Old 04-04-2003, 03:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Former IMIX POSTER Child

Credits: 2,703
21 things African Americans need to do according to Tavis Smiley

this is not junk and it would get pelt off the board in d'original backchat:

> 21 things African Americans need to do according to Tavis Smiley
>
> 1. Register to vote, or shut up!
>
> 2. Take all that money out of those stocking caps, tincans,
>
> mattresses, and
>
> floorboards and invest money in something. For starters, invest in
>
> the food you
>
> eat and clothes you wear.
>
> 3. Learn another language, Ebonics do not count.
>
> 4. Stop using the "N" word in the year 2003, especially since
>
> Merriam-Webster
>
> has announced it isn't changing the definition.
>
> 5. Buy something each week from a "Black vendor".
>
> 6. Stop blaming white folk for 98% of your problems, while giving
>
> them 100% of
>
> your money.
>
> 7. Subscribe to Ebony, JET, Black Enterprise, Essence, Afro American
>
> Newspaper. Then subscribe to one of the three weeklies: Time,
>
> Newsweek, or
>
> US News and World Report. After we read about what's going on in our
>
> world,
>
> how about knowing what's going on in theirs? It is, after all, your
>
> world.
>
> 8. Stop walking past each other and not speaking.
>
> 9. Be on time for something ... anything!
>
> 10. Get an annual check up; herbs do not cure everything!
>
> 11. "In all thy ways acknowledge Him (GOD) and He shall direct thy
>
> path." And
>
> prioritize this as #1.
>
> 12. Stop being jealous of one another, learn to look past the
>
> material things and
>
> see the person for who they are. (HALLELUJAH!!)
>
> 13. Get involved in at least one charitable or voluntary community
>
> service.
>
> 14. Say a prayer for someone besides yourself.
>
> 15. Hug your child/spouse/parent today.
>
> 16. LOVE ONE ANOTHER!
>
> 17. Learn to Let Go and Let God.
>
> 18. Stop talking about it, and be about it.
>
> 19. Let GOD order your steps instead of the world.
>
> 20. P.U.S.H.!! Pray Until Something Happens!
>
> 21. In all that you do, get understanding,(turn off the TV, and open
>
> a book).
Old 04-04-2003, 03:56 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 2,716
These are sooo true.. AMEN TAVIS.. for that one at least
Old 04-04-2003, 07:36 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 5,631
Words I live by....

Oh Baje, He's gonna be at my school on MOnday night @ 8. If you want tickets..link me.
Old 04-04-2003, 08:32 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 41,533
Definately words to live by. :cool2 :cool2

Old 04-05-2003, 05:45 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 5,078
I should, howeer, like to add a 22nd and 23rd thing that not just African-Americans, but Afri-Caribbeans should do.

22) Seriously review the values, cultural traditions and principles you have been made to follow

23) Seriously review the concepts of the Divine (god) that have been imposed upon you.
Old 04-30-2003, 04:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Steuuuupssss!

Credits: 6,254
I like this one...surprises me though, only 5 replies to date.
Old 04-30-2003, 10:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
too hot

Credits: 122
well fa sure i imma copy these down, i got to start meh self, thanx fa reminding.
Old 05-01-2003, 10:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
....jus chillin....

Credits: 41
...good post montREALady....I will try to follow at least some of them....
Old 05-02-2003, 12:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
HOOD RIDAH

Credits: 130
Re: 21 things African Americans need to do according to Tavis Smiley

Originally posted by montREALady

> 10. Get an annual check up; herbs do not cure everything!
he obviously doh know dat caribbean herbs does cure anyting... :p
Old 05-02-2003, 02:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Breezy Chic

Credits: 139
AMEN SISTER!!!!
Words are precious, but action speaks for iteslf.
Attached Images

Old 05-08-2003, 04:17 AM   #11 (permalink)
Mrs. Cimo 2

Credits: 1,317
Damn I am feeling this post boy! I need to copy, paste and print.

4. Stop using the "N" word in the year 2003, especially since
>
> Merriam-Webster
>
> has announced it isn't changing the definition.
>
> 5. Buy something each week from a "Black vendor".
>
> 6. Stop blaming white folk for 98% of your problems, while giving
>
> them 100% of
>
> your money.

Lawd, these ones are ESPECIALLY IMPORTANT.
Love this post MontREALady:)
Old 05-13-2003, 10:10 AM   #12 (permalink)
TriniLostInBklyn

Sounds good to me especially #6