Old 02-25-2005, 07:25 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 21,851
$150,000 to Jamaican Victim of Hostile Workplace

Brotherman stuck it out and got a lil extra retirement changeNote to all West Indian/Caribbean identity seekers----they didn't check his nationality before they began the name calling)
http://www.nypost.com/news/regionalnews/41240.htm
Old 03-03-2005, 12:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Welcome to Roti Bell.

Credits: 173
Alright now. I'm not going to put words in your mouth, I just want to understand what you meant by "Identity Seekers". So because I'm Black and I identify by my West Indian heritage, I'm somehow deceiving myself? How did the journalist happen to include in the article that Elliot is a Jamaican national?

Now if that wasn't the insinuation, let me apologize right now. I've seen numerous posts of people lashing at others for identifying as Caribbean/West Indian versus being Black. Let's not confuse pride in our culture with pride in our race/races. It's not an either/or relationship. My culture doesn't have a look or skin color.

More attune to the article, we need to realize that ignorance, prejudice and hate is still rampant in this country (US). The first thing bigots and racists see is what I look like. They formulate all their opinions and stereotypes on mere appearance. We can't beat the racist mentallity out of them. What we need to do is alter their perception. How do we go about doing that?
Old 03-03-2005, 01:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
elq
Cleophus aka pupah lashie

Credits: 1,046
maaaaaaaaaaaan
dat's Jamaica, Queens!
steups.
Old 03-03-2005, 02:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Welcome to Roti Bell.

Credits: 173
"Spook, what is a spook doing in the office," Merckling allegedly told Elliott, a Jamaica native.
That could be true if your are more familiar with the publication and the area than myself. How would anyone else know that from the above quote? They have natives in Jamaica, Queens?
Old 03-03-2005, 05:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Home

Credits: 2,018
Originally Posted by Agony
That could be true if your are more familiar with the publication and the area than myself. How would anyone else know that from the above quote? They have natives in Jamaica, Queens?
I know the topic os serious but that was funny