Old 06-01-2003, 02:32 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 3,033
AIDS Walk – Islandmix Team 2003

AIDS is spreading through our Caribbean islands so quickly, that the Caribbean now ranks second in the world for the number of cases per capita of HIV/AIDS.

According to recent studies, almost two in every 100 Caribbean residents between the ages of 15 and 50 are infected with HIV, and a growing number of cases are occurring among individuals who are between 15-44 years of age.

Increasingly, Caribbean women are being affected with HIV/AIDS in greater numbers than men. Let’s help stop one of the biggest killers of Caribbean people.

Please join Islandmix in the AIDS Walk Caribbean on Sunday, July 13th.

How to show your support:

1. Register to be a part of the Islandmix team by Sunday, June 15th. Submit your name, and contact number to AIDSWalk@islandmix.com. Once you register, you will receive more details on pledges, etc.

2.Tell your friends, family and co-workers that you are participating in the walk and ask them to sponsor you.

3.Submit your Walker Sponsor Sheet along with all pledges to either Ilandftsy or Socajunkie by Friday July 4th. Pledges can be paid by cash, checks, money orders or credit card.

4.Meet the Islandmix team Sunday, July 13th at 8:30am in front of the Baskin Robbins at the Flatbush & Nostrand Avenue junction for a team picture and giveaways.

Registration for the walk is between 8:30 and 9:30am. The walk begins at 9:30am at the Junction of Flatbush and Nostrand Avenue and ends at the Prospect Park.

Walkers who raise over $500 have a chance to win a round trip ticket to the Caribbean and other prizes courtesy of New World Creations Resource Center.

The walker that raises the most money from our team will also win a prize courtesy of Islandmix.com.

If you have any questions, please direct them to AIDSWalk@islandmix.com, or contact soca junkie or Ilandfntsy.

You can also go to www.aidswalkcaribbeannwcrc.org for more information.

Not in NYC? Support your Islandmix team by pledging. Make a pledge directly to any Imix’er who is walking, or email AIDSWalk@islandmix.com for more information on how your pledge can go to the Islandmix team.

This post will be updated periodically during the sign-up/registration period, so keep checking back for more details.
Old 06-01-2003, 02:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

*makes plans*

*serious issue. absolutely NO WUKKIN UP*
Old 06-01-2003, 03:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
da sweet one

Credits: 1,059
It's real nice to see dat Imix takin part in dis.. ah sorry I wouldn't be down there around then but I will definetly look into makin a pledge as should all imixers who cant attend.. every lil bit helps
Old 06-01-2003, 03:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mrs. Cimo 2

Credits: 1,312
Trust me if I had money to spend, I would take the bus down for the weekend just to take part. I am so glad to see islandmix taking part in this serious issue. I am seriously considering a bus ride, but if not I will be sure to make a pledge
Old 06-01-2003, 03:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
look meh!

Credits: 1,124
I In Dat...
Old 06-01-2003, 08:12 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 596

Originally posted by Socaboy
I In Dat...
I hear yuh SocaBoy...count me in!
Old 06-01-2003, 08:25 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 41,529

Count me in too!

Old 06-01-2003, 09:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
ToFwAm

Credits: 220
Looking forward to seing u'll there. I will be there rain or sun. Thanks for posting the info socajunkie & islandfntsy. I was going to do a post on the stats. I will soon. Cause the UNAIDS.ORG. Have new stats out. I also have a breakdown by area code for ny too.

We need to spread the word, keep the HIV/AIDS infection rates down in our community. IT'S 2 HIGH FOLKS, 2 HIGH. As of 2001 NYC HIV PLAN, 40 % of THE PEOPLE LIVING WITH AIDS R FROM THE CARIBBEAN AND MIND U THAT'S NOT HIV, THAT'S JUST AIDS. Soon there will be releasing stats on HIV. They Listed 4 neighbourhoods as being high. FLATBUSH/EAST FLATBUSH. BEDFORSTYVESANT/CROWN HEIGHTS, CHELSEA AND WEST QUEENS. The heart of the Caribbean is FLATBUSH/EAST FLATBUSH. No time to snob ur nose. I know we r in fear getting tested and the results. But early testing can save lives. We also need to S.O.S- STUMP OUT THE STIGMA.

Remember NO GLOVE NO LOVE. Ladies, learn to say no to sex without a condom. Alcohol can also impair ur judgement, so know ur limit. IT'S UR LIFE.

NB: DID U'LL KNOW WHEN U GO TO GET UR GREEN CARD, HERE /HOME THE TEST U FOR THE HIV AND IF U R, U WILL BE DENIED ENTRY/DEPORTED. JUST FOOD FOR THOUGHT.
I JUST LEARNED THAT SOME PEOPLE R NOW FINDING OUT THEY R HIV POSITIVE FROM A IMMIGRATION OFFICER . BECAUSE THEY R JUST TELLING U THAT U NEED TO SEE A DR. AND RUN TESTS. SO IF U GET TESTED EARLY AND KNOW UR STATUS U MIGHT BE ABLE TO FIGHT UR CASE.

Just food for thought, so HIV/AIDS is not something to take for granted.

ALL A WE TOGETHER AS ONE. LOVE U'LL

Remember to Always keep LENT
L-LET'S
E-ELIMINATE
N-NEGATIVE
T-THINKING

Old 06-02-2003, 01:10 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 5,800
count me in

Old 06-02-2003, 12:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
One Eye Monster Inc..

Credits: 1,782
I will be there..*Alyuh making breakfast.. *

Last edited by Desperado; 06-02-2003 at 01:04 PM..
Old 06-02-2003, 01:46 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 306
I must say a big thanks to Ilandfntsy and Soca for what they are doing.

Someone mention breakfast that can be arrange if anyone will like to get intouch with me something can be planned.

This is my contact info you can email me or better yet call 718-566-8564 and Karen is the name.
Old 06-02-2003, 01:58 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 306
Originally posted by Desperado
I will be there..*Alyuh making breakfast.. *

That can be arranged:)
Old 06-02-2003, 02:50 PM   #13 (permalink)

I'm in that
Old 06-02-2003, 02:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
twins in full gleee

Credits: 322
very serious topic for the carribbean.. i have to check schedule to see if i'm working on that day.. but i will contact about making a pledge or donation.. :)
Old 06-02-2003, 02:57 PM   #15 (permalink)
One Eye Monster Inc..

Credits: 1,782
Originally posted by strongblkprincess
That can be arranged:)
Just have it arranged that when I reach the food ready to eat..