Amitabha
Credits: 160
I don’t see the big deal about them having a requirement to move on to the next level. It makes sense that if the kids can’t pass the exam that they should remain until they can pass it.
I know that taking tests are hard, and for some it can be a whole mental process in itself, but the 3rd grade will be the best time to try and overcome test anxiety and ensuring better performance and self confidence going forward for kids. How do you feel about New York city Kids having to pass the 3rd grade exam before moving on. ? |
not so happy to be happy
Credits: 188
Re: 3Rd Grade Chalk dust
anyhow dat is pure bull$hit. how are u going to base the rest of someone's life solely on an exam; especially a third grader. if they have been exceptional throughout the year, and fail the test, why keep them back. anyone can have a bad day. btw those standardize tests are for the facking birds. standardized my ass! but really this situation can go both ways, if the child has been a complete dunce thoughout the yr., and somehow, by some miracle, pass the exam, how the hell can u pass them to the next grade? this is not an exam for a particular license, such as medical. this is only to promote to the next grade. if this is going to be the case for third graders, then it should apply to everyone in any grade. if i'm in college and i pass all my exams and papers with A, and never late or absent, but fail the final, i should not be allowed to pass the class. don't worry soon it will be like that. allyah keep voting for these a$$holes. stupid mutha fackers. anyhow talk to lata. ![]() Last edited by MrsFlex; 03-16-2004 at 02:48 PM.. |
Spice Isle Style
Credits: 293
I side with Bloomberg on this Issue of Having to Pass the Third Grade Exam Before Moving on to the Next Grade.....
I believe that the Third Grade is One of the Most Important Grades In ELementary School Level..... I was a Counselor and in mY Spare Time I tutored Kids From the Third to the Sixth Grade Levels.......Speaking From Experience, Kids At the Fourth Grade level who performed Poorly at the Third Grade Level, Are Way behind and It Gets Frustrating to Them......Also To the Teachers, Because These Kids Will require Extra Attention, this Takes away from her Job to the rest of the Class....... SOme Parents Are Against This Because They Would Rather See their CHild Perform Poorly in the Fourth grade Than Stay back in the Third Grade where They would Probably be Talked about, Teased At.....etc......... The Exam Is based on Your Performance Throughout the Year.....If They Dont Pass it They Should Stay :p Consequently Its All About The Kids Welfare,........And THEY ARE OUR FUTURE! ![]() Last edited by Grengal; 03-16-2004 at 03:08 PM.. |
strength, courage, wisdom
Credits: 2,329
in reading the story, maybe I got it wrong?? the impression I got was that children could be advanced to the next level strictly on "social skills" being to the grade level.......can someone correct me if that's wrong??
as for standardized exams...its true that not everyone performs well on them, but there has to be some type of basis on which students' performance is judged. too many students get passed along in the public school system because of over crowding, and just negliect because of all the work teachers have to complete w/little resources. |
not so happy to be happy
~~~~~~ROOF TOP BABY~~~~~~
Credits: 343
Re: Re: 3Rd Grade Chalk dust
Amitabha
Credits: 160
Re: Re: 3Rd Grade Chalk dust
I see your point………from looking at this matter at difference perspectives, one can argue any position and still be right. My point is that it’s a good thing because there are tons of people including myself who still get anxious during tests. Some more than others. And probably it shouldn't be the determining factor. Instead there probably should be a program that teaches the little ones how to cope and deal with test anxiety. Intelligence is relative…… people have their strong points and week points in all areas of academics and general life situations, additionally I don’t think that tests test you on what you know…. But more like what you remember…. *fuh common entrance ah couldn't tell yuh how much thing ah do the morning before......it was like ah ritual* Unfortunately this is how the system is set up. You take a test, You pass, your in. Since there is no way around that, we have to make sure that when the time comes for them to take tests that they can focus without the mental stressors. Having that test is a start but they should implement some type of program in conjunction with it .. A strong foundation is important Or teach them how to cheat Just kidding ![]() Last edited by Visuallynice~; 03-16-2004 at 03:14 PM.. |
Spice Isle Style
Credits: 293
..... |
xtremeintl.com
Credits: 11,426
Before we make decisions, take a sec to read some facts about tests and social promotion...
