Diamond in the Ruff
Credits: 125
Do people think you act "white" because you talk standard English or you dress a certain way or you have friends that are white????
Do any of you have this problem? |
IslandGem
Credits: 764
Credits: 24,363
Ęmρ®ëśš VăńєŞŞâ
Credits: 23,838
these girls at work call me a weirdo, when i dress out of work clothes, and cuz i listen to "white people" music.....
VincySocaStar
Credits: 742
people tell me im the blackest white man they ever meet..lol
Credits: 14,221
nah, nobody cyah come an tell me dat. even though half mih friends white and i listen to that "white ppl" music.
Lol, I am white, I also get a kick out of how anything that is'nt soca, calypso, R&B, rap, etc is automatically "white people" music. People in my school who don't know me "talk white" to piss me off. If the kids some lower grader doin that to show off for a girl or something...we kick the **** out of him.
I know it's not nice, 90% of my friends are black. But the people in my school who don't know any better really ask for it... |
Sweeter Sauce
Credits: 908
People I used to know that I haven't spoken to or seen in a number of years always say they mistake me for a white person over the phone....I don't take offence, but it's a little annoying when they say things like 'can't u just be a proper black person?'.
What determines 'a proper black person'? The way I speak...? The music I listen to? I don't feel I dress a particular way that would label me 'white or black', but the few narrow minded people still insist on saying 'you're too white'. Is it becaue I went to boarding school for seven years with mostly white people? Is it that I speak well spoken and gramatically correct english? As a youngster it used to really upset me as I was bullied quite badly, and a best friend of mine at the time and the rest of the 'crew' weren't talking to me.....I later found out it was because they said I was acting white. What the heck? As a 14 year old, what are you supposed to think about that? I'm thinking 'this is me', what am I supposed to think or say? Am I supposed to change my friends? Talks 'ghetto'? What? Now I look at those few poeple and just think how narrow minded they are and that while they're pulling themselves back by insulting me and others, I'm still takin the steps I need to better myself in life and become a successful black woman.... |
Diamond in the Ruff
Credits: 125
Preach it Sista! |
Sweeter Sauce
Stolen from Africa
Credits: 249
I get that all the time. WTF is that? I hate it. All I can act like is me. I get the act white, dress white and play white sh#t all the f#$%ing time and it is annoying. I sometimes get the talk white sh#t too. How the hell could I "talk white" with this thick West Indian accent?
领导失
Credits: 1,973
Theres no such thing as acting black or white, it's just pure ignorance.
Sweeter Sauce