND AND HE SCREWED UP HIS NOSE AND SNIFFED AT EVERYTHING IN THE PLATE. HE SAID, " I DON'T EAT DIS!" HER FATHER PICKED HIM UP BY HIS SHIRT COLLAR AND THREW HIM AND HIS COAT OUT IN DE ROAD. HER AND I STILL LAFF AT THAT. THAT WAS THE END OF THAT LOVE AFFAIR.

BUT........

I KNOW A JAMAICAN FAMILY FRIEND WHO HAS BEEN MARRIED 3X. HIS FIRST 2 WIVES WERE JAMAICAN, AND IT DID NOT WORK OUT. THIS 3RD WIFE IS A YANKEE AND DURING AN ARGUMENT HE TURNED TO HER AND SAID, "LOOK OOMAN DOH MESS WID MEH! I'S ONE WICKED BLOODCLAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT JAMAICAN!" HER RESPONSE WAS, "SO WHAT MUTHPHUCKAH? I'S ONE MAD CRAZY BLACK AMERICAN NIGGAH! AND DON'T TELL ME ABOUT NO ONE O' CLOCK AND TWO O'CLOCK....I KNOW HOW TO TELL TIME!"

THEY ARE STILLLLL MARRIED.
B
U
T

HE'S HORNING SHE WID A JAMAICAN LADY.....GO FIGURE.
Old 04-08-2004, 04:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Baby Luv

Credits: 1,244
well personally , i can only see myself with a west indian, and even though i dont like how trinidadian males sound , i will rather my man to be from there. ive been in three real relationships a jamaican, a guyanese, and an american who is trini to the bone . after i bounce up with a bajan im done oui.

i prefer someone with a similar culture and upbringing as myself, someone who understands that music is in my soul, someone who will understand me when i get vex.

i find something really sexy about an island man, the way they walk and talk. Plus i adore a man who can move his waistline
Old 04-08-2004, 04:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Better than Ever!

Credits: 8,920
Yeh go Figure.....

I'm Carib-american, and I Don't Date African -American women Becuz we just don't see eye to eye on many levels. But, I just don't exclude black americans, i don't usually date Jamaican women, white women, Asian women.I have my preference, thats my Right. I won't say i wouldn't date those groups, cuz i'm sure that There are some real nice ones that just having pass my way yet.

Your Opinion is your RIGHT...He just has to agree...to disagree.
Old 04-08-2004, 10:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 24,265
There is nothing wrong with preferring to date West Indians...it's simply your preference. It's not like you said anything derogatory about anyone else. You just want someone who is culturally compatible. I am the same way. I am of Trini descent and prefer dating West Indians. It's not that I am against dating anyone else because who knows who the Lord has for me? But I certainly prefer a Caribbean man...someone that I can relate to culturally.
Old 04-08-2004, 10:55 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 699
Originally posted by innocence
well personally , i can only see myself with a west indian, and even though i dont like how trinidadian males sound , i will rather my man to be from there. ive been in three real relationships a jamaican, a guyanese, and an american who is trini to the bone . after i bounce up with a bajan im done oui.

i prefer someone with a similar culture and upbringing as myself, someone who understands that music is in my soul, someone who will understand me when i get vex.

i find something really sexy about an island man, the way they walk and talk. Plus i adore a man who can move his waistline
Just curious...how do "trinidadian males sound"...yuh doh like we accent?
Old 04-08-2004, 11:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
ObieTryce

confused black peeps callin deyself indian. ya'll think Obie stoopid. I know black when I see it. recanize nukkas
Old 04-08-2004, 11:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
sagal

We all have our preferences and their is nothing with your opinion. My preference is West Indian and I have my reasons. Which I will keep to myself!!! T Don't want to offend anyone with my opinions! However my father who is Trinidadian tells me to only date Trini's! He's happy that my boyfriend is Trinidadian!
Old 04-08-2004, 11:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 24,265
Originally posted by ObieTryce
confused black peeps callin deyself indian. ya'll think Obie stoopid. I know black when I see it. recanize nukkas
we 'think' yuh stupid...more like, we 'know' so.

...especially with this comment yuh jus make...
Old 04-08-2004, 11:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Vexation X Infinity

Credits: 219
I love the Trini accent....it's the fake-ass american accent that people in the t-dot use that drives me CRAZY.......

I agree I feel the most comfortable dating W-indy males. Who is else is gonna understand why the hell we luv curry goat and soca so damn much!
Old 04-08-2004, 11:26 AM   #11 (permalink)
sagal

I agree with you Masala...can't stand the fake Yankee accent...problem with SOME people in Toronto..we tend to model our lives after BET. Which is pretty sad! We need to get our own styles or just be ourselves!
Old 04-08-2004, 05:57 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wastin Time

Credits: 3,336
i only care to date women whol ook like sagal.....end of story
Old 04-08-2004, 06:01 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 699
Originally posted by Dutty
i only care to date women whol ook like sagal.....end of story
Unless yuh head good ah ketching bottle...leff my wife alone please
Old 04-08-2004, 06:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,424
Your preferences are your preferences; who u feel most comfortable with is your business. Particularly if your preferences have no racist or stereotypical basis, then people need to respect that of you.

If they can't respect who u are and what u like and love, ah sure you know what to tell dem to do wit demself.

I'll never say never, but 1st and foremost I love my Caribbean women. I've had American female friends that felt slighted by that too, reasons for which I can't say I completely understand, but ummm whatever too bad.
Old 04-09-2004, 12:36 AM   #15 (permalink)
come tief ah wine nah!!!!

Credits: 135
Thanks

For all de good advice. i go tell him suck he mumma dry....lol. We havent spoken since and i'd rather keep it that way if he cant respect my preference..I love my W.I men and culture too bad!
:)