Old 05-01-2004, 03:03 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 24,386
Beating children

my psy prof is west indian and is adamant about not beating children.. although he get nuff cut ass as a chile and turn out to be a doctoral student.. wah u fink bout sparing de rod.. and i eh talkign bout time out shit... it have other ways like putting dem inna closet to mediate to dem selfs, sibling rivalry, my moda used to say "fight until only kill each other.. all you will kill two birds wit one stone" i still alive..
Old 05-01-2004, 04:20 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 19,806
Well I know my daughter definitely does get some lix. I refuse to have her out here like these blasted children with no flippin home training. I cyah stand dat crap, people does be in de damn store talkin about, "Johnny, johnny, stop that Johnny...I'm gonna put you in time out Johnny...Johnny, put that down, Johnny, now stop it, you're going to get in 'big' trouble." Give me a flippin break! Johnny need a damn lash! I'm sorry but I am not going to refrain from reprimanding my child now so that she could be big and miserable like the rest of these out of control children...cuz then the same people dat don't want you beatin yuh child want to take yuh child from yuh and put them in juvenile detention which does just lead to jail. Isn't that a smart system? And they wonder why more money goes into the prison system each year than the school system. Obviously dem people don't have no sense, so why would I let them tell me what I need to do to raise MY child? Gimme a blasted break!!!
Old 05-01-2004, 08:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Steuuuupssss!

Credits: 6,262
I would NEVER beat my children. I when I say beat, I mean the swizzle stick,pot spoon, guava whip, and leather strap we in the West Indies used to receive. I find that kind of behaviour is too much and should rightfully be classified as ASSAULT and a criminal offense.
I believe that if beating/licks/cut arse was practical, you would in a lifetime only have to beat a child once, if that sort of punishment is so effective he/she would be straight for life.
Beating a child is damaging and humiliating.There should be other non-torture methods of punishing a child.
Imagine if you didnīt pay you tax on time and the tax man came around and lace your backside with licks???? Food for thought!
Old 05-01-2004, 10:37 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 604
Originally posted by 1trini-gyal
Well I know my daughter definitely does get some lix. I refuse to have her out here like these blasted children with no flippin home training. I cyah stand dat crap, people does be in de damn store talkin about, "Johnny, johnny, stop that Johnny...I'm gonna put you in time out Johnny...Johnny, put that down, Johnny, now stop it, you're going to get in 'big' trouble."
I am not a big believer in hitting children. I didnt get hit as a child and don't really plan to beat my children. Though I think a tap on the hands for young children to keep them out of trouble is appropriate.

But, the behavior that Trini-gyal describes is unacceptable. You cannot have your child thinking they are in control of the situation and because they are out, that gives them liberty to act that fool. That is just not acceptable at all.
Old 05-01-2004, 11:04 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 1,080
Beating kids is not the ABSOLUTE solution for reprimanding kids, BUT in my opinion it is a form of discipline that does work on some kids.

I do believe in beating children that is out of line, now I do not mean in a way of physical assualt as teherry cherry described, that is unacceptable!

But the mistake that some make with beating is not explaining to the child why they are being beat! If you do not explain to the child the reason for the beating, then you do run the risk of constantly beating the child for the same "crimes".

I did not get beat when I was a kid, for the simple reason of I had the "fear" of being beat in my head and that was enough for me to not commit crimes. My dad's voice alone scared me!! And this is from a man that never beat me a day in his life or mine!!!

Some kids are just BAD!! So, no beating, lecture, "time-outs" will help the situation..You have to treat each and every child differently when it comes to discipline..There isn't a be-all and end-all oneshot solution for discipline issues..IN MY HUMBLE OPINION
Old 05-01-2004, 11:19 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 2,726
God.. know why he ain't give me none. Cause the way i does see some of these children acting out.. if they belonged to me.... is cut ass morning noon and night.
Old 05-01-2004, 11:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Champion!

