I'm on the Rock
Credits: 5,943
Beijing admits tensions and risks of increased African involvement
February 11, 2007 By Michelle Faul Pretoria - Chinese President Hu Jintao was in Africa this week bearing gifts of money for soccer stadiums, but also acknowledging tensions over mounting trade imbalances, the practices of some Chinese investors and the risks of doing business with rogue states. Unmentioned, as Beijing adds lustre to Africa's renewed status as a strategic ally, is the possibility of a clash with the US as the two vie for resources and influence on the continent. Another source of possible conflict is China's sale of arms to countries accused of human rights violations. Hu was met by flag-waving crowds and standing ovations. But he also had to deal with pressure to influence Sudan's government about the murderous conflict in Darfur. In Liberia, there were rumours that a leading legislator received a handout from rival Taiwan. Clothing manufacturers in Zambia charged that cheap Chinese goods were destroying their business. As synthetic fabrics displace cotton prints in street markets across the continent, the Southern African Clothing and Textile Workers' Union says 100 000 jobs have been lost and last year threatened to boycott anyone selling Chinese goods. While many Zambians welcome the Chinese presence, there has been a backlash fuelled by accidents, poor conditions and low pay at Chinese-run copper mines. "They are not here to develop Zambia, they're here to develop China," said Zambian legislator Guy Scott. President Thabo Mbeki last year warned against allowing Chinese forays into Africa to become a neo-colonialist adventure, with African raw materials exchanged for shoddy imports, and little attention to developing a poor continent. Hu was at pains to change that perception. In a speech to university students, he emphasised "economic win-win co-operation." In Namibia, he counselled managers of Chinese firms on bearing social responsibility and promoting harmony, China's state television reported. It appeared to be the first time Hu has addressed issues facing Chinese firms operating in Africa. Most Chinese business here is conducted by state firms. Hundreds have invested in thousands of projects, including oil exploration and refining, mines, fishing, precious woods, telecommunications and major infrastructure. China says its trade with Africa soared to $40 billion (R287 billion) last year, overtaking Britain as its third-largest trading partner after the US and France. South Africa's trade with China rose to R40 billion in 2005, while its deficit with China mounted to more than R22 billion. Hu promised to increase imports of African products to balance the deficit, though it was hard to see how that would be feasible. "He's got a proliferation of important folks on the continent raising questions on: 'At what price is this expansive engagement [with China] going to be delivered?'" said Stephen Morrison, Africa programme director of the Center for Strategic and International Studies. Chinese officials "are beginning to recognise that they have some problems in Africa", he said. Morrison said China's policy of non-interference was untenable. In Darfur, Sudan's government is accused of funding militias and allowing its army to brutalise civilians in a conflict that has killed 200 000 people and left 2.5 million homeless since 2003. Until recently, China resisted using its economic clout to influence Sudanese officials. But Hu "took a big step, for the Chinese", Morrison said, when he visited Sudan last week and urged its leader to allow the UN a bigger role in Darfur. In Sudan, Hu was responding to pressures including threats from US human rights activists to damage Beijing's image as it prepares to host next year's Olympic Games. China still opposes sanctions against Sudan, and World Bank president Paul Wolfowitz accused Chinese banks of ignoring human rights and environmental standards in Africa. He warned that the Chinese surge in lending might fuel corruption and debt. China has contributed to peacekeeping in Africa, sending hundreds of troops to UN missions, and it has supported Africa for a permanent Security Council seat. Just as China was having to rethink its strategy in Africa, so should the US, Morrison said. "A part of that challenge, for both the US and China, will be trying to avoid the trap of a damaging and unnecessary strategic competition in Africa." Black man, when will you wake up?
Credits: 1,662
China: Charming Africa.
As I discussed in a previous post China’s increasing oil consumption China’s oil consumption is increasing exponentially and they are now becoming desperate for resources (oil). It is estimated that by 2020 60% of China’s oil will be imported from abroad, hence the race to get in good with anyone that has it in abundance including dealing with questionable regimes in Africa. As I said before, in previous post, could you imaging the US and China in a race to secure oil all over the world, by whatever means.