from Newsday... Educators: Not many are left behind on LI Reacting to test score controversy involving third-graders in the city, Nassau, Suffolk school officials extol parents and local programs BY KARLA SCHUSTER STAFF WRITER March 17, 2004 Tying grade promotion to test scores isn't likely to get very far in Long Island schools, where few students are held back and officials predict New York City's decision to retain children based on standardized exams will do little to improve learning. "In the last two years, I can't think of one instance where we've retained a student," said Plainview-Old Bethpage Superintendent Martin Brooks, who runs a district with an enrollment of about 5,000. "It does not work well for kids," Brooks said. "They end up feeling very poorly about themselves and in the long run, that hurts them more than moving them onto the next grade." On Monday night, the New York City Panel for Educational Policy approved Mayor Michael Bloomberg's plan to retain third-graders who score at the lowest level on a new, citywide reading and math exam. The new policy aims to end social promotion, which moves students through the system based on their age, even if they have not mastered all the academic skills required for promotion. Critics say it is unfair to judge students on test scores alone, but the mayor has argued social promotion does not address the academic needs of students who struggle with basic reading and math. On Long Island, however, the debate is largely theoretical. In most local districts, students perform at grade level, in the classroom and on standardized exams. "That's what the blessing of the suburbs is - we're fortunate," said Herman Sirios, superintendent in Levittown. "But it's not because our schools are magical. It's because our children generally come to school from environments that are more secure." Even in some local districts with large numbers of high-need students, retention is rare. "We look at retention as a last resort," said Mike Cohen, assistant superintendent for curriculum and instruction in Amityville. Instead, the district runs summer, before- and after-school programs that students with poor grades are often required to attend until they catch up. "If a kid was unsuccessful in a traditional third-grade program, why would you think it would be any different the second time around?" Indeed, a 1999 report by the Northwest Regional Educational Laboratory, a nonprofit, federally funded research lab, said national research shows students who repeat a grade are at a higher risk of dropping out and their academic performance either did not improve significantly, or their gains faded over time, according to the report. But in an era when state and federal education officials are relying more and more on test scores to rate schools and determine who gets a high school diploma, New York City's retention policy is a predictable response, say some educators. Because the first state exams in New York are given in fourth grade, holding back struggling students in third-grade can have an immediate impact on scores. "If you view your problem as performance on standardized tests, then this solves your problem," Brooks said. "If you view the problem as educating children, then this doesn't do it." Copyright © 2004, Newsday, Inc. ----------------------------------------------------------- So, let's recap: * Schools that have nearly 0% retention make it MANDATORY that failing kids get help UNTIL they catch up. (Hmmm so you mean putting money into extra programs instead of tests might help kids more? Wow how novel.) * Studies show holding kids back does nothing to help them, and actually MAKES THEM WORSE OFF. (Hmm Far be it for educators and decision makers to actually know something so damn important.) * They just happened to mandate retaining children in the grade *right* before their poor performance would affect exam scores for the whole. (Hmmm coincidence?) Seems all that financial wizardry may not be helping Bloomberg be too knowledgeable or informed about education. ![]() |
Credits: 2,700
I don't think that ONE test should be the cause of a child getting left back. What about students that do well year-round but just don't do well on big tests? My daughter is in the 3rd grade and she will be taking the test this year. I'm sure that she will pass but I'm also making sure that she goes to Saturday school to prepare for the test. Because if My child get left back because of one silly test, I will be on my way to Mr. Bloomberg's brownstone in de city wid a big stick.
not so happy to be happy
xtremeintl.com
Credits: 11,426
not so happy to be happy
Credits: 1,078
I agree you on that..Too many people are focusing on the thought that the kids will fail and how the failure should be handled
Stop evaluating or rationalizing a failure that may or may not happen. Instead focus energy, time and money on resources to ensure the kids have the foundation of passing the examine and gaining the knowledge and skills that seem to be lacking tremendously in some kids... I got seriously concerned about the level of education people are getting when: A young lady (18-21..I assume) was tending bar..Took 2 drink orders was handed a $20 and didn't know how much the total for the 2 drinks were and what the change should be That should have been elementary I was deeply saddened by the situation

anyhow dat is pure bull$hit. how are u going to base the rest of someone's life solely on an exam; especially a third grader. if they have been exceptional throughout the year, and fail the test, why keep them back. anyone can have a bad day. btw those standardize tests are for the facking birds. standardized my ass!
but really this situation can go both ways, if the child has been a complete dunce thoughout the yr., and somehow, by some miracle, pass the exam, how the hell can u pass them to the next grade? this is not an exam for a particular license, such as medical. this is only to promote to the next grade. if this is going to be the case for third graders, then it should apply to everyone in any grade. if i'm in college and i pass all my exams and papers with A, and never late or absent, but fail the final, i should not be allowed to pass the class. don't worry soon it will be like that. allyah keep voting for these a$$holes. stupid mutha fackers. anyhow talk to lata.

That should have been elementary
I was deeply saddened by the situation