#33 (permalink) |
~Dare to be freeeeeee~
Credits: 1,032
well i get nuff cut ass as a chile and deserved every last one...if meh child/children do something to get they ass cut believe me dey getting de ass cut...i aint goin and let no child embarass me in public de way some of these kids does be doin these days.
#34 (permalink) | |
Credits: 185,462
“A whipping is about deterring errant behavior?” Errant behavior on whose part, the child or the parent? It tells the child that some things are not allowed in society. Like? Obviously it does not prohibit you from allowing the child to explore in good ways, what de arse. Who says that it prohibits the parent from allowing the child to explore in good ways? And equally obviously once it is done with love the child isn't going to go off and become a traumatized nut case as all of us who got licks on here can attest to. So you’re saying that when a parent is beating a child, he or she and the child knows that it is done with love? Well, I wouldn’t go and speak for everyone on here, because you and I do not know his or her life experiences or story. So you’re threading into waters that you do not know anything about. You are rambling ish that you heard somewhere with all these living examples on here that to contradict your statements by our very lives, accomplishments and mental health. So far it seems like you’re doing the rambling. How do you know that I have heard it somewhere else? “All these living examples”? You lost me there. Are you saying because a few people said beatings are good for kids, for whatever the reason, it means what? Your comments are based on assumptions, vagueness, and empty rhetoric, just like most of your post, because, again, you do not know the experiences (their very lives), accomplishments and the mental health of people on here. Furthermore, even if a person has made positive accomplishments, let us say academically or professionally, it doesn’t mean that they’re not affected, negatively, by the beatings that they got as kids. Does that give you a clue now? I hope what I have said give you a clue, because most of what you’ve said hardly holds weight. Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 05-01-2004 at 10:30 PM.. |
#35 (permalink) | |
Credits: 25,438
?Ok...so what I want to know is... How many children do you have and how old are they? ...And while you're in response mode, since you are so strongly against beating...will you please share with us your wisdom of child discipline. I would love to hear about some of your theories on creating these positive and wonderful kids...really. As many have stated on here, I was one of the few that really didn't need no big set of lix because I already new the opportunity was there for the lix. Just knowing I would get lix was enough diversion not to get any. ![]() |
#36 (permalink) | |
I think maybe we’re getting a bit confused between discipline and punishment. There seems to be a fine line, but I do not see licks as being discipline. It seems more like punishment. Discipline is not about inflicting pain, where as punishment deals with inflicting pain. It is that punishment (licks) that causes many kids to lack emotional strength as adults. I would like you to clear your mind and imagine a child getting licks. Once focused on that issue, tell me what type of feelings do you draw from that experience. Furthermore, imagine yourself getting licks, right now, and tell me what type of emotions go through your mind. In fact, why don’t you tell me what your reaction will be if a person comes up to you and start beating you with a belt? What type of emotions do you think will go through you, if that takes place? We as Caribbean and Black people are accustomed to getting licks that we see it as normal. We see it as some form of discipline when in fact it is punishment. We see it as a betterment of the child, instead a detriment to the child. What do you think is going to happened when you have a rebellious child and your only solution is to put a belt or whip to him or her? Do you think that this type of action will not have any negative affects on the child? Frankly, I believe that mentality of beating your kids, as a form of discipline (more like punishment), goes back to the days of slavery. When massa used that method as punishment used to instilled fear into his slaves. Our ancestors basically continued that practice and it has been passed down from generation to generation. Massa didn’t care about nurturing his slaves. His only concerned was to keep them in check, so that they do not upraised or runaway from the plantation. [/B][/QUOTE] |
#37 (permalink) | |
Now who's rambling? Stop mincing my words and answer de blasted questions. Don't change what I say into what u would like it to be to help u inflate your hot air balloon even further. ![]() |
#38 (permalink) | ||
||
#39 (permalink) |
Don't let animations fool u dear, It takes alot more than written word to anger me...
Lookin 4 de ramblings? Read your previous posts... ![]() |
#40 (permalink) | |
Now I would like you to point out the ramblings. Thanks. |
#41 (permalink) |
Credits: 1,466
VincyPowa:
I too am curious like others on whether or not you have children. Now, I am not saying having children would or would not alter your thought process, but there are many times where its easier to speak on a subject when you, yourself have not been in the situation. I think the fine line you speak of is not between discipline and punishment, but rather punishment and abuse! Abuse is when a parent goes too far with the "punishment". I would categorize "lixs", "time-outs", "lectures", and the like to be various forms of punishment/discipline. The fallouts or after effects of "lixs" as you describe can happen to some children which can be a combination of the "lixs" and the family/environmental situation of the child. Given your strong opinions on "lixs", how would you discipline a child that has not responded to alternate means of discipline such as lectures, time-outs, etc. What would your next steps be as a parent? |
#42 (permalink) | |
Apart from those that you have mentioned there are other alternates. We tend to believe that a child is not supposed to be angry, miserable, irritable, and rebellious. Many of us can identify with those adjectives as kids. I believe that you have to show the child love at all times. But at the same time, we have to let our kids knows that there are consequences for breaking rules. Whenever we do get angry, we have to let our kids know why we’re angry with them. Taking the belt and put it to them is not going to solve anything, because we tend to share licks when we’re angry. In other words, just like how we think that the child is out of control, so are many parents when they sharing licks, because it is usually done in anger. Instead of taking the belt to your child, you should be helping your child or children to calm down. When is beating ever calmed a child down? Beating simply puts fear into the child, thus the child resorts to a behavior that he or she is forced into accepting for fear of feeling pain from the licks. I simply believe that parents should consistently tell and show their children that they are beautiful and capable people who mean the world to them, whose company they enjoy and whose opinion they value. I believe that such ongoing affirmation of their self-worth will go a long way toward preventing discipline problems - at the toddler stage and beyond. Hey, if parents want to tear licks pon dere pickney because dey’re too lazy to learn and master de tools to raise dere child or children, den more power to dem. Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 05-03-2004 at 12:57 AM.. |
#43 (permalink) |
SAME SH!T DIFFERNT TOILET
Credits: 780
I am totally against beating children...
I feel that most of the time parents are beating kids, it is reactionary or out of frustration, not to correct or teach... We dont want our kids to be violent or anything so why are we using violence to achieve whatever results out of our children that we want... I used to get lick even for not answer questions correctly when it came to my lessons... It used to just make me afraid to answer questions at all, not make me gain some new understanding or insight into my work... People need to rethink this "Spare the rod and spoil the child" theory... Many argue that it comes from the bible so it must be right but the same bible tells men to beat their wives... |
#44 (permalink) | |
SAME SH!T DIFFERNT TOILET
Credits: 780
#45 (permalink) | |
You hit the nail right on the head. And they wonder why kids do not open up to their parents instead of strangers or so-called friends. I am even betting that there are people on here who opens up to total strangers or so-called Internet friends rather than the people that they should feel comfortable expression their feelings and concerns with, parents and love ones. One has to ask the question, why is that? Well, let me not change the subject, just wanted to get that in there. |

?