Excerpt of another article: Chinese President Hu Jintao swept through Africa on a charm offensive, showering bounty and portraying Beijing as a benefactor of the world's poorest region but the pitch has failed to silence critics. Hu's eight-nation swing, starting from Cameroon in western Africa and ending in the Indian Ocean Seychelles islands, was marked by China's largesse of hundreds of millions of dollars and debt waivers. China's burgeoning economic presence in several African nations has sparked criticism that it was only interested in plundering the continent's vast natural resources and oil to feed its economic boom, although South Africa, the continent's economic powerhouse, echoed Hu's assessment that the relationship was a "win-win" situation. Muzi http://dailynews.muzi.com/news/ll/en...&ccr=&a=&ccp=1 |
mi nuh cater to bad-mind
Credits: 72
This rush for territory, this encroachment on lands, is only a desire of the strong nations, espcially the white race, to get hold of those portions and bits of land of necessssary for their economic existence, knowing well, that in another two hundered years, there will not be enough supplies in the world for all of its inhabitants.The weaker peoples must die.At present negroes are the weakest people and if we do not get power and strength we shall be dommed to extermination.
-Marcus 'Moziah' Garvey The moziah spoke those words like 70 years ago. |
I'm on the Rock
This conscious thinking is almost non-existent in the black race and that is the truth, if the black race were conscious of their identity and what it means to be a black person living in this world then one would understand that the black race at this rate will be terminated..... It is proven from time and time again, the ones who s skin are not dark or black in color are the devils of this earth that only, caused wars, division of races,pollution, corruption and allowing corrupt governments to remain in power... I know those statements sounds very renegade but if you look at the whole and bigger picture, you can say that i am right.... Why are these foreign governments even operating in Africa, why? Africa is already so poor and now this is going to make it even worst.... That is why i was vex that my own Government of Trinidad and Tobago created a Chinese Holiday... Like what the ################.. The Chinese population is not even significant to even award these people their own holiday..... And how the hell is T&T going to be a develop nation with all these holidays... Like some one forgot to tell the PM in order to progress, yuh dumb ass have to work for it not take days off because every single flipping turn yuh head turn it is always some othda holiday in the damn country....*SMH* So now the U.S and China are all now setting up shop in Africa and what does the AU have to say about this? Dumbasses... The Afro-Caribbean is the new Mother Africa.... Because there is no way in hell a nation that is the majority of its own people be continuously be ruled by the minority and robbed for so many centuries and it is still happening to this very day...... They can very much simulate the so call gangsta afro-american rap music and calling themselves nigger instead of reading about their own African history and what part their own country had to do with the Former empires of African Rule.... For what i said, if is vex yuh want to be vex, well hey, so be it....
STAG, goat and rice. I'm good. http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=3345 http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=500&page=2&ppuser=25586 Last edited by Bago20; 02-14-2007 at 05:39 PM.. |
mi nuh cater to bad-mind
Nutten you said vexxed me at all I'm in total agreement with everything you said. |
I'm on the Rock
With over 10 million of the population in almost each African Country, why is it that only South Africa is the Power House in that region? The other African countries has resources that the world needs but why are they not progressing? I tell you why. the World Bank... They seriously need to get rid of them or have some type of investigation on its practices towards African states which needs to be addressed..... The leaders who are in control conducting mass murders and misplacement of millions needs to be put on trial and executed either by hanging or firing squared for charges on crimes against humanity.... Africa's problem is letting outside influence take control and that is something that must be stopped.... But when? The internal structure of Africa needs to change and that is done by getting rid of these devils that are in power of these African governments.... These leaders policies are not helping the people and the nation of the African state with in Africa and people must revolt..... The protest is not going to work for the bandits are on the payroll and the protesters will be cut down with heated steel piercing through their bodies and no trial will not be conducted to hold these bandits accountable..... Africa needs a major shake up, and the outside influences has to stop and removal of the kingpins of destruction has to take place in order for Africa to get back on its right foot for which it has been walking backwards for quit so long.... The statements in your sig are so true.....