Credits: 4,328
Originally posted by TehrryCherry
I would NEVER beat my children. I when I say beat, I mean the swizzle stick,pot spoon, guava whip, and leather strap we in the West Indies used to receive. I find that kind of behaviour is too much and should rightfully be classified as ASSAULT and a criminal offense.
I believe that if beating/licks/cut arse was practical, you would in a lifetime only have to beat a child once, if that sort of punishment is so effective he/she would be straight for life.
Beating a child is damaging and humiliating.There should be other non-torture methods of punishing a child.
Imagine if you didnīt pay you tax on time and the tax man came around and lace your backside with licks???? Food for thought!

ARE YOU SERIOUS?
Old 05-01-2004, 11:33 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 2,912
When I used to live in Spain...and people would see my mom hit my brother...they look at my mom like she crazy. Not like she was using anything but her hand. I se nothing wrong w/ a smack on the rear or hand. I'm sure if I had to deal w/ a kid...I'd hit them at some point(thus the reason I refuse to watch anyones). I don't agree w/ hitting in the face though. Used to see friends get hit by their parents. That's just wrong.
Old 05-01-2004, 11:47 AM   #9 (permalink)

Originally posted by Trinibaje
God.. know why he ain't give me none. Cause the way i does see some of these children acting out.. if they belonged to me.... is cut ass morning noon and night.
same here there is no way I will allow any future child of mine to get on & embarrass me publicly like some of these beasts I see w/ no behavior. licks for them, I just won't leave any marks on their skin discipline is so necessary & is what's lacking in most of these miserable children today.
Old 05-01-2004, 11:48 AM   #10 (permalink)
Champion!

Credits: 4,328
GOOD POINT

Originally posted by Rummy
When I used to live in Spain...and people would see my mom hit my brother...they look at my mom like she crazy. Not like she was using anything but her hand. I se nothing wrong w/ a smack on the rear or hand. I'm sure if I had to deal w/ a kid...I'd hit them at some point(thus the reason I refuse to watch anyones). I don't agree w/ hitting in the face though. Used to see friends get hit by their parents. That's just wrong.

O.K YUH SEE DE SMACKING IN DE FACE TING DAT IS NOT DISCIPLINE DAT IS DEGRADING..

LIX IS A LESSON IT SHOULD NOT BE EMBARRAsSING,,,I DOH WANT TO RIDICULE MY CHILD I JUST WANT HIM TO BE OBEDIENT.

A SMACK IN THE FACE IS POINT LESS,,,WHEN I SEE PARENTS DOING THAT THEY MAKE ME SICK TO MY STOMACH,,,I MEAN HOW CAN YOU SLAP A CHILD IN DE FACE.

LIKE DE OLD SAYIN GOES "IF YUH DOH LISTEN YUH WILL FEEL"

*and i am a livin example of dat*
Old 05-01-2004, 01:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
trini49

I would only beat my child as a last resort. Some parents don't even try to talk to their kids, as soon as the child does something wrong it's like the first solution is always to beat.

I never got licks as a child and I was well behaved so even though I am not against parents beating their kids I think they shouldn't use a beating as the first solution to controlling their child.
Old 05-01-2004, 01:08 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 1,111
well i get nuff cut ass in my day and i came out alright, however, i dont think i need to beat my children. my mouth/facial expression should be able to do it all.
Old 05-01-2004, 01:24 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 5,428
Lix is a good thing.

...thats all.

www.myspace.com/jalenamusic
www.youtube.com/jalenamusic
www.twitter.com/jalenarocks
Old 05-01-2004, 01:37 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 24,386
now i get nuff cut ass myself, for all you dat did not get beating how were you punished..
Old 05-01-2004, 01:44 PM   #15 (permalink)
Baby Luv

Credits: 1,255
hmmmm speaking as a mother, my son already knows not to mess with me. and the funny thing is that ive never really beat him, he might get a lash or two for stepping outta line but thats it. we have an understanding, he doesnt like seeing his mommy upset so he stays aways from doing anything that will get me vex.

i think that u have until a child is three to discipline and make them respect you. if thats not established then hard luck for you.