I'm on the Rock
Credits: 20,946
Ancientwomyn-RESEARCH TIPS
I have seen your last post in the Tobago's Original African Tribes Thread... And your interesting in doing some research..
You can send me a message to my PM box and i will let you know the steps i used to compile the Data... A bit can be used on Online References, but you must also make certain that the information are genuine.. Also, there are physical library references you can use at your local Library.. For example, the Brooklyn Library which is located downtown Brooklyn, on Flatbush Ave and Eastern Parkway, is where i went to further do comparisons from the Internet Data to Book Data... There are a lot of steps involved in Internet research... From finding the Origin of the Tribe, Location of the tribes existents, Culture, Economy, Government, People, what were the cause and effect of European Settlement what type of Civilization exist before European Settlement, And known artifacts that are still in existence, any traceable records of the tribe from its own people or was address from another set of People making accounts of there association to that tribe... From Blogs, to Chat Forums such as Islandmix where you can establish a network with an individual who may have connection to the tribe or people from the location you are trying to pin point and asking if it is ok to interview them by asking some questions and further looking up the references of any source given to you from that person, it can be a name, city, town, village, location, type of people, etc.... And it continues, but here is what you can do, you can go to your local museum on the Island in question, and their should already be artifacts of past generations of people who migrated to the Island, most likely through SLAVERY.... and there should be information speaking of that....From there you can break it down from the type of people who arrived there, what were the names of the tribe, how did they get there, who brought them there, what was the name of the ship that arrived there bringing the Slaves , etc... And you can compile data from the RECORDS OFFICE of your local Government which should have records pre-dating far back to the settlers of that island.... You see Trinidad and Tobago- Mainly TOBAGO has a diverse AFRICAN LINAGE, as to many other CARIBBEAN islands they may either have ONE TRIBE to TWO tribes, so more than likely your research may not last up to 2 weeks... So if you have any questions, my PM box is always open.. ![]()
STAG, goat and rice. I'm good. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gf1zzbC90uI http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=3345 http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=500&page=2&ppuser=25586. |
mi nuh cater to bad-mind
Credits: 107
I would say its much easier to trace Carriacouan ancestry.
Afrikan tribal lineage are common knowledge and the small population 6,000 and the distant location from the mainland.Means Afrikan traditions have easily survived. |
Credits: 6,998
I've actually started some research through some of our family memoirs... Like from my father side, I found out the slaves came to Grenada from Haiti... so there was a twist and I have some idea through our last name (Vincent).
But as for Carriacou, my interests peeked when I went to study Big Drum Dance when I was younger and how distinct this form of dance and drumming continues. I also wanted to find out deeper about the nine coded rhythms that holds the history of the Nine African Nations that inhabited Carriacou. I'm actually looking to get this book: ![]() But when I found a book recently called the "Black Music Research Journal" and a connection was drawn to the muisc of (jump to the bold and underlined):
But my problem is learning to research topics one at a time, I was also in the midst of researching the Carib Indians and the two connections in my family... so I'm going to really have to stop and work on one at a time. |