STAG, goat and rice. I'm good. http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=3345 http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=500&page=2&ppuser=25586 Last edited by Bago20; 02-14-2007 at 05:37 PM.. |
mi nuh cater to bad-mind
Everytime a progressive goverment steps into the light.The U.N starts bawlin about human rights abuses and democracy.The send in their 'peacekeepers' or set up embargos and sanctions.Same with the imf/world bank,european union and America.I think the only way Afrikan people are going to rise is through getting economically conscious.And creating awarness about finance and creating a culture of economic activity within our communities.So people can know through a pragmatic lense why things like hip hop/the n*gger culture are degenerate. |
I'm on the Rock
Drastic measures means drastic actions for drastic changes...... I would rule with an Iron fist.... I would give reasons why the EU and America should be afraid of me.... But not afraid of me militarily but economically.... There resources supply will be CUT... for the betterment of the African People..... And all foreign business operating on African Soil will have to deal with heavy governmental taxes..... And establishments would be created to help fuel and fund the gold, diamond mines and big brother watch agencies to watch those same establishments that are mining the gold and diamond mines.....Shit i just may even have another watch group to watch the watch group that is watching over those establishments.... And to hell with the U.N.. the U.N does not support Africa because of the U.N bodies who are majority EU countries with the potential to stop and conflicts in the region... which they do little or completely nothing...... The world sat and watch over a million people get slaughter in Rwanada and yet they still do nothing.. Now the Taliban is in the region, ohhh all of a sudden we want to help out Africa we want to do this and do that.... And Foreign Government that sets foot in ones country should be treated as an act of aggression and occupation...No matter how poor a country ....the fact remains.... To hell with the U.N, World Banks and the IMF... They completely serve no purpose towards AFRICA.... Africa needs to do business inside of Africa and not outside of AFRICA towards countries that the majority of descendants are not from AFRICA.... We have the resources, the world needs, we have the potential and the capability, we don't need to run to them they run to us as you can see through history and the conflicts between the U.S and China.... The rouge states in Africa needs to be destroyed for this cycle in which we see today would continue to be ever lasting....
STAG, goat and rice. I'm good. http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=3345 http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=500&page=2&ppuser=25586 Last edited by Bago20; 02-14-2007 at 06:01 PM.. |
Credits: 2,473
So what happens when the US attacks Iran and f**ks with China's oil supply? Will the Chinese demand money for their US bonds?
Credits: 24,370
lol dont point fingers at outside countries put it on the leaders and governments themselves.. present days the World Bank and western leaders require transparency in governance.. what do African governments do they shake hands with the Chinese, the Sudan issue, the Chinese are the ones on the UN Security Council sticking from putting trading embargoes against Sudan.. tell me about progressive governments that the UN has cried down recently..
#11 (permalink) | ||
mi nuh cater to bad-mind
Afrika has the largest set of reserves in the world so if Afrika united.Lets say Europe or America passes a bill which Afrikan states dont like.Afrika can increase prices,taxes or put a trade embargo.And europe will be hung from the balls. If you seen the bae scandal or carlyle group the saudis have england and america in a vice.And they use their economic power to get political leverage.We have states in Afrika producing 20 billion dollars of oil annually.But the goverments are only reaping 5% of profits. We as Afrikan people have the same and often more power than other groups.But what differentiates us, is that we dont use power effectivly actually we squander it.We dont make our issues paramount we have become reactive. The colonialist succeded in alienated Afrikan peoples from our culture.And identitfying ourselves more with european culture and values.And making us believe that being into afrikan centered topics is 'afrocentric'. Black people need to wake up and realise that being Black and economics controls every facet of our lives.So the Black people must come up is through a new black progressive mentality (I feel pan-afrikanism) and heavy participation in economics.
But as far as the UN goes they puppets and neo-clononial agents.There has'nt been many progressive goverments since the 80's to overthrow.But the Un does is suppress progressive movments and candidates for political power.They have convenient selective vision when it comes to human right abuses and corruption. |
||
Credits: 1,662
China/Africa

The statements in your sig are so true.....
or set up embargos and sanctions.Same with the imf/world bank,european union and America.