Old 04-10-2006, 11:05 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 56,875
Are any Imixers

Planning on attending the immigration rally going on in NY today? All I know is that its from 3-7, have to find all the specifics.

A gentleman approached me w/ a flyer on Saturday nite about one that is geared towards W. Indians pointing out that all this new legislation is only going to benefit hispanics and that we (w. indians) need to make our voices heard. I misplaced this flyer before having a chance to give it any real attention so I'm trying to figure out if this rally today is one and the same.

Any info much appreciated.
Old 04-10-2006, 11:10 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 140,913
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva
Planning on attending the immigration rally going on in NY today? All I know is that its from 3-7, have to find all the specifics.

A gentleman approached me w/ a flyer on Saturday nite about one that is geared towards W. Indians pointing out that all this new legislation is only going to benefit hispanics and that we (w. indians) need to make our voices heard. I misplaced this flyer before having a chance to give it any real attention so I'm trying to figure out if this rally today is one and the same.

I am a CITIZEN.

I doh have time to SUPPORT ILLEGAL ALIENS.

All UNDOCUMENTED/ILLEGAL ALIENS should be DEPORTED.

GOD BLESS AMERICA!!!
Old 04-10-2006, 11:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
PTM
Stolen from Africa

Credits: 252
Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
I am a CITIZEN.

GOD BLESS AMERICA!!!
You are joking, right?

You can't be serious.

Where will St. Vincent put all dem deportees?
Old 04-10-2006, 11:21 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 14,235
Originally Posted by p'tanimas
You are joking, right?

You can't be serious.

KL have a big house, he go put some in he yard.
Old 04-10-2006, 11:46 AM   #5 (permalink)

I am a CITIZEN.

GOD BLESS AMERICA!!!

G'morning to you too Mr. Powa
Old 04-10-2006, 11:47 AM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by sharkie
KL have a big house, he go put some in he yard.
Old 04-10-2006, 11:57 AM   #7 (permalink)

G'morning to you too Mr. Powa
G'MORNING, dearest.
Old 04-10-2006, 11:58 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by p'tanimas
You are joking, right?

You can't be serious.

We go SHIP them to TRINIDAD....all PART of CSME.
Old 04-10-2006, 12:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
PTM
Stolen from Africa

Credits: 252
We go SHIP them to TRINIDAD....all PART of CSME.
Old 04-11-2006, 11:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 886

Although I won't be there, I wish you all (the ones that actually give two $hits) the best.

And VP, you're not fooling anyone!!

*Calls TT embassy to re-enforce the country's Port Security areas for Kevin Lyttle groupies arriving through american deportation*
Old 04-12-2006, 07:03 PM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by kevlocks
Although I won't be there, I wish you all (the ones that actually give two $hits) the best.

And VP, you're not fooling anyone!!

*Calls TT embassy to re-enforce the country's Port Security areas for Kevin Lyttle groupies arriving through american deportation*
Turns out the only W. Indians that "give two shits" are the Haitians & Jamaicans. I guess the rest of us have no stake in this issue, no family/friends that this effects and no need nor desire to show that with our numbers we should be a force to be reckoned with. Oh well, the Haitians & JAs were a riot to lime with tho!
Old 04-13-2006, 10:20 AM   #12 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 886
Turns out the only W. Indians that "give two shits" are the Haitians & Jamaicans. I guess the rest of us have no stake in this issue, no family/friends that this effects and no need nor desire to show that with our numbers we should be a force to be reckoned with. Oh well, the Haitians & JAs were a riot to lime with tho!
Hmmm. I wonder if that still plays into the "we better than them" mentality that some people from the caribbean still harbor over one another. I know that it affects me personally and I'm sure I'm not the only one here on this website. The sad thing is that i-miz is a microcosim of the Caribbean coomunity at large!
Old 04-13-2006, 10:23 AM   #13 (permalink)
Kiz

Credits: 14,076
I am a CITIZEN.

GOD BLESS AMERICA!!!

Old 04-13-2006, 02:59 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by kevlocks
Hmmm. I wonder if that still plays into the "we better than them" mentality that some people from the caribbean still harbor over one another. I know that it affects me personally and I'm sure I'm not the only one here on this website. The sad thing is that i-miz is a microcosim of the Caribbean coomunity at large!
I don't how much that had to do w/ the #s at the rally -I think most of us simply couldn't be bothered or just don't see how coming out in large numbers for ANY cause or issue would make politicians take us seriously and start courting us for our votes.

What you say about that mentality is true though, what's even worse is that even when aware of it, its really hard to discard ways of thinking and stereotypes that are passed to you by your parents and their generation.

Imixers have the benefit of getting damn near a first hand experience of all the caribbean cultures/people so we know ignorance is not the excuse. I wonder why can't we still can't get past the hierarchy and the need to feel better than each other? A Haitian girl from Newark told me that growing up she was happy when the Mexicans started moving in cause before that they (the haitians) were considered bottom of the barrel but when the mexicans came then they had someone to feel better than. ~sad~