Credits: 1,748
Too Beat or Not Too Beat!!!!!!!!!
This question has poped up many times, do you or would you beat you kids? I know a lot of us got our a$$ cut before but is it necessary in order to nuture our kids????????
Credits: 350
I say you buss dey ass when ever necessary.............not saying killing dem or abuse dem............i mean there is a line some parents cross, i know because my did............the kinda thing dey use on me was unbelievable..........so yes i believe in "hitting" your kid to discipline dem...........just don't abuse dem
i don't believe in beating up kids in order to make them understand... i think parents should start dialoging with their kids instead of shouting and beating them....
Credits: 1,097
I think beating is something ingrained in Black people since slavery times. I've often wondered about how the origin of beating came about as the form of discipline for children people of color. There is no literature that I can find that supports that this was the custom in Ancient Africa, or even in Native American culture.
I don't think beating should be the first form of discipline for any child. It should be a last resort, and use sparingly. We all grew up with the "Don't spare the rod & spoil the child" mentality, but I'm wondering where we got that from. When I was younger, I got to the point where the threat of a beating didn't do anything to dissuade me from getting into trouble. A friend of mine and I were on the train the other day, and in the space of 5 minutes we observed 3 different black mothers man-handling their children and slapping them for seemingly minor offenses. |
Credits: 8,193
This is my theory, it may not work for everyone
I will talk to the child first if it continues, punishment if that doesn't work, cut a$$! After this everything will be fine ![]() |
Steuuuupssss!
Credits: 6,229
I personally donīt believe in beating children. And when I say beat, I mean the hard cuff and kick, and pot spoon and wooden hanger I see people putting on their kids...thatīs just out of order!
Credits: 5,610
I got beat... dey had to cause once i make up my mind i doing it i ent care....compared to my sister...shooot... but my mother had a "look" that was worst then getting beat.... and that alone used to make we stop....I think "licks" is really a last resort after reasoning...though sometimes it may seem to be the only thing...
Credits: 1,076
There are many ways that parents can use to discipline their children. The appropriate form is an indvidual choice based on the parent and the response the child gives...
Not all forms will fit every child. Eavh child/parent is different. A parent can: *Talk to the child - explaining what was being done wrong. *Withholding something from the child - ie: no TV for a week, no phone privilages *Spanking - as someone else stated this is VERY different from beating or abuse... Many people confuse spanking with abuse and beating..In my opinion there is nothing wrong with this form as long as it is not overboard.... ***Side note.....No book in the world can teach you all there is to parenting..They can help to guide BUT it is not going to have the answers for everything....If you expect all the answers to be black and white in a book...then you are setting yourself up for failure...Trust your instinct and heart..In the long run that is the true and right way*** |
sweeter than honey
Credits: 249
As a parent iI have to say spanking is something I do, when my kids have repeated the same behavior for a continued period of time,
I give them ample time and opportunity to change their behavior when all else fails......................here comes the belt....... Time out's........... restrictions...........taking away things that doh work all the time so you have to go to the next level ![]() |
De Scribe
Credits: 291
I doh have kids but I'm very close to my nephews. The older one (7 years old) is an angel, just like me.:angel1 The younger one (2 years) is the "badjohn". That is his house name. He doh listen. he does hit you the "Leave mih!!". He did it to me in a store the other day. He wanted something and I already bought him a $hit load of stuff in another store. He lose it! He screamed at the top of his lungs and start to kick he legs in the cart. I watch him like he mad. "ay boy, wha's your scene? Not in here. We doh do them kinda thing in de road" he didn't stop. So I had to apply the squeeze method. Squeeze he hand a lil. He start to humble but start again. I had to raise my shirt and show him the belt. "you want some of this???" he cool out. An elderly west indian woman was nexx to me. She was like, "yes, daiz the way to do it"
In all though I think the threat of lix is better than beating them. I remember that that was a good deterrant for me. "when your fadder reach home, you will get it!!" |
Credits: 1,076
Midnight: Threatening will work on some, but for others you have to be ready to back up the threats...Some kids will test your threat to see if you will really do anything...Children are WAYYYYYY smarter than adults give them credit....
I use to do a similar method with my younger brother..I use the "count to 5" method..It worked for a good number of years UNTIL.... 1. He got taller than me 2. He realized I wasn't his mother : Then I stepped aside..I let him do what he wanted when my parents were around... |